We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a waste of money. Dirty and outdated. Low ceilings in the hallways, so low I could see the water stains and mold in the air vents. Our floor smelled like mold and the floor was uneven. Will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    197
    85
    48
    40
See reviews for
235
153
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had to double check if I am reviewing the same Holiday Inn as these people before me. I can't believe they gave it a 4 -5 stars. I have never seen a hotel this dirty in my life. The carpet is probably from the 1970's. Every day I had to walk on this dirty hallway with low ceiling that is covered with water stein. May be the other reviewers stayed at a renovated floor. I just can't believe we are talking about the same hotel.
The pool is small and ugly . Everything about this hotel is nothing but dirty and dated. The only thing that looks renovated is the exterior wall.
After this experience, I swear I will never never stay in another Holiday Inn again.
You think $350 a night should at least give you something better than what you have at home?
My washroom at home is more up-to-date than this dive. Will never come back again.

Room Tip: There is no good room. Stay Away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was a pleasent family vaccation. They have organized activities for families, or just your kids that you can sign up for in the morning. They have a few extras such as tennis courts and the outside bar that are fun for sure. The place seemed clean and all staff were pleasent. Would highly suggest this for family vaccation. It was also nice that the main boardwalk tourist attraction area was far enough away it wasnt an overcrowded enviiroment but yet if you wanted to visit the boardwalk area it isnt far at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent one night there while at a conference in the motel. The regular double-bed room has a kitchenette in it, a small but clean bathroom, balcony looking out over a beautiful ocean. There is an indoor pool and 2 hot tubs, an outdoor pool, area for hammocks, and a tennis court. Hurricane Sandy brought alot of sand up but it's well cleaned up. The conference area in the motel is very nice. Very good food provided also. I would like to stay there again sometime - especially in the summer instead of November :)

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have a view of the ocean, so would suggest being up on a floor high enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As locals, we enjoy heading over to the beach in the fall and having a mini vacation a few times a year. We have stayed in dives and we have stayed at the Hilton and other premier properties. NOWHERE have we been treated with such care. The staff from the girls at the front desk who helped us with our keys, to the super funny and not creepy mait. guy were great. They were gracious and always had a smile. The hotel was the perfect little escape and we appreciated the relaxed attitude of the hotel. Dawn and Christine made our trip and we are going back soon!!!

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the upper floors, the view is better and the feeling of seclusion is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here a couple of times in the off-season. Prices are great. Great location mid-town. We enjoyed our king ocean view room. Was spacious and clean. Another time we had a 2 double and pull-out ocean view. This worked great for our family fo 5. One of the most favorite things of the kids was the gas fireplace. It was chilly out on our walks, so the fireplace was perfect for when we got back. The only issue I found was that the mattresses were a little uncomfortable, like they need to be replaced. Besides that, we will definitely come again..Maybe we will try it during the summer...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed here as part of an Oct golf pkg. Our room was an oceanfront efficiency,balcony w/ chairs, 2 beds plus a sofa, fireplace & kitchen. (We did not try the fireplace) The beds were comfy but the kitchen & bathroom were 15+Yrs outdated. I can't remember when I last saw a functioning PRINCESS phone! I would love to give this hotel a better rating but they need to update the bathroom, kitchen stove, refrig & the vent in the hall ceiling was hanging by the hinge. The room just needs some major TLC. Due to the time of year we did not use any of the outdoor amenities. However the exercise room was great.
Our 3 course dinner 5-7 pm in the Reflections Dining Room was excellent! And our breakfasts in the grill were very good also. The Harrison Group Golf pkg was terrific.

Room Tip: request an oceanfront room on floors 5 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.