We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort

Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort
10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
41052435357180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 386 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 101st and the beach
Transit: Ocean City buses run every 15 minutes in season and every 30 minutes in the off season. Buses run Coastal Highway from the Inlet to the Delaware state line. You can ride the bus all day for $2.00. There a number of local cabs that are available 24 hours a day.
Description: Welcome to Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant, Ocean City dining at its finest serving Certified Angus Beef and the freshest seafood, chicken, and veal specialties. Compliment your meal with a selection from our award winning wine list. Our Sunday Deluxe Breakfast Buffet overlooking the Atlantic and our famous "All You Can Eat Prime Rib-Crab Leg-Seafood Buffet" are definitely a must. Top 40 dance bands begin at 9pm, so there is never a reason to leave early.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant was the perfect place to relax with a good meal and the staff top notch. The view of the ocean from the dinning area is very nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director of Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always find it reassuring when we get such positive feed back. We try to provide the best product and exemplary service. The view speaks for itself. Please introduce yourself to one our dining room managers on your next visit. We love to meet and get to know those who come to Horizons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some Good--Some Very Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Enjoyed the room and dinner buffet. While eating at the breakfast buffet we were horrified when our waiter was clearing the table next to us and dumped their used pitcher of milk into ours. Needless to say, that abruptly ended breakfast. When I complained to management , they sent up a bottle of wine and breakfast buffet coupons. Since we don't drink we sent back the wine and we had no desire to repeat our breakfast experience. (No offer of returning the $33.00 spent on 3 inedible breakfasts).Questionable whether we would return or not--Don't think it would be my first choice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Directot, Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take them very seriously, both the good and the bad. I did talk to the server involved, and I assure you this will not happen again. I was equally shocked as you were. I definitely tried to make amends for what happens at breakfast. I honestly thought an immediate response of the wine and an invitation to return would let you know important I felt your concern was. I apologize for not letting you know personally. When you visit us again, please introduce yourself to one of our managers. We always like to meet our guests, even those we have disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“THE Buffet in Ocean City, MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We come down about once per year and always have dinner at Horizons for the buffet. We usually have dinner at a different buffet for our next night, maybe looking for some competition. This year, we are going back for a second dinner, it's just that good! For atmosphere alone, the other buffets in town are such a turn off while this one is gorgeous with white linen tablecloths and wall to wall windows overlooking the beach. The crab legs are fantastic, barely needs the butter, compared to the salty and soggy crab legs that we have had at other buffets. Also worth noting is the delicious prime rib, freshly carved to order. This year, they have added a cooked to order pasta station with very good variety to choose from. We had to give it a try and were very impressed with our concoction of Seafood Alfredo with extra garlic and cheese. But it's the atmosphere and crab legs that make this a consistent 5 year after year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director of Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience in Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant. We take pride in offering our guests a dining experience worthy of your time in Ocean City. This is our home and we feel you deserve the very best we have to offer. You are absolutely correct, the view is breathtaking, from sunrise at breakfast to moonrise at dinner and all the hours between. We also know that the view is only part of the experience. Our Prime Rib is Certified Angus Beef, slowed cook over night. Our seafood is fresh, and yes, our pasta Station is the newest addition. Our Pasta Chef has scallops, shrimp and chicken and a selection of sauces to create any dish to your liking. We also feel our friendly and professional service staff makes the evening complete. Please introduce yourself the next time you are with us. We love meeting our guests and making new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast but dinner.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Breakfast was delicious. Omelettes, bacon, sausage, ham, home fries, waffle pancakes...oh so yummy but the dinner buffet ewwww....the seafood buffet is just okay. everything else was horrible

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director, Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take everything seriously. I am happy to hear you enjoyed or Deluxe Sunday Breakfast Buffet. It is available every Sunday year round. We offer our All You Can Eat Prime Rib, Crab Leg & Seafood Buffet nightly in season and on Fridays & Saturdays most weekend throughout the year. We do feel we have a quality product with Certified Angus Beef for our Prime Rib, fresh seafood and a Pasta Station with an attendant. He will prepare your dish to order with scallops, shrimp and chicken as well as a selection of sauces. I am sorry to here you were disappointed with other items you ordered. I always suggest you say something to one of our restaurant managers. We want our guests to have a positive experience, and we too are disappointed when you don't. Please introduce yourself the next time you dine with us. We love meeting and getting to know our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I don't normally like buffets but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I normally don't like buffets but this was an exception. I won't lie, this was not our first choice. We were staying at the Clarion(which is the hotel where this restaurant is located) but wanted to leave the hotel to find a good restaurant. First we tried the Crab Bag, which has high reviews on YELP and there was a TWO HOUR WAIT, go figure. We opted not to wait for that and to try Fish Tales since my Mom has been telling me I should try it there. There was an hour and 45 minute wait. So being starving, we decided to just go back to the hotel and try one of the restaurants there.

I think the only thing I ate that I wasn't a fan of was the macaroni and cheese. Maryland crab soup, HUGE steamed shrimp, fried chicken, pasta bar... it was all delicious. They don't skimp on the desserts either! The view is the icing on the cake, being right on the beach and seeing the ocean as you're eating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director, Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for you comments. We believe we offer quality food and provide excellent service in our Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant. The view is definitely spectacular, both at sunrise for breakfast and moonrise during dinner. We never take it for granted. In addition to our Deluxe Sunday Breakfast and our Famous All You Can Eat Prime Rib, Crab Leg & Seafood Dinner Buffet we offer full menu service. Our Chef & Sous Chef have degrees from the top culinary schools in the country. Our restaurant and wine list have won numerous awards and mentioned in national magazines from Gourmet to Wine Spectator. We appreciate the recognition, but value our guests like yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort also viewed

 

Been to Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.