We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hanover PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Our family recently stayed at the hotel for two nights and we had two rooms. Both rooms were very clean. The rooms are nice, we had the south ocean view rooms. These rooms had a gas fireplace in the corner which was a very nice touch and the wall-mounted flat screen TV with DVD player was also a nice modern convenience. The beds, although small since they were doubles in lieu of queens were comfortable and outfitted with decent linens which I believe are standards for Holiday Inn properties now. The rooms were also relatively quiet, little noise could be heard from the hallways and adjoining rooms.

The rooms also had a small kitchenette and they were very small. There was a small table for two, but practically useless since it is right up against the wall and no where really to move or expand it. The kitchennette and bathrooms, although clean and reasonably maintained are showing their age. A revamp to the kitchens and bathrooms would go a long way.

The common areas - lobby, indoor pool, restaurants are all very nice, clean, and well-kept. The outdoor grounds are impeccable and the outdoor pool area with tennis court, pool bar, sundeck, and beach hammocks look like an awesome place to enjoy the sun during the warm months.

We have stayed in many Ocean City properties, including some of the best including the Hilton and Courtyard by Marriott properties. You cannot expect the same level of accomodations at this property, but for the price difference it certainly is a good choice. You can expect a clean and comfortable room and is generally above average when compared to the majority of other lodging choices in OC. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping were all friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    202
    88
    50
    40
See reviews for
242
166
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

In November on a midweek day Ocean City is as dead as it can be. We intended to make a booking at the Holiday Inn Express, but I clicked the wrong hotel and we ended up at the Holiday Inn.
We had a rock bottom rate of less than USD 50.- and therefore could not complain. The bright lobby does not reflect the shabby gangways and the worn out elevators. The room was more or less clean, however the linens and the towels were spotless. The small kitchen in the room did not look fresh and would be too small to prepare any serious food. When I opened the cupboard if found drinking unclean crockery. We did not come for cooking and would have loved to have a room without kitchen, but there was apparently none. More serious was that the shower tap did not function properly, the sliding door of the cupboard fell out from the sliding rails each time we opened it and no prime channels such as HBO were available. A quick fix refurbishing does not make an old hotel new. The internet was slow, even with the low occupancy rate.
We had a bargain. For a higher price, there must be better choices in Ocean City.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

I would recommend to anyone looking for an ocean front hotel for a great location and outstanding personalized service

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Now this may be hard to believe, but anything run by the Harrison Group should be avoided like the plague. This group manages several hotels and restaurants in Ocean City. The are long on promises and terribly short on delivery. We encountered them at several points in our planning. We visited many of their sites. We, like most trusting consumers were stupid enough to believe their sales pitch, accept their "no problem", and enter an agreement with them.

It began innocently enough. We wanted a hotel with access to the beach. Our search led us to quite a few above the Route 90 bridge. After spending a good part of one morning, we had just about decided on one venue and we decided to check with the Oceanfront Holiday Inn. Of course our group was not the largest of the season, but we expected to need between 10 and 15 rooms. The manager took us on a tour of the property, finishing with a visit to the top floor of the Ocean front rooms. There were three of them on the top floor. We wanted a smoking room and were told that these were the only smoking rooms on the Ocean front. The manager said there would be no problem guaranteeing one of the rooms.

Lourdes shared phone calls and emails with the hotel staff regarding prices and how guests would be able to guarantee the promised rate. Things were moving very smoothly. Imagine our shock and surprise when we checked in the Thursday evening before the wedding to discover that the room saved for us was on the second floor and non-smoking. The manager on duty began his corporate trained drone "We can not guarantee any rooms. This is the only room that fits your criteria." We pointed out that it did not fit our criteria and it was not what we were promised. The young man, true to the Harrison Group model of "Kiss my a**, you are here and stuck with what we decide to give you", began repeating the same mantra over and over again. He told us that if we wanted a top floor room, he had one that was overlooking the pool. He gave us a room key and we went a looked. Lourdes allowed that we had no choice but to make the best of the situation but she would only take a room if she could have the end unit.

We returned to the front desk. Friends that had flown in for the wedding were coming in the front door. They waited to check in while Lourdes made her request. The young man replied, "I'm sorry, the end unit is being held for a member of your party." I asked, "How is that possible, you said you did not guarantee rooms." The lad countered with "No sir, you are wrong. I said we could not guarantee specific rooms. The people we are holding it for requested a top floor room." I then asked him if the room he offered and the room he was holding were exactly the same type of rooms, the only difference is one is in the middle of the building and one is at the end of the building." He said "Yes sir, but we are holding the room at the end of the building for a member of your party."

The room was being held for our guests, they stepped up and said they were fine with a room in the middle of the building. We were then given the room at the end of the building. Lourdes then asked "Will we be refunded the difference?" Mr. Harrison Group looked stunned, "No mam, you will not receive a refund. You are not due any money." Lourdes pointed out that the room we were promised and the room we were given were not the same price. She pointed out that we should not be charged the higher rate. The manager looked her in the eye and said "No. You are wrong. You are not due any money." At this point I allowed "Son, you are in over your head, get your boss on the phone." His retort was, "No sir, you are wrong. I have worked for the Harrison Group for several years and I know exactly what I am doing." Lourdes once again tried to point out the error of his ways. He suddenly said "OK, maybe we do owe you a refund."

I will not bore you with the rest of the exchange. It involved the hotel being unable to locate reservations and desk personnel speaking rudely when asked any questions. Maybe the people working for the Harrison Group have a problem dealing with people that actually expect to receive what they were promised.

The day of the wedding, another of our guests decided to eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant (another of the typical Harrison Group establishments). They were seated. A very pleasant mixed race couple and their two daughters. They placed their order and waited. Several groups of golfers came in a placed their orders. (The Harrison Group also brings in golfing groups). The golfers received their meals and paid and left. Our friends were still sitting there. Finally, the mom stood up and walked into the kitchen and told them it was time to bring out their meal...now. She was met with blank stares. Eventually the meals were served, almost an hour after being ordered. Maybe the people working for the Harrison Group have a problem dealing with people that aren't part of the golf package deals.

Our visit came to an end and we began to pack. As I was sitting on the bed, the head board came off and crashed to the floor. Lourdes had her wedding bouquet in a vase and our portion of the wedding cake in a box. I went downstairs to check out and let them know the bed had fallen apart. I stopped in the restaurant and asked the waitress if they had a walk-in refrigerator that we could store the flowers and cake in while we enjoyed on last morning on the beach. She said no problem. I went to the front desk to check out and told them about the bed falling apart. The clerk laughed and said "Oh, you're the newly weds. Don't worry about it."

Lourdes came down with the luggage. I went to put it in the car while she took the flowers and cake to the restaurant. She encountered a different waitress that told her she would have to check with her manager first. She disappeared in the kitchen to find the manager. I came in and Lourdes was still standing there. She told me she would be right back and went back into the kitchen. The waitress that had gone seeking the manager was standing in the kitchen talking on her cell phone. Lourdes asked "I thought you were going to get the manager?" The girl replied "I haven't seen her yet." Lourdes said "you have left me standing out front for 15 minutes, waiting for you to bring the manager." The waitress replied "Look lady, I'm not even on the clock." and turned and walked away. "I am the customer here. You can not treat me like this. I only asked you to do your job." The girl kept on walking. Lourdes picked up the flowers and the cake and came out of the kitchen as angry as I have ever seen her. "Doesn't she know I am the customer and I don't know if she is on the clock or not?"

We left...I don't think we will be back.

Maybe the Harrison Group doesn't have a problem with anyone. Maybe the Harrison Group doesn't care about anything other than lining their pockets. After all, they make money off of tourists and they have their customers by the "short hairs" by the time they show up. It may not put a dent in their business, but it is only fair to warn everyone. This company is horrid and void of any semblance of integrity or customer service.

Room Tip: Pick a hotel managed by someone other than the Harrison Group
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel is great year round; don't get me wrong. In the summer it's the place to stay when you want fun in the sun. The pool bar is their best attraction. However, I was recently in Ocean City for a bike ride and found this hotel to be just PERFECT for off season fun. The indoor pool and 2 hot tubs are great. Not to mention they are open until Midnight. The out door pool is still open if you don't mind the cool fall air. The biggest plus is the hotel is super clean every where you go...the parking lot, hallways, out door areas, pools, even the sand is clean. The staff has to be the best I have experienced at any hotel in Ocean City Maryland. Janitors, Housekeeping, and front desk people were all pleasant, helpful and courteous. Everyone says hello and good morning to you. The rooms have great bedding and mattresses. Bed Bath and Body works shampoo and soaps! Do yourself a favor and book your room here. You are close to everything fun in Ocean City, MD. (Dead Greddies, Seacrets, Fager's Island.)

Room Tip: If the hotel doesn't have any Ocean Front Rooms - you still get a beautiful view of the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We made last minute plans to go to OC over Columbus Day weekend (October). Because of an event in town, there were few hotels available and we wanted oceanfront, so we chose the Holiday Inn on 66th & Coastal HIghway. The hotel is near the entrance/exit to the Route 90 bridge which takes you to/fron Route 50.

The hotel has both southern and eastern facing rooms--go with the eastern rooms--more direct view of ocean and sunrise. Our room, even though large, was in need of updating. There is a kitchenette as you enter the room with a small table for eating. The bathroom is VERY small. Our room had 2 double beds and choice of soft or firm pillows. There is a curtain that you can pull across the width of the room to close off the sitting area. The sitting area had a couch (sofa bed?), TV, DVD, gas fireplace, along with the balcony. Both the carpets and pull curtain needed to be washed!

The term "oceanfront" is a little misleading. First is the tennis & shuffeboard courts, then the outside pool & pool deck, a strip of sand with hammocks, the dunes, THEN the beach/ocean. Look at picutres and you'll see what I mean.

The hotels has 2 restaurants, an indoor pool/hot tub, arcade room, fitness center, conference rooms, and free coffee/tea area (along with fresh fruit in the lobby). There were two parking lots for parking along with street parking.

If I could afford it, I would stay here again in the summer, but the cost of a room ($99/October vs. $300/July) might make me select another less expensive/less ideal location property.

Room Tip: Chose a eastern facing room vs. southern facing room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Excellent location right on the beach, rooms comfortable and moderately priced. Amenities including indoor pool, business center, tennis court, outdoor pool and hammocks add a lot to the value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.