We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Winter Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center
Save Saved
You added Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center to your Saves list
16766 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Oakland B&B and Inns
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm Winter Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great time in the Deep Creek area. There is plenty of snow fun to be had at the WISP ski resort. The tubing was fast and fun!
The Master Suite - McHenry -had plenty of room, a nice fire place ( make sure the In keeper shows you how to light it-these gas ones are tricky - but are safe ), and was very comfortable.
Breakfast filling and tasty!
Highly recommend, any season, that you try this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we didnt have the oppurtunity to spend the night however my fiance recieved a massage and she cant say nothing but her back feels marvelous. And for the rates of the massage and facial who can complain. the innkeepers are very friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Positives of our stay: Friendly and accommodating innkeeper; Food was great; Mini-suite was comfortable with lot's of natural light; comfortable bed; whirlpool bath
Negatives: Driveway signage was small and not well lighted. Not an easy turn-off from Route 219 (from Deep Creek); limited wifi access

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earleville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Haley Farm with my husband and friends and it was as comfortable and clean as ever. It always feels like home from home. I have visited Haley Farm every year for a decade now and am always greeted with the same charm and all of the rooms are great. The breakfast is a treat and the owner and staff always very friendly and accomodating. You can tell that they take great pride in meeting your needs whoever you are.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The bar was set high for the going rate for this B & B. We have stayed at many other B&B's for much less & had better accommodations then we experienced at Haley Farm. Our room was the Gillespie mini-suite. Mariel the Inn keeper was very friendly, but besides that positive, the rest was very average or poor for the value of the stay. If you want to breathe the fumes from the gas fireplace then leave the pilot lit because the unit was not properly vented or other wise be sure to turn it off. There was a stain on the bed spread and it should have been discarded if it was unable to cleaned. The electric baseboard in the bathroom was rusty. The breakfast prepared by the Mariel were good. The highlight of the stay was Brenda's Pizza Shop by the lake & the scenery in the area, but it was not the this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabkam, Owner at Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
As Innkeepers we are always striving to create a wonderful experience for our guests, but it is so frustating when people say nothing while they are here and then write an unfair review. These guests did not utter a negative word to the Innkeeper while they were here.

About their complaints: we looked everywhere for the stain on the comforter that they mentioned, but could not find it the first time. Then when we turned the comforter over we found a bleach spot on the inside of the comforter the size of a quarter! Maybe I am being frugal but I can't see getting rid of a fairly new comforter that has a bleach spot the size of a quarter which is on the side that doesn't show.

As for the rusted out heater - the rust spot was the size of a ladybug - I wouldn't have seen it if I had not been looking. We have had it painted, so hopefully it will not offend anyone else.

I'm sorry these guests did not have a good experience. We don't like to see anyone unhappy. We could have offered them a different room but they never told us anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Haley Farm is a great little B&B nestled into the side of a hill with great views of rolling hills, trees, etc. Mariel made us feel totally welcome with free roam of the place. The lab and the cats (all of which stayed outside) made it seem like home. The breakfast was outstanding and the accomodation very nice. It was a short stay but one I would repeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We thougbt of going to the Lancaster area and i came across Haley B & B. Iam so glad i did. It is about an hour away from my home in Uniontown Pa. It was my first time @ a B&B. Tbe owner Kam was very nice and so wonderful to us. Mariel made the most delicious breakfast for all tbe guests. We didnt want to leave. I would rate this a 5 star. Very accomodating and so beautiful. We will be going back in tbe fakl and for tbe holidays. Excellent!! Joanne

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center

Address: 16766 Garrett Highway, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B, Spa and Retreat Center on 65 acre farm in mountains of Western Maryland. Minutes from Deep Creek Lake and Wisp ski resort. Also 3 Bedroom lakefront cottage close to B&B. Luxury suites with Jacuzzis and fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Romantic packages with flowers, champagne, massage and dinner. Haley Farm B&B is an idyllic place to hold seminars, workshops and retreats. We specialize in women’s retreats, quilting retreats (stitching your memories) and yoga retreats. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.