We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Motel

Save Saved
You added Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   On the Beach at 27th Street, 2700 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Last minute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had to get to our seasonal trailer to collect some things before hurricane sandy hit. So decided to leave friday after work and stay somewhere until morning. We wanted ocean front to see what was happening that night..this place was perfect. It was very clean and pretty much updated. It sits just before the start of the boardwalk. The views are the best. The rates were very good that day and for what ever reason that morning the coffee they provide was some of the best ever...

Room Tip: best views are 2nd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    83
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
82
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Husband and I stayed here 10/13 thru 10/15. We had a OF efficenceny on the 4th floor. Room was spacious and VERY clean! Front desk staff pleasant and helpful. Nice location at the end of boardwalk. Would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I read many reviews before selecting this motel and they had prepared me for what we found. While this is not a new property with amazing amenities, it had everything we needed, was clean and had a great view - all at a reasonable price. I will reiterate a point I read in another review, the Wi-Fi is spotty. Most times I had to stand on the west facing walk way to get the wi-fi. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to be on the 2nd floor or higher if you want to see the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a large OF efficiency at north end of boardwalk. This motel is one of the older ones but our room was very clean & everything worked well. I'm quite fussy when it come to cleanliness, so we were very happy and the price for an OF room was great comparitive to others. Overall, I'd recommend The Dunes for its location, price, amenities & friendly staff.

Room Tip: Oceanfront building is quiet, all you hear is surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've stayed here three times now. We get the ocean front efficiency, with a balcony that overlooks the ocean. The room is always clean. The kitchen efficiency is small, but it has a decent size refrigerator, a small oven/stove, a microwave and a coffee maker. There is a sitting area, with a table and four chairs and a couch. The balcony has two plastic chairs and a plastic table. It's not fancy, but it's all we need. If luxury is important to you, don't stay here though. It's clean but simple. We'll be back next year.

Also, it's right at the beginning of the boardwalk. You can take the tram up and down the boardwalk and it's right next to the hotel. We love the convenience of that. It's on the boardwalk but not the part that's noisy. We are rarely bothered by noise at night we we sometimes leave the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. We enjoyed our stay here. Nothing really fancy for the younger group but they do have a small lounge and rooms are clean and oceanfront. We would stay here again but if we bring our kids I would like to stay somewhere that offers more for the kids. It appeared that a lot of elderly people stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

While the location is great at the very end of the boardwalk.That is the BEST THING about the Dunes. This is the older blue building. After a day at the beach, a warm shower was what I wanted. What I got was a trickle of a shower that I tried for 20 minutes to get the sand and salt off my body: what a disappointment at the end of the day: also the towels were like sandpaper! I guess u need to stay in the Beige newer building!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Address: On the Beach at 27th Street, 2700 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Ocean City
Dunes Motel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.