We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Save
You added Will O' the Wisp to your Saves list
20160 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Louisville, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My family has been to snowshoe West Virginia for years in the wintertime for ski trips. After a few bad (overpriced and overcrowded) years we decided to try something different. Will O the Wisp was excellent and we wished we would have started coming here sooner. We rented a full 3 story unit lakeside toward the center of the building and it was perfect. Nice beds and couches. Kitchen was smallish but good enough to put together a nice dinner the few times we didn't go out. I cant remember the unit number but you get to it from the level connected to the upper parking lot.

The pool was immaculate. The dual level hot tub was awesome for the adults.

The hotel was only a few minutes from Wisp resort and we were also pleasantly surprised at how nice that ski resort is. Highly recommend for even moderate to upper level skiers.

I think the biggest thing we took away from staying there is that it felt more "down to earth", less crowded, and cleaner than the highly commercialized Snowshoe. I think everyone enjoyed themselves a lot more there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westport Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Made reservations and the place sounded wonderful....views, fireplace in the room, etc
We were "put" in the "annex", in an adjacent motel that was dreadful. No view, no blinds, and basically, depressing. The Will O the Wisp does not serve breakfast or lunch...we traveled 13 miles to find a diner....We did not try the pool nor the other amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

A reviewer just mentioned this - and it's true - each condo has a different owner and you don't know what you're going to get. Ours (#505) was a bit rundown (fine for a beach vacation) and smelled of smoke (not good with kids). We called the front desk and they said the ionizer will take it out. If they in fact did it, we couldn't tell the difference. Beds were terrible.
Pool and hot tub are nice - but don't expect the towel rack to ever have a towel on it. Beach is great, view is beautiful and location on the lake is ideal. If you can look past the no-frills and aged units, it's a decent place for a lake vacation. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Really depends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

While the location of the condo and views of the lake are spectacular make sure to check out the units you are looking to rent before you book. They are individually owned and each condo has a different style of decorating, many not updated in years. Our recent stay in Unit 310 was disappointing. The furniture was missed matched and well worn, the carpets were soiled, especially in the stairway, doors did not close properly and they all showed evidence of pet scrathes along the bottoms, patio and closet doors were all off track and the appliances were a throwback to the seventies. Our dishwasher did not work and after a service call from maintainance it leaked water all over the kitchen floor. After a second request for service yielded the same results. Given the asking rental price of $1900 a week, upgrades or higher level of comfort should be a given. On the positive side, we have stayed in the loft units on the 7th floor and have found a greater sense of pride taken by the owners. The desk and service staff are very good and helpful given the conditions of the units. The Four Seasons restaurant offers an excellent menu and the bar area is very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We spent the first weekend in May here and it was very nice. Had the studio with the loft and it felt like you were sleeping in the clouds. Great view of the lake. The trees were not out yet so we could still see the lake. Later on in the summer it would have been blocked. The pool and hot tubs were great. The place has been around for a while now and it is showing it's age. The sandy beach area is getting smaller. The condo was very nice for two people and the spiral staircase would not be good for older guests. It was very nice to sit on the balcony and have your morning coffee and look at the lake. It is also close to some good eating places if you don't care to eat on site. The movie theater is also just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My group of friends (in our late 20's) go on an annual ski trip every year. After staying at ski in-out condos at Snowshoe WV (Powderridge Townhomes) a few years and feeling like we were getting gouged we decided to try somewhere else. We were all glad we tried Will O Wisp and I cant stress enough how much better our trip was staying there. We got a three level condo. It had a real fireplace, two bathrooms, a kitchen with dishwasher, and nice beds. It looked like all the units had views of the lake. The pool and bi level hot tub was immaculately clean and not a madhouse. HUGE difference from the nasty hot tubs at Snowshoe Split Rock pool. It's about a 5 minute drive to the Wisp Resort where the skiiing is.

There's a restaurant attached to the building called the Four Seasons. The food was great, and we didn't have to wait forever. The Salmon Rockefeller is to die for. FYI This was a HUGE difference from eating at Snowshoe restaurants where you have to bribe the waitress to be seated and then you get a so so overpriced meal.

There was a bar in the lobby of the restaurant where we hung out one night. It was a pretty laid back atmosphere.

There's even a racquetball court right down the hall where we played a few games. One of the girl's in our group didn't want to ski and worked out in the weight room and said all the equipment was really nice.

Case in point, we will not be returning to Snowshoe Mountain and have already planned to return to Will O Wisp next year. If you go, request a unit towards the center of the complex so you can get a full view of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrett county
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

My husband and I always stay at Will O the Wisp. We have been going there since 1999. We wanted to have our Wedding there but the place was already booked. The views are amazing.
A family owned business since 1975 that's amazing these days. We thorougly enjoyed the pool and fitness center. We dined at the Four Seasons Dining Room the two nights we were there. Delicious food and scruptious desserts. A young friendly staff. We really enjoyed the manager of the Lounge and Hosts.
We recommend this resort and have already booked our stay for ski season .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will O' the Wisp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.