We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway to Ocean City. Oddly enough, he'd never been there in the years that we been together...and me - not back since I was a kid. Let's say the excursion whether god or bad would've been interesting. I was a little leery, when he finally had to tell me where we were staying (he got a little turned around). I guess for me "Holiday Inn" doesn't resonate a vacation stay/sleep here - maybe it's "Inn." At any rate, I screamed a little inside, but oh well. However, surprised from the start - the check in experience was easy and they were welcoming. The lobby desk was arrayed with a gigantic basket of bananas and oranges. They informed us about their in house fine dining restaurant and gave us a coupon to use, during our stay. We were also told about the other bar/grill on site and open & close times. It was nice & they mentioned that my husband didn't need to do anything else, because he booked through Expedia.

We had a King, Garden view room and it was cute. Nice kitchen area equipped w/apartment sized fridge, stove, cookware, etc. I believe our room could technically sleep four - the sofa may have been a pull out. There was a patio, which was nice, because from my room I could see the Tennis courts and the outdoor pool. Not that these activities were in use yet, end of April was a little chilly for me. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean - trust me. I'm kinda phobic about bed bugs and whenever I travel, I pull back the sheets and check the edges of the mattress for traces. Yuck, but - if something looks fishy, I'm outta there! (LOL). We scoped out the place went to the fitness center, the indoor pool and jacuzzi (there's a small game room too). There was a wedding there, as well - so we ventured to check out the OC. :-)

Make sure if you come to Ocean City, MD you also go to some of the other spots for the traditions of eats in the area...(I'll just add a review). ;-o

Room Tip: Check out the pics on their website, it's pretty accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frecklechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Central location. Same level of upkeep and modernity as most of oc's non dive hotels. Totally adequate. Good for golf trip or lowrent beach vaca with the fam. Not too faaaaaancy not too bad either. The other big holiday inn is def. nicer.

Room Tip: No no no to the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear armccaffrey,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. I would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The fist thing i noticed was how beautiful the hotel looked from the outside, then when i went in the lobby too was beautiful,but what made it so pleasant checking in was Mary-Lou she was so welcoming and enegetic we felt really special. i was still alittle hesitant because some Hotels show one thing on their web sites and when you get there it is something different, but let me tell you, the room was clean the kitchen area was actully a real kitchen area-full size fridge, a range, microwave, there were pots pans dishes all the utensils- it was exactly what was on the site and what was told to me. i will always stay at this hotel and i will recommend "strongly" that everyone stays here too, overall it was the best experience, ALL 10's, great job for making my getaway so pleasant. Thank you

Room Tip: ocean front has great veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter-john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn the last week in April. Weather was high 60's. We have a lovely room with 2 queen size beds, and a kitchenette. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The room had a balcony with small table and chairs overlooking the ocean. I booked it on Bookings.com. They had a special rate for nondetailed standard room. I had called, and they said book the room and call us back. I did that and said "by the way do you have a room with a view?" They did and gave us an ocean view. It cost us under $200 for two night stay.

The only negative comment is that the carpeted hallway smelled of some sort of chlorene odor. It was mild. The hotel could use some updating, but was fine. Location was great! Right on the beach. Staff was friendly. The same room in season would have been extremely expensive. Go off season for great value.

Room Tip: Book online and then call to arrange which room you want. Ask for an ocean view if not specified...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was very disappointed with this visit. An evening staff member Vlad was not very helpful or accommodating. I had call ahead of time to let the hotel know we would be arriving late for checkin. The staff member that answered the phone said no problem. I also requested to have a King bed with an Ocean view room. I was told I will note your reservation. When we arrived I was told by Vlad that there were no King Beds available, only a double bed available with an Ocean View . Not to mention I'm a Priority Club Member and that was totally disregarded by Vlad. No upgrades or courtesy perks what so ever from him! He was not customer friendly at all with us. Also the room that was given was very noisy and not an Ocean View at all. This visit by far has been the worst ever out of all my visits to the HI/HIExp hotel chain.

Room Tip: Please choose the Direct Ocean View Room or the Ocean On southside rooms over looking the tennis cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Pamela J,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy this most recent visit due to the condition of the room that you were given and shortcomings received in the service of the staff. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The suites are great and the location is perfect. The hotel was very clean and quiet. Compared to the surrounding hotels this hotel looks newer and in better shape. It was great seeping with the sliding lass door open and listening to the ocean waves crash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I was at this hotel during the off season. The hotel was very clean and accommodating. The staff were excellent. They upgraded me to an ocean view suite which was very nice. The suite was large, clean and it was just perfect. I like holiday non and rarely, with their recent brand improvement, you can't go wrong if you stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#36 of 109 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#2 of 109 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#13 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing