We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Save
You added Will O' the Wisp to your Saves list
20160 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
pittsburgh, pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pretty nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed in the loft room #8 and was very impressed with the condo! I was very clean with a great view. The kitchen was complete with a coffee maker and coffee. There were spiral stairs to the loft which just included the bedroom, but the view was great. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. No fireplace, but that's fine because it was summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at this resort mid-week, Monday through Friday. Some of the reviews here had me worried but we had no problems at all. The staff were friendly and very helpful to guide us to the area's attractions. Each condo unit is individually owned. Ours was a little dated but was VERY clean and comfortable. The balcony had nice views of Deep Creek Lake and had a chaise lounge and small table with two chairs.

The resort's amenities were great! A warm indoor pool, two level hot tub, game room, exercise room, racquetball court aside from being right on the water! The kids were always entertained!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Deep Creek Lake is perfectly delightful, particularly during peak winter and summer seasons. The staff at the WoW are simply fabulous and our condo had just been remodeled spectacularly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

It was beautiful and the location was great, but the cleaniness was somewhat to be desired. The staff was good and the room itself was lovely, but when I entered the bathroom the shampoo was half empty and the conditioner was empty. The shower seemed somewhat dirty and I almost felt like I was using a public restroom. The mattresses were so thin and old that when you laid down you could feel the springs. It was probably good 10 years ago, but a new mattress was badly needed. I had such a hard time sleeping. I don't think I be back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Remember the harvest gold appliances of the seventies? Well we found 'em again -- rusting out in the condo we rented at Will 'O the Wisp. Units are individually owned, so I assume that some units actually have been updated within the last 40 years. The unit we had was less than acceptable. The concrete hallways reminded me of my college dorm. Soundproofing is nonexistent. Patio doors sliding open and closed sound like thunder. I could clearly hear the thump, thump, thump from the racquetball court, which kept my small children awake until after 10. If that's not enough to ruin a parent's weekend...we found a used needle in the parking lot. I rate this "condo-tel" only slightly above a complete dump because the staff was friendly.

  • Liked — nice view
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

My fiance and I stayed here in January 2007 and we loved it! We had a HUGE condiminium overlooking the lake. You walked in to the living room that had two double doors leading out onto a balcony, there was a real fireplace with wood supplied and a couch. To the left there was a decent sized kitchen. All the basics were supplied and all plates, cups etc too.

You then went upstairs and there was a fairly big bathroom to the left and a HUGE bedroom at the end of the corridor, with floor to ceiling windows. There was a balcony in here also that you could see down into the living area. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and everything was clean.

We did not eat in the restaurant, so we cannot comment on the food but we did eat in an italian restaurant just around the corner which was very reasonably priced.

We love the deep creek area and try and get down there once a year. We have been back since our stay at will o the wisp, but stayed in a little cottage in the woods. I'm sure we will go back to this hotel though as we enjoyed every minute of it.

I would certainly recommend it to all :)

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We just returned from spending a week in a condo at the Will O Wisp Resort in Deep Creek Lake, MD. The condo had just been renovated and was perfect for our needs. The resort has a wonderful indoor pool and hot tub. The majority of the staff were friendly with the exception of the staff in their restaurant. We had made a reservation because we had a party of 10. Once we were seated, the waitress approached and belligerently stated "I assume you all are having the pasta buffet?" Her behavior left us wondering what we had done. When I spoke with the manager as we left, he basically excused her behavior because he had to "beg her" to take our table because everyone was so busy. I also left a message to speak with the hotel manager but he never returned my call. Although the food was good, it certainly put a damper on our evening. One morning, our friends went down for breakfast and waited 20 minutes before being waited on.
Basically a great place to stay but explore the other restaurants in the area.

  • Liked — Our condo had just been renovated
  • Disliked — The service in the restaruant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will O' the Wisp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.