We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunfest Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Aberdeen, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunfest Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is on the boardwalk. We enjoyed the view from the deck. We had a great view of the fireworks. We plan to visit this hotel again. The location was close to all the events. The staff was friendly. The only problem we had was the parking lot. The lot was being used for the Sunfest and they were double and triple parking the cars. The parking attendants did assist us with getting out and we appreciated that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
56
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was clean upon check-in, which was nice. Nice view. Small room, but no biggie. However, housekeeping progressively got worse during our stay (3 nights). After our 1st night, housekeeping forgot to remove dirty wash clothes, leave a new bath mat, leave more shampoo/soap/conditioner & remove used soaps (personal preference). The following day we had the same issues, plus our friend's room didn't get serviced at all. They had their 'do not disturb' sign on the door until 9am, but when we asked at the front desk at 12pm, they told us all housekeepers were gone for the day so they couldn't have anyone service the room. When we asked for towels, the front desk made us go get our dirty stuff, bring it down and only THEN were we given new stuff. An issue with stealing, they said. No pool towels; those were stolen. And when I asked where the pool was, I was told it might not be open. "There was talk about closing it during bike week, but if the gate's unlocked, it's open." So....you have no idea if your pool is open? Thanks. Also, by the last day, they ALMOST made our beds. It was so poorly done, I at first thought it wasn't done at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just got back from ocean city. We stayed at the Atlantic Hotel again. The hotel was once again clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. We have stayed there for years and will continue to do so. You can't beat the price and the location is great. We recommend the hotel to our friends. The hotel isn't fancy but we are always comfortable. We recommend you give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our first stay at the Atlantic. Hotel feels more like a Bread & Breakfast. Friendly staff and a big
thank you to Denise and Teneka for making our stay very enjoyable. Location and view from the
deck make this hotel a great choice. Keep up the good work and we'll see you next year.

Room Tip: Call ahead and select a room with Closet, Tub/shower, Frig/Microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

In my opinion the hotel can easily be summed up by "Old but clean". This is the oldest hotel in Ocean City, but it has been updated. It doesn't have all the things many have come to expect in modern hotels (i.e. in-room safes, blow-dryers, electronic key-cards, irons and ironing boards already in the room) but it has all the basics of a hotel at the beach. Due to the age of the hotel and them having to remodel to add things like bathrooms in every room, every room has a different layout and amenities.

Advantages -
* Hotel is on the boardwalk, practically right across from Ripley's Believe It or Not. Can't get much closer to the end of the boardwalk.
* Room was very clean. Excellent job both cleaning between guests and every day. Considering this is a hotel on the beach, that isn't an easy job. Can tell by the wear in the sheets, blankets, etc. that they are washed often. From what I hear they totally strip the beds between guests.
* Low cost for in-season hotel rooms.
* Love the balcony overlooking the boardwalk.
* Large free parking lot right in the middle of downtown OC. Only one parking space per room, but still nice compared to others in the area.

Disadvantages -
* Lots of steps. Building is 4 floors. Rooms with only 2 digits in their number are on parking lot level. There are no rooms on lobby/boardwalk level (at least that I saw). 3 digit numbers starting with 1 and 2 are actually the 3rd and 4th level from parking lot respectively. They do have an elevator but due to its age it must be operated by hotel staff. They are more then willing to run it for you, but unless you are handicapped plan on only using it for bringing luggage to and from your room.
* Would be nice if they wiped down the seagull droppings on the railing on the balcony overlooking the boardwalk at least once a day.
* They claim beds are queen size, but smallest queen beds I have seen. Seemed to be full size. Looked for labels on bed and can't remember exact brand but it was either "Sealy" or "Serta". Label didn't list the size.
* Hallway noise. The doors are old and noisy to open and close. Every room has two sets of doors since the doors pre-date air conditioning. So there can be lots of noise when large groups of people are going in and out of their room. We brought ear plugs, but it never got so noisy that we needed them.

Other then that the only problems we had were that our room had no closet and only a shower so hanging wet things up was very difficult. Every room is different so some rooms have closets, some don't. Every room has its advantages and disadvantages. Some will feel that being on the top floor is a disadvantage due to steps, other will like it because of less noise. Some will like having rooms closer to the boardwalk, others will prefer farther away.

One nitpick that we had is that there aren't enough no-smoking signs in the building so people realize they aren't supposed to be smoking in rooms/hallways. For the first part of our stay, the hallway in front of our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The room itself was fine and after whatever guest was doing it checked out, things were fine and the hotel itself isn't totally responsible for its guests but we only saw one no-smoking sign and it was in the stairwell, so we would understand if guests didn't realize you aren't supposed to smoke inside in Maryland hotels.

All in all a great trip and a nice hotel. We will most likely stay here again unless the private rental condo we usually stay in opens up again for non-family rentals.

Room Tip: When making room reservations be real specific about what you need, every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in another hotel which was so bad that my husband and I were ready to pack up and go home. After we saw the Atlantic from the boardwalk we decided to see if they had any rooms available. We walked in and spoke with Teresa at the front desk. She was so warm and friendly and genuinely concerned about us. She offered us a room and even let us go upstairs and look at it ( because we were traumatized by previous hotel!!) before we paid for it.
Let me say that I am in the hotel business and see all types of hotels in my days at work. From 2 star to 5 star. The Atlantic was by far the cleanest hotel I have seen! They have kept the charm but still have updated and made it very comfortable.
Tammy in housekeeping made sure our room was ready quickly. We checked in at 11:30 after moving from the other hotel. She went above and beyond and even recommened a room for next years trip.
In the 2 days we spent here everyone was friendly, which is really hard to find these days. We spent alot of time talking with another employee there name Mr. C. What a wonderful man! He talked with our son and spent some time talking about his own son, it is so refreshing to see happy people.
My only regret is that we would of found this hotel years ago. What a wonderful place! Thanks for saving our vacation, see you next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is the 3rd year in a row staying at the Atlantic. Once again we were very pleased with our stay. The location is great and we really enjoy the roof top deck, the view is great. The price is good compared to other hotels and chain hotels on the boardwalk. The front lobby has alot of charm and is very clean. Talked to other guests who were repeat guests of the hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list