We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but they should not have opened themselves to kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Dunes Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but they should not have opened themselves to kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group for a cheer competition weekend. I really cannot complain much about the room itself, other than we only had one packet of coffee for our whole stay. I figured because it was the off season, they try to save money this way, no big deal. What I did have a problem with, was their problem with children. I had to ask myself, why a hotel like this would open itself to youth cheerleaders when they are so ill equipped to handle children? When you put 20-30 girls ages 7 to 9 in a hotel, you are going to have a certain level of noise. I would not say the girls were excessively noisy, yet we had a rude visit from, I guess the manager. I think the key there is rude, there is no need for rudeness especially when you are approaching a paying guest. The day we checked out, they had a group of older ladies taking a group photo right in front of the entrance to the hotel at checkout time. So, I went out to put our luggage in the car and when I came back I was told I had to wait outside in February while these ladies took a photo. Um, no thanks. Sorry, it is a nice hotel, but they really should not open themselves to families or groups of children. Couples and older folks would probably really enjoy themselves here, which is fine, just not for my family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I'm so sorry to hear that there were issues during your stay. We actually house the cheerleaders every year and have never had a problem but in fact enjoy the fact that they stay with us. Usually if we visit a room it is because we had a complaint. That being said I am sorry if whoever approached you was anything less than professional. If you wouldn't mind we would love for you to call the hotel and speak to our GM to give more details as it does matter to us. We certainly understand if you decide not to come back and stay with us next year, although we are hoping that won't be the case. More than anything we are hopeful that you will give us the opportunity to make sure this doesn't happen again by calling and speaking to the GM. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and we certainly hope that despite the problems you had a good trip to OC. Hope the cheerleaders you were here with did well in the competition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    220
    66
    29
    21
See reviews for
263
218
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed at Dunes Manor for a weekend and it was very nice. I stayed on the second floor and
the bed was comfy, the decor was very nice and everything was as if it was new. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. The pool is a little small but other than that I was very happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review for us. We are glad you got to stay with us and of course the fact that you were happy with your stay fills us with pride. Please come stay with us again next time you come to town. In the meantime we will be looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed there on Feb.21-23 for a cheer competition The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating. Check in and check out went quickly. The hotel was very clean. The rooms were nice but the beds were a little small. They were fine for me because I'm not tall . We were lucky with the weather so we were able to take advantage of the balcony and ocean view. We ate at the Victorian room the food was better than expected .It was a very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for us. We are glad you had a good weekend and hope that your cheerleaders did well in their competition. We did want you to know that for a small additional fee we do have Queen and King size beds available. We realize your bed was comfortable for you but if you know anyone coming back next year that needed a larger bed be sure to have them ask our reservation department if they can pay for a upgrade. It was a great weekend for us too as it was our first weekend of offering specials geared towards your schedule and it seems that went well. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our quilt guild has been holding its retreat at the Dunes Manor Hotel for more than ten years and we have never been disappointed. The staff is always friendly and accommodating; the service is excellent; the activity room, with a view of the ocean, is always set up exactly as we need it; the food is wonderful; our rooms clean and inviting. Needless to say, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are thankful that Quilt Guild has chosen Dunes Manor hotel every year for the last 10 years. It is our honor and privilege to host the event. Thank you so much for taking time to let others know how we are doing. We look forward to your return next year. You can count on us to continue giving you the service you deserve! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My second stay in 30 years and the renovations are remarkable! I stayed here for a weekend convention and service was exceptionally good. Food was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating. This is a fantastic hotel for a vacation, convention or just a weekend get-away! I'd like to give it 4-1/2 stars!

Room Tip: All rooms were renovated since 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thankful that you came back and stayed with us again and that you got to see our wonderful renovations. We are always happy to hear that we fulfilled your needs. We are hopeful that you get to visit again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambrills
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been going to ths hotel for many years,same month around Feb.14th.Always pleasant accommodations.We get the same room every year,very clean.Love the Victorian room for meals don't have to leave the Hotel.Our server Kristen was great.Tea time is always nice.Came in a day early due to snow in our area and it was no problem,very helpful.Quiet ocean view great food.Special shout out to Miles for making our stay special.See ya next year Dunes Manor.

Room Tip: We always get room 207 because has a large deck,but it is a handicap set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Oh Wow thanks for the special shout out to Miles. For those that don't know Miles is our newest team member. He is our Director of Food and Beverage. He is great! He is making the guest experience extra special every where he can and it shows every where including in your review. We will be sure to pass on the shout out. Now back to you and and your stays with us. Thanks so much for coming back to us year after year. We are glad we can be a part just a little part of the many memories you make as you visit us each year. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a wonderful place to book a group function. The quilt guild that I belong to in Lewes, DE, booked a large room for activities. Everything at the hotel was wonderful: pleasant and helpful staff, clean rooms, great food. All rooms had ocean views. Our group is planning to return there next year.

Room Tip: Feedback from others in our party sounded like all accommodations were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are certainly glad that all went well and we definitely look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel

Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.