We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boardroom Motel

Boardroom Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardroom Motel
Save
You added Boardroom Motel to your Saves list
12678 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Oakland B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I was with my team traveling for a soccer tornument in west virginia. When I got to the motel it looked sketchy from first sight. The first night I stayed everything was fine, although my teamate a few rooms down said he had stains on his bed sheets. The next day I got new towels, and only one large towell was clean. Every other towell had stains all over or instead of being white, the towell was brown. My room often smelled like smoke (I am not a smoker). A buddy in another room had his heater catch on fire. Smoke started coming out and sparks were spewing from the vent. Luckily he unplugged it before anything tragic happened. Bottom line, DON'T GO. Worst motel I've ever been to. The Mexican was good though, that was really the only plus side to staying in the board room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Exhausted from driving 7 hours, we were approaching Oakland, Maryland and started searching and calling motels, inns, etc. Everywhere we called we were rebuffed with our dog! Finally, called the Boardroom and they said yes. What a mistake. Inexpensive but that should have warned us. $55 for us. $25 for the dog. On a huge strip mall in an ugly section of the town. No ice machines. You have to go next door to the Mexican restaurant with your ice bucket. Two double beds, bedspreads questionable (took off, obviously), carpet questionable (couldn't pull that up!), basically the whole place really, really questionable. The only reason we stayed was the hour and our exhaustion. A real dive. Don't go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We got into town late @ 9:30 pm and almost all motels were taken. We found this one and called the number on the door since they had left for the night. He came in a timely manner and we got two doubles, flat screen TV, very big bathroom. Microwave and small fridge. All in all a nice place. We paid $80 which was better than Comfort Inn up the road or Oak-Mar closer to town. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom in middle and had no noise problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrett
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stay in Oakland all the time and at several diffrent places. The Boardroom Motel has always treated me well and they do eveything to accomadate my traveling needs. I have read the other commets on here and all I can say is there are some bad customers out there and maybe these sites should check them out before they allow them to post info without the whole story. My opion is that it is a great place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

I stayed there with my boyfriend while he was working.. while he was at work I would stay in the room the woman would not collect the garbage or bring us clean towels. Everytime I went to the desk it was closed and there was no one to be found. I wouldn't reccomend it. The rooms are little and the service sucked. The only good part is the Mexican restaurant next door. And they never have any parking. So good luck if you stay there they need new employees.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I come to Oakland, Md. every couple of months for bussiness and have stayed at all the local motels in the last couple of years. I spend 14 days of a month on the road staying in little motels like this one. I think this motel is above standards and for as cheap the rates are you can't get any better. The rooms are simple and clean and the staff is always welcoming...even during the worst snow storm I was caught in last January. I drove a extra 40 miles to get to this motel, because everyone else was closed. The lot was cleared and the room was warm and waiting for me. There is one more thing I need to add. You've got to try the Mexican food connected to the motel. Good Food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Needed an inexpensive room in town but near everything and found it at the board room. Best rates in Oakland (that i could find). Friendly employees, clean rooms, comfy bed. Next time in Oakland i will stay there for sure !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardroom Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardroom Motel

Address: 12678 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardroom Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.