We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 out of 10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dunes Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dunes Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“9 out of 10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As soon as you step into the Dunes Manor Hotel you're overwhelmed with elegance and beauty and that feeling doesn't leave you. The positives of this hotel: Bellhop, location, cleanliness, atmosphere, view (obviously), fast elevators, friendly staff, restaurant, room service, excellent maid service, and of course the afternoon crumpets and cookies. Negatives (very few): TV needs a little updating, standard rooms are just a bit on the small side, and if you're really reaching the bathrooms could be bigger but overall nothing to deter you from staying here. If you decide to visit Ocean City, the Dunes Manor is surely a top place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    146
    47
    26
    21
See reviews for
159
125
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just had a surprise birthday party at the hotel in the Verrazano room this weekend for my mother, and I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff who helped make this a great party! They worked so hard and catered to our every need. I love the hotel - it is so charming. And yes, the rooms are outdated, but they are so clean. I've stayed in some beautiful resorts where I would have preferred a clean room over the upscale decor. The hotel is in the midst of upgrading every room, and the renovations are planned for a mid-February completion. With that, there can't possibly be any reason to complain about this treasure of a hotel and their wonderful staff! I highly recommend the Verrazano room for gatherings of 50 or so people. It's a beautiful intimate setting looking out on the ocean. Thanks to all the staff who helped make our mom's celebration a truly wonderful night for our guests!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family has been staying in this hotel for years and everytime we stay in it, all the memories flashback. It is almost Victorian-style on the outside. It is very elegant n the inside. Some parts of the building are dated, but that is all overlooked by the lovely lobby. There is a piano at which a person usually plays in the evening and it makes us guests feel at home. The rooms are aging, but it feels like home. This may be a little pricy, but when you stay in a clean room in a nice hotel, you forget about that! It's not for everyone, but you should try this nice hotel out!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you stay in. They all have an Ocean Front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groove City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is really old style Victorian. The staff was nice. The rooms are really old, low ceilings, a lot of rust, small bathroom, etc. however it is clean. The view is excellent, beautiful oceanfront and only one block from the boardwalk (the end of the boardwalk). It is not fitting for a younger couple. The price is not worth it in my opinion.

If you like to have a beautiful oceanfront, with an okay room and old Victorian Style Charm, than this is the place for you.

I will not return only because the rooms needs to be updated and its not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Chapel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Dunes Manor Hotel in Ocean City Maryland for over 25 years. We love the location and the staff has always treated us well. The lobby is inviting and the cozy bar is a relaxing place to visit and enjoy some of the best drinks in O.C. The dining room staff is great as is breakfast. The dinner meals are not as good as years past and the menu lacks imagination. One major area of concern are the condition of the rooms. They are in need of major renovation. Housekeeping does a good job but the bathrooms are old and in fair to poor condition. The TV's date back to years gone by. The beds are not comfortable and the worn sheets do not always fit. Management needs to heed this and other similar reviews and revive the Dunes Manor back to what was the best place to stay in Ocean City. We want to return!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Always interesting when writing a review, your perspective depends on what you want. If you want an updated, new high tech oceanfront hotel in Ocean City with an oceanside pool; this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for old fashioned elegance. Quiet and want to sit on the porch in a rocking chair drinking your coffee in the morning or iced tea in the afternoon this is the hotel for you. I go off season, during the week, to the Dunes Hotel to chill. It is so relaxing and comforting. I have always found it clean. But realistically it is an older hotel and it shows but in my opinion that is part of its elegance.

Room Tip: You can watch sunrise over the ocean from the oceanfront rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recently stayed for the wine fest. I am never disappointed at Dunes Manor and have stayed here several times in the past 15 years. I love the family orientation, exceptional cleanliness, and friendly hospitality. Will definitely reserve for next year as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel

Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Ocean City
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.