We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find near Deep Creek Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak and Apple, B&B

The Oak and Apple, B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oak and Apple, B&B
Save Saved
You added The Oak and Apple, B&B to your Saves list
208 North Second Street, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Oakland B&B and Inns
Arlington, Va
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Find near Deep Creek Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a delightful anniversary weekend at The Oak and Apple B&B. The victorian house sits back on a beautiful treed lot and street. I loved the sound of church bells in the evening breeze. The house and our rooms were comfortable, cozy and well appointed. Brenda and John were knowledgeable hosts recommending weekend activities, especially the stained glass artisit, and special places to eat. They shared our passion for Civil War history and medical practices (John is an expert), and period literature. They are both expert cooks and breakfast was wonderful. The crustless quiche is excellent and they were more than happy to share the recipe. We hope to go back in the winter for cross country skiing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I felt at home the minute we walked in the door! In fact, I felt like I was visiting with old friends just from the emails and phone calls to confirm our reservation. John and Brenda have done everything right, from the food to the rooms. The house is beautifully decorated and sits among other gorgeous homes, close to fine dining and shopping. Breakfast was amazing - Brenda even shared her recipes with us - and served to accommodate our schedule for the rest of the day. We have already put our names on a waiting list (yes - they are so popular that folks are willing to wait to make a return visit!) for the fall. Thanks for a wonderful time and we can hardly wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

John and Brenda know the real meaning of hospitality. We felt almost like family in our own home. It is apparent that this is simple not just a "business" to them but also a joy. From the detailed welcome to the beautiful and DELICIOUS breakfast everything surpassed our expectations.

The location is ideal for the cost and it was worth every penny! The recommendations were great too, good selections of local interest.

All in all, a wonderful weekend trip!!

S&K Hill

  • Liked — I liked how relaxing it was and waking up to the fabulous breakfast!
  • Disliked — we were told in advance but we didn't have an attached bathroom, but we didn't share w/ any other guests either.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at this beautiful Victorian B&B in Oakland, Maryland following a whitewater rafting trip we took on the nearby Upper Youghiogheny River and had a very nice experience. The room was comfortable and clean, and aside from a volunteer fire call in the middle of the night, very quiet. Innkeepers John and Brenda were both friendly and helpful, and breakfast was excellent - served on their garden porch off the side of the house. The house itself is a marvelous Victorian that has been completely restored and is just beautiful. The neighborhood is quiet and a block or two off of the main street in Oakland. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable, clean. Not too far from Deep Creek attractions.
  • Disliked — Volunteer Fire call in the middle of the night.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oak and Apple, B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Apple, B&B

Address: 208 North Second Street, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak and Apple, B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.