We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   On the Beach at 27th Street, 2700 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Mifflinburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I read many reviews before selecting this motel and they had prepared me for what we found. While this is not a new property with amazing amenities, it had everything we needed, was clean and had a great view - all at a reasonable price. I will reiterate a point I read in another review, the Wi-Fi is spotty. Most times I had to stand on the west facing walk way to get the wi-fi. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to be on the 2nd floor or higher if you want to see the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    95
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
94
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a large OF efficiency at north end of boardwalk. This motel is one of the older ones but our room was very clean & everything worked well. I'm quite fussy when it come to cleanliness, so we were very happy and the price for an OF room was great comparitive to others. Overall, I'd recommend The Dunes for its location, price, amenities & friendly staff.

Room Tip: Oceanfront building is quiet, all you hear is surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've stayed here three times now. We get the ocean front efficiency, with a balcony that overlooks the ocean. The room is always clean. The kitchen efficiency is small, but it has a decent size refrigerator, a small oven/stove, a microwave and a coffee maker. There is a sitting area, with a table and four chairs and a couch. The balcony has two plastic chairs and a plastic table. It's not fancy, but it's all we need. If luxury is important to you, don't stay here though. It's clean but simple. We'll be back next year.

Also, it's right at the beginning of the boardwalk. You can take the tram up and down the boardwalk and it's right next to the hotel. We love the convenience of that. It's on the boardwalk but not the part that's noisy. We are rarely bothered by noise at night we we sometimes leave the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. We enjoyed our stay here. Nothing really fancy for the younger group but they do have a small lounge and rooms are clean and oceanfront. We would stay here again but if we bring our kids I would like to stay somewhere that offers more for the kids. It appeared that a lot of elderly people stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

While the location is great at the very end of the boardwalk.That is the BEST THING about the Dunes. This is the older blue building. After a day at the beach, a warm shower was what I wanted. What I got was a trickle of a shower that I tried for 20 minutes to get the sand and salt off my body: what a disappointment at the end of the day: also the towels were like sandpaper! I guess u need to stay in the Beige newer building!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in an oceanfront efficiency. The room was very clean, housekeeping kept it clean each morning. The front desk staff was courteous and friendly upon check in and check out.
Kitchen was equipped w/ dishes, utensils, pots/pan, dish drainer, coffee pot, toaster, dish towel & cloth & small liquid soap. Very convenient to prepare small meals. There is coffee in the lobby for guests that want it. They do give you small soaps in the bathroom. No other products like shampoos, lotions, etc are given. Beds were very comfortable. You could not hear a sound from any other rooms. The view from the balcony was awesome, overlooking the ocean, the dunes and to one side the boardwalk. The pool is also very nice. Large area of loungers, tables w/ umbrellas, etc. Plenty of parking so we never had an issue with where to park. Elevator worked fine. Luggage carts are available outside the elevator to help you get all your stuff moved in and out. The Boardwalk is right there at the end of the hotel. You can catch the tram car for $3.00 to take you to the other end of the boardwalk or rent bikes or surreys right at the beginning of the Boardwalk. Plenty of good places to eat within walking distance. You have use of the pool at their sister property, Dunes Manor, and it's a very nice indoor/outdoor pool. They have a large deck with rocking chairs to sit on and enjoy the view of the dunes and relax. I did a lot of research on where to stay in OC and am glad I picked this motel. I would recommend the Dunes Motel for the location, value, cleanliness and the awesome view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Dunes Motel. This time we invited a few friends with thier kids. The Motel has some really great features, close to ocean, close to the Boardwalk, close to Water Park. The actual motel is average. You pick from either an ocean front room or a pool front. We stayed both time ocean front and on Floor 2 or 3, which give a nice view of ocean. The 1st floor rooms, have outside areas to hang but the dunes prevent ocean viewing. The rooms are efficencies with stove micro refrig sink, 2 beds sitting area with table and couch. The cleaners come everyday and do a good job. A very nice feature of this place is the sister hotel just 2 bldgs up. It has indoor pool and several other Hotel features that you have access to.

Anyway...to sum it up. It's not the nicest place I stayed, but I have stayed there 2 times and will do it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Address: On the Beach at 27th Street, 2700 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Ocean City
Dunes Motel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.