We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay her !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royalton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royalton Hotel to your Saves list
The Royalton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 North Atlantic Ave., 11th Street & Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay her !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is awful. The staff do not care. The rooms I can't even begin. Just save yourself all the time in the world and never come here. You're better off sleeping outside then in this disgusting mess

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    2
    55
See reviews for
28
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Older property on the boardwalk at 11th st. Clean cheap accommodations with a million dollar ocean front view. Not the Hilton but the view is like no other. If u want a standard beach economy place with a great location and phenomenal views this is your place

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I don't know if things changed since the last (and only) time I stayed here, but the last time I stayed, my grandpa went out onto the balcony and found chicken bones everywhere! It was disgusting. The room was cramped as well! Some of us had to get showers to wash the sand off our feet and the sand remained in the shower since it wouldn't go down the drain.
Would NOT stay here again after all that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there you have to sign up for room service can you believe that . The people where nasty and rude . No parking rooms are so nasty and cramped . I hated it the shower was so small no soap or towels I had to use my own beach towels to dry my self offt

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last summer with our 1 year old. it was a bit tight but for the money it was GOOD! Location is perfect and it is not dirty or anything. we are thinking of coming back this summer. The shower was small and there was not much total room but the deck was soo BIG. the beds were not horrible but space was our biggest concern. we are thinking about the first or second floor this year tho cus no elevator.mafe all our crap going to the third floor a bit MUCH.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

So I went for the weekend and I stayed here because I was only staying for one night and All the other hotels i called wanted us to stay for two nights. Well the hotel is in bad shape the rooms are very tiny you can barely walk in there! first of all the bathroom was not clean and also the beds! I would prefer paying at least 50 dollars more than staying in that place again! don't waste your money staying at this place it's horrible! The only thing I liked was the view from the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Do not stay here! This was by far the worst room I have ever stayed in. We had paid $109.00 a night for a room that I had to clean and change the sheets myself before I even felt comfortable enough to stay in. First thing I checked was the beds… hair was on the sheets and when I removed the dirty sheets I had found pieces crumbled ceiling tiles under the sheets!!! After walking to the desk down 3 flights of stairs I was given new sheets to change on my own and was told to bring down the dirty sheets. The room also did not look like it has been vacuumed in weeks. The comforter was stained with what looked like blood and defiantly not been washed in quite a while. I would not even put it on the floor to walk on!! The whole building was rundown with a few exceptions that looked like an inexperienced and cheap remodeling job. The best thing about this hotel was the outside which was recently resided with pink vinyl siding and they had also added balconys to some of the rooms.

This hotel advertizes that it has a pool. It does not have a pool the hotel across the street has a pool. You must return your one and only key to your room to the front desk to receive a key to the door of the hotel across the street. This is a huge inconvenience if someone from your group wanted to stay at the pool or go somewhere else they could not get the room key back until you return the pool key. Also, if you lose the one and only key they will charge you a $100.00 fee.

At checkout I had asked the women at the desk if they are planning on remodeling the rooms and she had said not anytime soon. So I defiantly would not recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royalton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royalton Hotel

Address: 1101 North Atlantic Ave., 11th Street & Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royalton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royalton Hotel is centrally located ocean front in the middle of the fun, excitement and swimming of Ocean City's beach and boardwalk. Head right to the beach just a few steps from your room or admire a breathtaking view of the beach, boardwalk and ocean from the hotel's shared balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Royalton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royalton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.