We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center
Save
You added Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center to your Saves list
16766 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Oakland B&B and Inns
Royse City, Texas, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I brought my boyfriend here after a friend recommended it , We actually stayed in the same room that they had. Mariel was awesome and we met her dog Chloe who is a very sweet black lab. We went to brendas pizza and had the white pizza the best . Watched movies, that are available in the libraary to take to your room and enjoyed the snow that was falling outside of our window. We are smokers and there is a beautiful wrap around poarch that we were able to use . The Sauna was awesone after a day of skiing and so waas the 2 person jacuzzi tub in our room . We will definatly be back . hopefully soon ! Thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful place !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed at Haley Farm B&B in the past for our anniversary. This time we were disappointed. This place was once so wonderful. The innkeeper Mariel is very nice and very helpful. (We did miss Bobbi and Pete) It is the B&B itself. It needs to be updated. Have stayed at many B&B which offer more for the cost and are more updated. The fireplaces are very difficult to light. Spoke with other guests and all have had the same problem. Luckly Mariel is very talented and able to light them all. Older bulky tv. The inn needs to be refreshed. Old and outdated items. With some sprucing up and new items this place could once again be great. The grounds are nice to walk through...even in the snow. We were accompanied by a wonderful black dog who was very sweet. There are two cats that live outside also. Unfortunately the dog was barking most of the night and we had trouble sleeping. With some upgrades and new items this B&B could be the place to go but I cannot recommend it now at the prices that are being charged.

Room Tip: I think a room with the two person jacuzzi could be a better bet. Maybe some new matresses and couc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabkam, Owner at Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your past loyalty. We thought we did eveything we could to accomodate you. You booked a suite in the carriage house and then wanted to stay in the main B&B. There were three of you and we only charged you for one room, even though you had two rooms. I feel we bent over backwards to accomodate you and so feel a little betrayed by this review.
Most of the rooms have flat screen TVs, but a couple don't. However you were in the commom sitting room most of the evening and that room has a 42inch flat screen TV. We have Direct TV in all the rooms, although I dont think that most guests come to the Deep Creek Lake area to watch TV.
I appreciate your advice about the furniture and will certainly bear it in mind. As for the dog barking: Chloe the innkeeper's dog, sleeps indoors and so it could not have been her that you heard barking at night. I apologise if it disturbed you but it was not coming from us or anything under our control, and we did not hear anything that kept us awake. Again I am sorry you didn't have a wonderful time, or see fit to tell us anything while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great time in the Deep Creek area. There is plenty of snow fun to be had at the WISP ski resort. The tubing was fast and fun!
The Master Suite - McHenry -had plenty of room, a nice fire place ( make sure the In keeper shows you how to light it-these gas ones are tricky - but are safe ), and was very comfortable.
Breakfast filling and tasty!
Highly recommend, any season, that you try this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we didnt have the oppurtunity to spend the night however my fiance recieved a massage and she cant say nothing but her back feels marvelous. And for the rates of the massage and facial who can complain. the innkeepers are very friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Positives of our stay: Friendly and accommodating innkeeper; Food was great; Mini-suite was comfortable with lot's of natural light; comfortable bed; whirlpool bath
Negatives: Driveway signage was small and not well lighted. Not an easy turn-off from Route 219 (from Deep Creek); limited wifi access

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earleville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Haley Farm with my husband and friends and it was as comfortable and clean as ever. It always feels like home from home. I have visited Haley Farm every year for a decade now and am always greeted with the same charm and all of the rooms are great. The breakfast is a treat and the owner and staff always very friendly and accomodating. You can tell that they take great pride in meeting your needs whoever you are.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The bar was set high for the going rate for this B & B. We have stayed at many other B&B's for much less & had better accommodations then we experienced at Haley Farm. Our room was the Gillespie mini-suite. Mariel the Inn keeper was very friendly, but besides that positive, the rest was very average or poor for the value of the stay. If you want to breathe the fumes from the gas fireplace then leave the pilot lit because the unit was not properly vented or other wise be sure to turn it off. There was a stain on the bed spread and it should have been discarded if it was unable to cleaned. The electric baseboard in the bathroom was rusty. The breakfast prepared by the Mariel were good. The highlight of the stay was Brenda's Pizza Shop by the lake & the scenery in the area, but it was not the this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabkam, Owner at Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
As Innkeepers we are always striving to create a wonderful experience for our guests, but it is so frustating when people say nothing while they are here and then write an unfair review. These guests did not utter a negative word to the Innkeeper while they were here.

About their complaints: we looked everywhere for the stain on the comforter that they mentioned, but could not find it the first time. Then when we turned the comforter over we found a bleach spot on the inside of the comforter the size of a quarter! Maybe I am being frugal but I can't see getting rid of a fairly new comforter that has a bleach spot the size of a quarter which is on the side that doesn't show.

As for the rusted out heater - the rust spot was the size of a ladybug - I wouldn't have seen it if I had not been looking. We have had it painted, so hopefully it will not offend anyone else.

I'm sorry these guests did not have a good experience. We don't like to see anyone unhappy. We could have offered them a different room but they never told us anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center

Address: 16766 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B, Spa and Retreat Center on 65 acre farm in mountains of Western Maryland. Minutes from Deep Creek Lake and Wisp ski resort. Also 3 Bedroom lakefront cottage close to B&B. Luxury suites with Jacuzzis and fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Romantic packages with flowers, champagne, massage and dinner. Haley Farm B&B is an idyllic place to hold seminars, workshops and retreats. We specialize in women’s retreats, quilting retreats (stitching your memories) and yoga retreats. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.