We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ocean front rooms have a beautiful view. Small kitchen area but everything you need. Bathroom is old. Everything was very clean. Every sound beside us was heard in our room. The shower next door was our wake up. Even drawers being opened
was easily heard on our side. Fresh fruit available 24/7 in lobby was nice. Great off season prices

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and sharing your overall positive experience with us. I am sorry to hear that the room noise was an issue for you. Although the building is concrete and every room is separated by concrete there are a select few that noise from room to room is an issue and we do have plans to address that this year with additional insulation where needed. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    202
    88
    50
    40
See reviews for
242
166
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The rooms all have a beautiful ocean view; and the room this year has been upgraded. Bathroom, kitchen, bedroom all renovated. The refrigerator is full size; a delight in a hotel room. We are very pleased with what they've done.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room. It's worth any additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and for your 3 years of patronage of our property. We are glad you have noticed the work we are and continue to do on our property. We use guest feedback during their stays and on review to gage where we need to improve. We are starting work next week (12/2/13) on converting the 8th floor to non-smoking so we will become 100% non-smoking. We are very excited about our continued improvements. Thanks again, and we look forward to your 4th year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel is in a good location and the staff is excellent. We had a catered dinner with our group and it was excellent. The rooms & hallways were dated and worn. It's obvious the hotel takes a beating in the summers. I was with a group and some of the rooms had black mold on the ceilings. The bathrooms were tiny and dated. This is not a luxury hotel. If it wasn't for the reunion I was attending I wouldn't have stayed in a hotel this rundown. If you are used to four & five star hotels this is not the place for you. If you want a cheap room with lots of room for the family and don't care about the condition then stay here.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in front of the shuffleboard, it's noisy when people are playing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear MamaCassExpat,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ocean view 1st floor room, outstanding. Other than horrible hurricane weather, this hotel was very nice. We didn't go out much because of the storm the 4 days we were there but the room itself and the amenities in it were enough to keep us from feeling trapped inside. There is a very nice indoor pool that we used as well as a hot tub. If we were to visit the east coast again we would definitely stay here again. No complaints.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend in February. We had booked a garden view room but upon arrival were upgraded free of charge to a fabulous oceanfront room. The room was very clean and had a kitchen complete with a dishwasher! The indoor pool was also wonderful & our daughter loved going swimming each evening. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone, especially families with children.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The company I work for had their annual sales meeting at this location. This was the first time we had switched locations in 28 years. The staff at this hotel did a fantastic job! The catering department outdid yourself and had some of the best wait staff and bartenders I've ever run across. The food was first rate. As for the rooms...they need a little work. The beds were comfortable , but the A/C SUCKED! I also found some mold in the room around the vents and bathroom. This property looks like it had a refresh recently... but it was 1/2 way done. The hotel was built in a maze , the pool ,decks and beach areas were right on the money...never could find the hot tub. With a little elbow grease this could be a quiet jewel in Ocean City!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Hpm88,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. Most importantly, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the cleanliness of the room that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we wanted a close to home place to celebrate our 53rd wedding anniversary. I went on line searched many hotels in area, and was very lucky to find this one. from the making the reservation, to checking out was such an easy and very pleasurable experience.
the desk people were very friendly, the room was fantastic, the food was great, the only problem was we had to leave. when we arrived at the hotel, and went up to our room, a nice bottle of champagne was waiting for us with a letter from the hotel staff. all of the staff impressed us
very much especially alex and heather, the wait staff in the brick pub. thanks for the good time.
bob and doris

Room Tip: can not beat the ocean view!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.