We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a couple of miles from the Ocean Downs Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two 15th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
surfinginflorida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Just a couple of miles from the Ocean Downs Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were traveling from Florida to Boston, and we took our time exploring the eastern seaboard. Our goal was to get to Philadelphia but we found a casino, got sidetracked, and found the nearest Marriott hotel. The off season rate was $79 and we were upgraded to a Ocean View double. We left the curtains open and the sunrise was amazing! The hotel is right on the beach and boardwalk, and there is a nice in-house restaurant. The room was large and the bathroom looked like it had been recently remodeled. The front desk was terrific – we loved our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for you response surfinginflorida. We are happy that you found us on your way to the casino! Our staff was happy to serve you as our guest! The next time that you are in this area, please look into our package with the casino. We look forward to serving you as our guest when you get sidetracked again for the casino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    116
    34
    16
    12
See reviews for
124
138
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here in November. Staff was great a check in. We are marriott platinum and they gave us an upgrade to an oceanfront room and a welcome gift of cookies, granola bar and water, a nice treat after a long drive. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. A wonderful view and convenient location. We plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: ocean front is beautiful, nice view of ocean and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your response judithk4. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being a Marriott Platinum Rewards Member! Our staff looks forward to serving you again on your next trip to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and another friend stayed there on New Year's Eve. The hotel is lovely and the stay was wonderful, but because room service is managed by the "Captain's Table" restaurant located within the hotel--and they were hosting a private party--there was no room service available! We had looked forward to relaxing in our room but instead had to venture out . . . and since it was the off-season, not much was open in Ocean City. I would recommend this hotel, but if you expect room service, call ahead to be sure that they will not be otherwise engaged.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your response therongjr. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on New Year's Eve. The New Year's Eve dining in the Captain's Table was by reservation for that night only. I do apologize for any inconvience that this may have caused you during your stay with us. We do offer room service to our rooms every morning and night; however, New Year's Eve was the one night that it was not available. We look forward to serving you as our guest again on your next trip to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for a 2-day getaway for my husband's birthday. We got a great deal since it was off-peak when we went there. Our room was spacious with a sitting area. We got a street view room and there were not a lot of guests at the time of our stay so it was pretty quiet. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was good. The hotel is right on the boardwalk and very accessible if you want to go for a walk or just dip your toes in the Atlantic Ocean (chilly in October). It was definitely a relaxing stay and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review jello_len. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your husband's birthday with us! It was great to see that you enjoyed your weekend stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you and your husband on your next trip to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend getaway. New, clean hotel. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast from captains restaurant very tasty and convenient. Restaurant is clean. Will stay here again. Hotel right by beach. Stayed in room with street view. Can get to beach from parking lot. Very short walk. Lovely time. Only downside if you can call it that was noisy fan or heater - our room was on 4th floor, and no liners/bags in room waste baskets. Didn't really matter since we had plastic bags and I didn't ask for them. Really really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 4th floor appears to be top floor. Ocean front rooms on lower floors are directly accessible to beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank youf for your response makonkary. It's great to hear that you had a great weekend getaway at our hotel. I apologize for the noisy fan; however, we would have been more than happy to fixed the issue for you during your stay. Our staff looks forward to serving you as our guest on your next weekend getaway to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned home from a two night stay at the Marriott in Ocean City. I booked our room back in August and paid less than $100/night for an ocean view room. We were thrilled with our room and our overall stay. Shortly after settling in our room the front desk called to ask how our room was and to find out if we needed anything else. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking under the hotel was a little tight, but there's additional parking across the street that looked to have larger spaces. We didn't eat at the on sight restaurant as it was a little expensive for our taste, but they had a Christmas party there to support Toys for Tots which I thought was a nice touch. My only complaint is the same as every hotel/resort I've stayed in, the beds are to hard. Other than that we loved our stay and plan on staying again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your response Dave G. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff took great care of you! Our staff looks forward to serving you once again on your next trip to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our third time staying here within the past 12 months...twice in December ('11 and '12) to attend Christmas parties, and once in September as a stopover on our way home from Vermont. My overall impression is that this is a nice hotel, but the beach location must be what drives Marriott to consider this a '7' in their rating scale for what constitutes a free night in frequent sleeper points. So, while I do not feel that it deserves the high rating for free stays, it's nice enough that I have paid to stay there three times in the past year!!!!! The location on the boardwalk is really a great perk if you are so inclined to use it.

Now for the details.....the parking is crazy tight and the 3rd floor lobby is kinda weird. I have never asked why it is located where it is, but I have never seen another hotel arranged like this. For our three stays, we have had ocean front, side street, and Baltimore Ave. street rooms. The Baltimore Avenue room was in the best shape, as it appears to me the ocean front get the most use as well as wear and tear. It came with a jet tub and was really quiet despite the street location....must be because it was December and there was little Sat night traffic. And there was a sweet little in-room bar area where you could have snacks or make drinks that included a mini-fridge and microwave The beds are comfortable and the linens are also nice. They are very strict about smoking in the rooms ($250 fee per incident) and won't even let you burn a candle, or if I remember corectly, smoke on the balconies. I'm OK with that as I can't stand staying in rooms that have been smoked in. And because it is so clean, there is no need for a scented candle (why we always bring one). It could also be about fire safety issues, which is also OK.

Never have used the pool area, so can't comment. The bar is great, and we had breakfast in the restaurant this morning and it was very good and reasonably priced for what you get. The entire hotel is very clean.

The staff is the best thing about this hotel...they are professional and pleasant, and are willing to help out with anything that they can. This goes from the front desk clerks to the bar and restuarant servers.

We will continue to come here in the off-season as opportunities present themselves, but it's pretty pricey in-season due to the location.

Room Tip: Can't beat drinking your free morning coffee from your balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your response Carl O. It's great to hear that our staff took great care of you during your stay with us. We are pleased that you've stayed with us 3 times over the past 12 months. Our staff looks forward to serving you on your next trip to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City

Address: Two 15th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City Oceanfront offers the most elegantly appointed guestrooms on the beach. Our hotel is located directly on the boardwalk and is the newest hotel on the oceanfront. Whether you are enjoying a weekend getaway, a family vacation or a business trip you will leave looking forward to your next visit. Enjoy breathtaking sunrises, glorious afternoons and the exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ocean City Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.