We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestyle, service oriented, and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homestyle, service oriented, and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a wonderful stay late March through early April. I was upset after reading some of the negative reviews...To those who need sterile perfection perhaps this might not be your cup up tea. If you are looking for a place to stay with a little character and history, clean, comfortable, reasonable, friendly and accommodating,,,this is it. We found the staff to be exceptional, the rooms clean and modern,and. the extra services appreciated. There was not a thing that we could have wanted or needed that would not have been promptly provided. While the older character of the hotel is still present, the modern upgrades provide everything that a busy professional person could possibly need. Remember...you are on vacation....Cheers to all at this Holiday Inn...I enjoyed it much more than some of the newer Holiday Inn's and will be back for certain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    202
    88
    50
    40
See reviews for
242
166
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is an older Holiday Inn, which needs a facelift. The mattresses definitely need to be replaced. The space was clean and the view of the beach was great. The staff at the front desk was very pleasant, as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Erika N,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kinds words intended for the staff. It is also very nice to know that you enjoyed the view and noticed the cleanliness of the property. However, I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the mattress. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Church
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were here for a work training and I brought my family along. The room was very clean, the staff were amazingly helpful. The kids enjoyed the pool and game room. The best thing is that everything was walking distance from the Hotel. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We needed a weekend away, so as always we looked for a value somewhere not too far from home. As we looked at beach locations in the mid Atlantic, we settled on Ocean City, Md as it's not a terrible drive for us and it looked like we could get an ocean front hotel for a relatively reasonable price. We eventually settled on this hotel and we weren't disappointed. We chose an "Eastern Ocean Front King". I couldn't figure out exactly what that meant before we got there but when we got to the room I quickly understood the description. The hotel is built in an "L" and we were in the long section that does face the ocean, but back a ways behind the pool and tennis court area. The view to the north and south are blocked by the rest of the hotel and the neighboring buildings. But even so, it's a broad view of the ocean. The room itself was quite comfortable and clean. The heat unit was relatively quiet, and the bathroom was clean and convenient. The private balcony was quite pleasant, but we couldn't use it all that much as we were there on the weekend of the most recent heavy snowstorm in that area. We did use the hot tub and it was clean and functioning quite well. In fact there are 2 hot tubs beside each other in the pool room, and the pool was clean and quite pleasant. The only "complaint" is that the pool is in a completely enclosed room with no outside light, so it makes it feel a little close. The folks at the front desk were quite pleasant, and even better one kind lady informed us of a special they offer where if we stay there at any time throughout the year we can get that room type during the Thanksgiving early December time frame for $17 a night - that's a deal. And oh yeah, they keep fresh bananas and oranges in a big basket in the lobby. Yummy snacks anytime. We didn't patronize any of the 3 eating establishments at the hotel, but they looked pleasant, and at this time of the year, quite empty. All in all, the hotel is a pleasant property, especially considering it is a "shore" hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get either the Eastern Ocean Front or Direct Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband & I once again had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanfront. We stay often and each experience is always a good one. This hotel is constantly upgrading its appearance. It's always clean and the staff very professional. Highly recommend this hotel.

Dee & Bud O'Donnell

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here in August of 2013. The room was dirty. The elevators were broken. I would not of eaten anything cooked in the kitchenette if you paid me. The location was ok, and the beach was nice. The pool was the typical over chlorinated hotel pool. Just not my idea of a vacation. Go To Treasure Island, Florida instead. I would rate the hotel 2 stars at it's best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Country C,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions you experienced. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent a weekend with a church youth group here. The front desk staff never lost their cool with our large, though well-behaved (I Think!) group. The rooms are spacious. Ours had an ocean view. The kitchen has a full size fridge! I also liked the "firm" and "soft" labels on the pillows. A good experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.