We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two 15th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel the first week of August and was very happy. We arrived on Sunday and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The few times I called down for things they were also very helpful. Yes the pool was small and the floor was a little slippery but since I have a pool at home we spent every day on the beach anyway. The hotel was perfectly located on the boardwalk and only 15 blocks from the main rides and games which my 6 year old and I walked almost every day. My one complaint was that the refrigerators in the room are way to small! I would have loved to refreeze my ice packs for my cooler every day for the beach but it was impossible. My family and I enjoyed the hotel tremendously and would 100% go back again next year.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, Marc W. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your enjoyed your stay with us and will be back next year! The hotel is in a great location and it's great to hear that you were able to walk the boardwalk each day with your son. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    126
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
127
148
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have visited The Courtyard the past 3 years and we just enjoy the hospitality of the staff. This past week we only stayed one night (bummed out did not have more time) and knowingly we checked in very early to get as much beach time as possible. As expected there were no rooms available at check in time however within an hour I received a call that our room was ready. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I was impressed that when I went to get my morning coffee he greeted me by my name, imagine the volume of people he sees and greets each day. This is the reason we keep coming back to The Courtyard!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We look forward to seeing you for a 4th year in a row and for more than one night, Newne53! It's great to hear that we continue to impress you each year! Our staff looks forward to seeing our repeat guest and getting to know the guest with their families. Thanks again for vacationing with us and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We took a chance to go to Ocean City in July. Ended up at the Courtyard by Marriott. Such a nice surprise. Right there by the beach and boardwalk. It had an awesome restaurant right in hotel. Went for early bird and was not disappointed. There is a piano player there while you eatand is there till 9pm.
We used our Marriott Rewards points but will go back for another visit.

Room Tip: We were on the city side but could still see the ocean from your balcony. No street noise from insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We apprecitate you taking the time to review our hotel from your recent trip to Ocean City, Isr4t9. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and were able to use your Marriott Reward Points for your stay. Our restaurant in the hotel does provide a great atmosphere for dinner and has a piano player 6 nights a week for the guest to enjoy while having dinner. Thank you again for your review and we look foward to see you again on your next trip to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Entrance lobby to upper floors is dirty and water damaged.
Disturbed by engineering three days running to fix a running toilet.
Staff do not demonstrate "Marriott people training. "
Pool floor dangerously slippery.
Won't be back......

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott - Ocean City from your recent stay, Barb B. I apologize if you felt that our service did meet your expectations during your stay with us or the expectations that you expect from a Marriott hotel. Our staff is trained in the "Marriott Way" to help out every guest and make sure that we meet every guest expectation while they are vacationing with us. I'm sorry that you felt the entrance floor looked dirty and the entrance looked water damaged. Our staff at the hotel takes great pride in the work that they do and our floors are cleaned at the entrance on a daily basis. We have never had any water damage in our entrance area and I'm sorry that you felt that this area looked damaged to you. We hope that you give us another opportunity to "WOW" you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We enjoyed a long weekend at the Marriott in Ocean City. We arrived late and were greeted by a friendly but tired desk clerk. He gave us the necessary keys, but did not spend much time telling us about the hotel amenities and what was nearby. We felt as if we had to pry information from him to find out about the hotel and surrounding area. When we got to our room we were pleased. It was clean and a good size. In addition, the extra pillows I had requested were in the room and on the bed. We had an awesome corner ocean front room with a wrap around balcony giving us views across coastal highway, as well as the perfect view of the boardwalk and ocean! Definitely the highlight of our time at the Marriott.

Room Tip: High Floor, Ocean Front with a Wrap Around Balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
The corner ocean front room has one of the best views in Ocean City and I am glad the you enjoyed your room, Ashley M. I apologize if our staff came across tired and wasn't giving out much information at your check in. Our staff is one of our best aspects at the hotel and we try to make sure that all of our guest questions are answered upon checking into your room. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we were able to help out with any addtional information that you needed for the surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, and had a wonderful time!

Location
The hotel is located on 15th Street, which is a great location right on the boardwalk. You can literally be on the beach or boardwalk within moments of leaving your room. We liked being close to tons of other hotels, bars, restaurants, and shops. We were also glad to be far enough from the busiest parts of the boardwalk that there wasn't a ton of noise. If you don't know the area well, you can't do much better than this location. There's even a CVS within walking distance if you really need something that you can't find elsewhere.

Parking
The hotel has a small parking garage directly underneath the hotel, with another parking lot across the street. We parked in the garage and did not move our car the entire time we were there. There is staff onsite during normal hours, and we felt that the car was very safe.

Room
We booked a king that also had a pullout couch in a separate living area, so there was actually quite a bit of room. The bathroom also had 2 separate sinks, one outside of the bathroom itself, which very helpful.

The room was quiet and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we liked having 2 tvs in our room. We really couldn't find anything to complain about as far as the room went!

Hotel Amenities
There is a pool in the hotel, but it's not great. For one, it's very small. It's also indoors, which is so weird for a beach hotel. There is an outdoor area around the pool that has lounge chairs and would be great for tanning, but it's awkward. We only saw some kids using the pool.

There's a restaurant, The Captain's Table, on the 3rd floor of the hotel. It also has a bar area. We ate breakfast there one day, but we didn't drink at the bar.

Staff
The staff we talked to were all very pleasant, and the housekeepers did a great job. We were amazed at how there was no sand anywhere at all, which seems impossible for a beach hotel.

Overall, we really liked this hotel and will probably return. However, the lack of a decent pool may turn some people away, especially families. If you're looking for something comparable, the Holiday Inn is a couple streets down and actually has 2 outdoor pools.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
It sounds like you had a great time on your vacation with us, alantraveler! We appreciate the kind words and it's always great to hear when a guest enjoys all aspects of our facility. Our hotel is in one of the best locations in Ocean City with everything at your fingertips once you check in! Our staff looks forward to seeing you and your wife on your next trip to Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are looking for a location right on the boardwalk and near the rides and attractions, this is a perfect spot.

The hotel was clean and well maintained, which is not a given in a busy beach resort town. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The Captains Table Restaurant, located in the hotel, is amazing! One of the best meals we've had in Ocean City, with excellent service and nice ambiance. It's worth going to the restaurant, even if you don't stay here.

The pool was an enormous disappointment! There is a very small indoor pool, and the hot tub did not have heat or jets. When I inquired about this with the front desk, they said, "it's not a hot tub, it's a conversation area." But I seem to remember the hotel listing showing hot tub as one of the amenities. When you are finished with the beach for the day, it's nice to come back and hang out by the pool, but this was not a pleasant place to hang out. Being inside it was noisy.

If you don't care about the pool, this is a great choice, but if a nice pool is important, choose something else - and just come here for dinner!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are in the perfect spot on the famous Ocean City boardwalk and steps away from the beach. Our hotel offers our guest the advantage of being close to everything on the boardwalk and a short walk to the inlet. Our pool is on our 3rd floor and is an indoor pool; however, during the summer months we do have doors that open the pool area and have a retractable roof to let in more sun for our guest to enjoy. The area that looks like a hot tub is actually called a conversation pit and is the same tempature water as what is in the pool because this water flows into our pool like a small waterfall. Thank you for your review TMRtraveler and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City

Address: Two 15th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City Oceanfront offers the most elegantly appointed guestrooms on the beach. Our hotel is located directly on the boardwalk and is the newest hotel on the oceanfront. Whether you are enjoying a weekend getaway, a family vacation or a business trip you will leave looking forward to your next visit. Enjoy breathtaking sunrises, glorious afternoons and the exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ocean City Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.