We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but strangers can get in the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Save Saved
You added Will O' the Wisp to your Saves list
20160 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Oakland
Nottingham, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great view but strangers can get in the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in a 7 th floor room with a great view of the lake. It was a nice room but needed some updating. At 10 pm strangers were able to enter our room through an inner door that was left unlocked by the staff. It was very disturbing and when I complained the next morning I was told sorry about that. I got no response from an email about the problem. So while it was a nice room it felt sketchy to me that something like that happened.

Room Tip: stay on the 7 th floor for a good view. Make sure all inner doors are locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We made reservations here based on Trip Advisor reviews and price. We had reserved one room and I asked at check in if we could view a unit with a different floor plan. I was told none of those units were available. I was presented 2 giant brass room keys that seemed to weigh a pound each. Our unit, which had been recently "updated" was clean and livable, but far from updated unless you consider the new bathroom vanity. The loft bedroom offers very little room or privacy. Granted we did not use any of the amenities this resort needs some TLC.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have stayed in just about every style condo over the years - this time a studio loft (#709). It was very nice, clean & cozy. Decorated with photos of the travels of the owners and a few family photos. I liked that very much - made it seem much friendlier. Great indoor pool and outdoor beach area. I will stay here again-- loved it!!

Room Tip: All condos have balconies overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

no problems. like this place. stayed two days. great location. clean quiet. had a loft # 709 very nice felt like a home not a room. loved the photos in our loft. loved sitting on the balcony great views. nice little beach and boat dock. lovely swimming pool and hot tubs with cool water feature very relaxing. swollow falls state park is a must. will go back soon i hope.

Room Tip: room # 709 a loft on the 7th floor was perfect for me and my girl carol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We just left a three night stay and enjoyed staying here. I originally booked only one night after reading the reviews but once we got there we booked two more nights. Yes, an update is needed especially on the outside of the building, but we had a loft condo which was quiet, very clean and comfy. It was nice to have everything I needed to cook breakfast in the morning as I am gluten free and usually have trouble finding decent places to eat ---which brings me to the restaurant. We had a lovely meal the first night. A little pricey, but included dessert which we brought back to our room for later. They understood my dietary restrictions and checked with the chef to be sure I had a safe meal. It was deliciious. On Wednesday night we went back for "pasta mania". For $14.50 per person you get a salad and all the pasta you want. You chose your ingredients and it is prepared right in front of you. AND they had gluten free pasta! Just be aware it is crowded and reservations are recommended. I would recommend a trip to Will O' the Wisp,

Room Tip: Loft was nice for a couple but also had a Murphy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent 6 nights here over course of couple weeks on business. What a nice refreshing break from business concerns to look out over the lake and enjoy the quiet atmosphere.
Room decor varies quite a bit, as many units are individually owned/furnished, but both units were clean and comfortable, with all that I needed.

Room Tip: I selected a Loft Bedroom unit on the 7th floor, which was more than spacious enough for me and prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a great place for families. The cost of a multi-bedroom condo is reasonable, and it comes with a full kitchen. Unlike renting a house on the lake, you have an indoor pool and hot tub. Very nice.

It is clean and functional with great views of the lake. We brought our pontoon boat and docked it right there. It was lovely.

I agree with the other reviews that the condos could use updating - but frankly, with a young family, I loved that I didn't have to worry about new carpet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will O' the Wisp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.