We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for week long or overnight getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Deep Creek

Save Saved
You added Inn At Deep Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn At Deep Creek
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   19638 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book 2 Nights, Get 1 Free
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oakland
Ft. Lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for week long or overnight getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is amazing. Rustic but modern updated rooms with fireplace in scenic mountains, the perfect overnight romantic getaway. Sherri the Innkeeper was above and beyond helpful for great breakfast recommendation and expressed concerned for my arrival as we were driving through a storm. When we got there they had a log and matches for the fireplace. It was right next to the grocery store an the room had all the amenities, fridge, freezer, microwave and kuerig. The bed was amazing. We were given the executive king suite with a fireplace. My advice splurge. The soaps were even amazing philosophy. I could not even express how amazed I am at how wonderful and relaxing this stay was. I will definitely be coming back. Soon hopefully

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
58
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We brought the family up for a ski weekend at Wisp (I'm the faculty advisor for a local collegiate ski team), including our family dog, a 4 month old Newfoundland. The Inn was a good value. We stayed in a double queen room with fireplace. It was a bit cramped for all of us and ski gear (2 adults, a HS senior, and 2 grade schoolers), but the room itself was quite spacious compared to the average hotel room. The kitchenette has a large emphasis on the "ette" part, but did include a fridge, sink and microwave, which was enough to store/prepare the picnic lunches for the ski lodge, and the duraflame only fireplace was a nice touch to the chilly mornings. There was a group of younger folks partying next door one night, but overall, it was OK. The pet friendly policy was really nice, and overall, we'd stay again on a trip to Deep Creek from DC.

Room Tip: If you're a large scale coffee drinker, be advised that they have the Keurig systems in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I think we started a new family tradition, to go to Deep Creek Lake for Christmas.
The location of the Inn at Deep Creek was perfect.
Very good restaurants in very close proximity, an excellent 24hr convenience store next door, closest hotel to Deep Creek State Park.
The requirement for us was that they accepted dogs. Most of the rooms have exterior access, and one of the 3 rooms we had was with a fireplace.
It was perfect for our needs. Not fancy, but perfectly practical and clean.
Great stay, nice staff.
Will recommend with great pricing, and excellent location.
We had a small group of family and friends.
Comfortable beds. I have sciatica, and the beds were excellent.
We didn't seek any fitness center nor need any room service so we didn't know it existed.
Wisp Ski resort nearby, beautiful lake with lots of access and boat rental nearby. and wonderful mountain hiking
The phones for the rooms didn't work, but then we all have cell phones.

Room Tip: The A-Frame rooms at the ends of the hotel have fire places. Fully handicap accessible. Other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

But I just didn't. We booked this stay after reading the reviews here. For those thinking of booking, both the positive and negative reviews are accurate, if that makes sense. To further explain, let me give you details.

In fairness, we did stay here two nights over the holiday, Dec. 23 & Dec. 24, so they likely had part-time people on duty.

The good news: we stayed in the king studio and were very impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness. We also loved the public areas, beautifully decorated with trees and leather chairs and couches.

Personally, we found the breakfast sandwiches, coffee and juices plentiful and a nice treat. This is NOT a B&b, so we were pleased with the perk.

The resort was also fairly quiet though there were a good number of young families there.

The bad news. We booked a room with a full kitchen and while everything was well stocked, we were disappointed several basics (an extra dish towel, a kitchen trash can, oven mitts) were missing.

We don't want to get anyone in trouble, but we were also disappointed to be gone all day and not have the room refreshed when we returned. We alerted the housekeeper (this was about 4 pm or so) and she did come over. We left for a bit and returned to find the room refreshed but our door open/unlocked.

This just seemed like a place that needed some TLC, especially on a holiday.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask how you will enter your room ie thru the lobby or a private entrance. Some of the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was at the inn for a conference that lasted 3 days. The staff at the Inn were very accomodating in all our needs for our meetings. Sheri went out of her way to make sure all the attendees needs were taken care of. I had a large suite on the second floor that was very comfortable. It was so relaxing taking a break and sitting by the lake right behind the property. The little town/village had a very cozy feel to it. It is definitely a relaxing place to go in the winter, but i am sure the summer months get lively with lots of lake activities. The lobby of the property is wonderful, infact that is where we had our meetings. There are fireplaces, lots of sitting area and a few flat screen tvs, to catch up on sports or news.

Room Tip: Make sure you check weather conditions if traveling in the winter. It can go from mild to pretty co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here on our return from the Smoky Mountains driving home to NY. This was a bit out of the way but we don't typically like interstate chain hotels and the reviews were good. Maybe because we were traveling with a dog we did not get a room on par with the king suite that I expected (and I am not picky, just the price paid I thought the room would be nicer). The room was very small and the heater kicked on and off every 15 minutes all night long making a loud noise each time. There was nothing exceptional about this room to make it any more appealing than a room along the interstate for considerably less money. That being said, the room was clean, bed comfortable, and the area beautiful. Probably a better summer destination when the local amenities make the room and sleeping accomodations less relevant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to this inn and we could not be happier with the accomodations. The room was very clean and large for my wife and our west highland terrier. All of the employees greet you and are very kind. The heater is very quiet and efficient. We would recommend this beautifull inn to anyone during anytime of the year.

Bob, Tina and Gracie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn At Deep Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Deep Creek

Address: 19638 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At Deep Creek 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Other hotel features include a large lakeside grilling area with picnic tables and grills, a large outdoor heated pool (available May through September), a private beach with boat slip (seasonal day use), and a 2nd-floor community balcony with gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn At Deep Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Deep Creek Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Deep Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.