We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most near Boardwalk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Motel

Save Saved
You added Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   On the Beach at 27th Street, 2700 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than most near Boardwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a first floor oceanfront room. Actual view of ocean is blocked by the dunes on the first floor, but the upside is a large outdoor private patio space and direct beach access from the back of the room. Having stayed at a large number of hotels, condos and houses in OCMD over the years, I would rank this somewhere in the middle. I would have probably had a better feeling with new carpet and updated bedspread, but all in all the room was fairly priced for the holiday weekend. Bathroom was newly painted with new flooring and the unit was very clean overall. At this point in my life, I am looking for aesthetic comfort as well, but the hotel gave me all I needed for the weekend. Hair dryers were available, but we had to go back to the front office to pick it up. I probably won't look to stay here again, but would consider it if my usual favs are all sold out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

this was our first visit to ocean city so of course i looked up alot of hotel/motels online, i came the dunes motel read the reviews and was very pleased with the reviews, so we booked a room which was on the 5th floor smoking. the room was very very clean it did not what so ever smell of smoke in room. the view of the ocean was breathtaking. the room was to my likings 100% . we were on the beach or wandering around most of time or simply just enjoying the ocean view on the balcony. each day the maid came in they did an awesome job making it look like we just checked in, having a full kitchen saved us money from eating out alot. we all enjoyed our stay there and would definatily without a doubt stay there in our future trips there. the staff were very friendly. dunes manor motel is #1 in my book for best place to stay. thanks for a wonderful first time stay there! from a very happy customer.

Room Tip: oceanview on 5th floor will take your breathe away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The property is clean and well-maintained. The staff is courteous and efficient. The location is great. For the price, it can't be beat. Even after checkout they let us keep our car in the parking lot until we were ready to leave and offered use of the pool and showers at their sister hotel next door. I plan to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After reading the reviews we were expecting more. We stayed in a oceanside room. The room is set up nice and surprisely pretty sound proof. The kitchenette was a little out dated. We could not get access the internet in our room and spoke to another guest and had the same problem. I didn't think standing/sitting on the corridor with a laptop was such a great idea. The place that had seating and good wifi services was the pool and that didn't open till 10am and closed at 9am. I was hoping in the morning to get some work done before the kids woke or when they went bed but the pool was closed. When I tried to enter the pool area one morning the gentlemen kicked me out. The location was good being you were walking distance to the Jolley Roger(on 30th) and the tram was right there. Would have liked to stayed a little closer to the action properly around the teens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We decided to go down (from DE) for 1 night. This is usually impossible because most beach areas have at least a 2 night min. Read the reviews and then checked availability and decided to take a chance. I'm very glad we did. We are a family of 5 that usually stays in Residence Inn type hotels because we need the extra bed. The Motel offered an oceanfront efficiency that had 2 double beds and a pull out. Perfect. Check in was fast and our room was ready. I booked a corner so I could have an unobstructed view from at least one side. The entry and bathroom has new tile floors and it looked like the whole place had been freshly painted. Everything was very clean. We had a problem at first w the toilet taking forever to fill, called down and they sent someone up right away. Come to find out, its just a slow toilet. The efficiency has a stove, full sized fridge, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, and dishes. You are at the end of the boardwalk and can buy tickets right there. Theres also bathrooms so you dont need to go back up to your room if you really need to go. Overall I was very pleased and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front and a high corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed the week of August 6th. This was our first vacation in Ocean City and we chose the Dunes Motel after reading many reviews. This is a clean, quiet motel. We stayed in the pool side in your basic motel room. The furnishings were a little dated but it was a non-smoking room which had no smoky or musty ordors. I was very pleased at the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The maid service was excellent. Every morning when we returned from breakfast our room had been cleaned, vacumned and the bathroom was stocked with plenty of fresh towels. We had one of the light bulbs go out and within 5 minutes of our call to the front desk a knock was on our door and the bulb was replaced. It is also a great location. Far enough away from the craziness of the boardwalk but close enough to take a very long walk or pick up the nearby tram. The beach was clean and not overly crowded. I hope on our next trip to stay in one of the oceanside rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Clean and Quiet.Stayed with family for 2 nights in July. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Only wished coffee makers were in rooms not in main lobby and wished ice machines were on each floor instead of just on the first floor. We stayed in a poolside room but, never got to swim in the pool because it closed at 9PM. But, we got to swim in the ocean alot so, that made up for it.Motel was a small Walking distant to the TRAM station and Beach it was a little bit of a hike on foot to the Boardwalk. But, over all we will probably stay there again. Next time with an Ocean view! For the price this Motel is definitely worth it !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Address: On the Beach at 27th Street, 2700 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Ocean City
Dunes Motel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.