We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two 15th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Hamilton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“4th of July 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I would really recommend this hotel, it’s right on the boardwalk, the staff is very nice, room was very clean, and hence I am an owner of a cleaning business in NJ.
Minutes from all the good restraints…. I have staid at other hotels and this one is far my favorite in Ocean City MD

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review Christine! The 4th of July is a big holiday and I'm glad you chose to bring your family here to stay with us. All of us here take pride in our hotel and work hard to make sure our guests have a great experience. Thank you for noticing our hard work! We hope to see you and your family back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    108
    32
    16
    11
See reviews for
122
124
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location -- The hotel is right on the beach and conveniently located adjacent to the Boardwalk. The location is the best thing about the Marriott Ocean City.

Room -- Our room was clean, comfortable, and as advertised. The room appeared to have been renovated sometime recently. The wireless internet connection was reliable and reasonably fast.

Layout -- This hotel seems to have been designed in the surreal stage of the '70s and never re-thought. Getting in and out is difficult. The lobby is on the third level. You can take an elevator or climb two flights of stairs. If your room is on the second floor (and perhaps other floors, although I didn't check), you need to take a different elevator to that level. That elevator is the only means of accessing the second floor -- there are no stairs. The elevator is slow and used by too many people. Prepare to wait.

Parking -- Don't make the mistake of bringing more than one car. Parking is in short supply, and you are only entitled to one spot in the two Marriott parking lots, one of which is located across a busy street. (The hotel does not tell you in advance that there are limits on parking. We learned the hard way and had to park an extra car elsewhere.)

Food -- The hotel restaurant is good for breakfast. The waiters are friendly and the service and breakfast menu is respectable. Lunch was not good. White bread on a sandwich means the equivalent of Wonder Bread. The fries had no taste. I tried to order room service for dinner one night, but the restaurant did not answer the phone. The front desk told me the restaurant was busy and could not take my order for an hour. I got take-out for dinner instead.

Gym -- There is a spacious room with a cross-trainer and a couple of treadmills, along with some dumbells and other odds and ends. It's not a great gym, but you can do a basic workout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have stayed here twice in the last two years and will be staying again in September. This facility has been clean and comfortable each time. Staying several days at a time for business, I've enjoyed its location on the Ocean City Boardwalk, the early morning sunrises, and proximity to restaurants and the OC Convention Center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Welcome Back, PamS221! Thank you for your review and business over the past two years! It's great to hear that we make your stays comfortable and that you are able to enjoy your time with us (even if you are here for business!). We look forward to seeing you again in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Layout is a bit confusing. Lobby and pool are on the 3rd floor. Various stair and elevator combinations. Well maintained, updated and attractive décor. Limited and tight parking underneath. More exposed parking in the lot across the street. All included. My bed was too soft for my liking. Room was reasonably quiet. Only one sink in the bathroom. Breakfast was OK.

Room Tip: The higher the better for less outside sound and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel, Spencer D. We work hard on maintaining our nearly new building on the boardwalk. Our staff appreciates you noticing there hard work! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went to Ocean City for a couple of nights and really enjoyed the hotel and the facilities. We had the king suite with jetted tub. We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Great location being right on the Boardwalk and the beach. Tons of restaurants and shopping venues with in minutes. The Captain's Table restaurant in the hotel was very good and consistent the several meals that we ate there. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your anniversay with us! I will pass on your compliments to the managerment of the Captain's Table. We look forward to seeing you again before your next anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in the 3 bedroom condos upstairs. Rates very reasonable for this year, but went up to an absolute crazy amount for next year which will make this year our last. Pool is an absolute nightmare. Tile is like ice the minute water hits it. I sat there and watched victim after victim fall. The last day I watched a little girl fall and hit her forehead causing a huge goose egg. The kids and adults aren't even running, just walking along. My husband and I were on pins and needles with our three children the entire time. I read other reviews and saw that management comes to mop the water and they keep reapplying a grip surface, but I was there for an entire week and never saw one person even enter the pool area. The only management person I saw was straightening lounge chairs. He was probably too scared to walk into the pool area, and if they are applying something to make the tile not slippery it isn't working. Someone is going to get really hurt there and their vacation is going to be ruined. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is great, condos are nice, linens and towels in the condos are a plus, location is fantastic. If the price was reasonable and they would replace the pool tile we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The Miramar Condominiums are a seperate entity from the Courtyard by Marriott; however, I appreciate you taking the time to review our pool and amenities. We are constantly working to keep the pool as water free as possible for our guest. Our management staff does attend to the pool area, while our engineering department works on keep the pool deck dry for our guest. If you would like to leave a review for Miramar Condiminiums, they do have a page on Tripadvisor. I will speak with our staff regarding your comments about the pool and make every effort to fix the issues that you have brought to my attention. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Awesome midweek stay at the beach. Have stayed at Courtyards for business for many years and always enjoy their professionalism. What a treat to cash in my points at a "vacation" Courtyard! The staff was wonderful, room was perfect. Nice pool area and the splash pad was great for my 21/2 year old granddaughter. Loved having bar service on the pool patio area for afternoon happy hour. Will definitely go back next summer, and would make a great weekend getaway in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, Deborah H! I'm thrilled your granddaughter loved the splash pad! It's a great play area for kids who want to do something other than play in the pool. We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation to our Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City

Address: Two 15th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City Oceanfront offers the most elegantly appointed guestrooms on the beach. Our hotel is located directly on the boardwalk and is the newest hotel on the oceanfront. Whether you are enjoying a weekend getaway, a family vacation or a business trip you will leave looking forward to your next visit. Enjoy breathtaking sunrises, glorious afternoons and the exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ocean City Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.