We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT and CLEAN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commander Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Commander Hotel
Save
You added The Commander Hotel to your Saves list
14th St. and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Hazle Township
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT and CLEAN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Love this hotel. The location was perfect. The staff was really nice and friendly. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the pull-out couch. My friends and I stayed in an OF suite and there were popcorn kernels under the sofa cushions. The hotel should include on their main website that they have free wi-fi, that's a great plus. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    84
    36
    12
    29
See reviews for
102
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Location was very good, right on the boardwalk, Your typical family vacation 80's style room, complete with FULL SIZE refridg. the room was very dated, but clean, beds were very small, and kind of old... lots of towels provided.. the restaurant was open for breakfast but we didn't go.. no other restaurant service available during our stay, we had to go down the boardwalk. parking is very scarce on the immediate premises, but i believe that there is another lot about a block away. front desk was nice. the two double beds are really only good for one person each unless your teens.... but there was a pull out couch on the other side of the room. tv's are old,, but functional... i was told they jacked the prices up because it was a boat racing weekend, and this used to be the host hotel which we thought it was,,, we found out that its no longer the case, that they raised the prices because the racing people come to town, even though it was off season. and used to give us a discount. well they got greedy i was told and the racing organization moved the host hotel to another location.... most hotels were cheaper and for what you get this was not worth the price...

Room Tip: get a corner room, but even my friends room on the corner had the tv far away and you had to move th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderHotel, Manager at The Commander Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Commander Hotel during the weekend of May 12th. Many guests stayed with us that weekend to view the offshore powerboat races and to celebrate Mother's Day. We were not one of the official host hotels for the offshore races. This was not due to increased rates. In fact, our rates for the May 12th weekend were the exact same as our rates in 2011, and cheaper than 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2007. We always give a discounted rate for large groups (20 or more rooms). We did not have any large groups inquire about the weekend of May 12, and therefore, discounts did not apply.

We offer a variety of sleeping accomodations at the Commander. We have rooms with queen, doubles, and even a few single beds on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We arrived late Friday, May 4th. Check in was very smooth & the only reason why I didn't give 5 out of 5 is because we had to park 2 blocks away in the overflow lot. The next morning we got up early for breakfast and were able to find a parking spot at the building. The indoor pool was very small so we didn't attempt to get in with our child. There wouldn't have been anymore room with the amount of people that were already there. It has great access to the boardwalk and the rooms were nicely decorated, enough space. We stayed in room 763 and it was an end unit on the oceanview side. We had a balcony that looked out to the boardwalk & ocean as well as balcony over the outdoor pool. I would definitely request this room again! We have stayed at the Fenwick Inn many times, but the last 2 times we stayed we had to call the police on domestic disturbances in the rooms next door. That place has gone down hill with service and individuals that stay there. We think we have found our new spot for quick off-season getaways at the Commander!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've stayed at many of OC hotels on the boards. This place tops them all. To be at 14th and boardwalk and have a rate lower than other hotels on the boards makes you wonder but I took a chance and I was surprised! Made reservations over the phone at last minute. Person very nice. Not no snotty rude people you get at the high end (Hilton) hotels. Hotel was very clean. All staff was nice. Room was clean and laid out well. Private balcony. 7th flor oceanfront is a must! Inside pool is small. Restaruant and bar was nice also.

Room Tip: 7th floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

American Flophouse: is a place that offers expensive lodging, generally by providing only minimal services. Couple this with the fact the Commander Hotel has no affiliation with the local BBB and a no refund policy, it supports the label of an American Flophouse. Very little available parking on the premises, worn out furniture and beds, and nappy carpet. Soap dispensers on the wall, rationed toilet paper and tissues. The Commander Hotel once represented the standard of a non-chain hotel on the boardwalk. Now it represents the Motel standard on the boardwalk. This hotel puts too much emphasis on “you’re paying for the privilege” to see the ocean and uses this as an excuse for charging high rates for a worn out room. The last time I looked at the ocean from the Commander, I noticed there were a lot of other rooms up and down the boardwalk. I recommend you check out some of these rooms and respective rates and you will be surprised what you get for your hard earned dollar.

Room Tip: Even the Captain Suites are worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

One of my favorite hotels In OCMD. Stayed here a few times in the past and recently stayed there in the beginning of September 2011. Always clean and the staff is always professional. The location is great and not too far of a walk to the beginning of the boardwalk. Ocean front rooms are fantastic because the hotel is slanted towards the boardwalk....perfect view of the ocean/boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

After a lot of research my wife and I decided on the Commander Hotel for our stay in Ocean City. Upon arrival the front desk adivsed us our ocean view room was unavailable and we had been upgraded to an ocean front at no additional charge. First thoughts of the hotel were good. The lobby is nothing spectacular but it was adequate. The room while appearing slightly dated was comfortable and well appointed. The view of the ocean of course was fantastic. This hotel has a great location! My wife and I did not explore much of the hotel so we can not really comment on the other ammenities but we would most definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander Hotel

Address: 14th St. and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 109
Also Known As:
Commander Hotel Ocean City
Commander Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.