We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Silver Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suites at Silver Tree
Save
You added Suites at Silver Tree to your Saves list
565 Glendale Road, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Webster Springs, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The place is very nice and rooms are awesome. I was a little offended by the front desk staff, not all but some. We had to walk by the desk each trip in and out and there were a couple of workers that mades us feel uncomfortabe. It's as if we were disturbing them by walking by. They would stop talking and stare at us. It was only a couple ladies everyone else working front desk was very nice and would speak when we walked by. By no means did it dampen our spirits. We had a great time and the place is awesome!!! We will go back.

Room Tip: A room with lake view is the way to go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
32
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a nice place for the weekend. However, the trash dumpster was right outside our bedroom window and the trash company showed up at 0600 on Monday morning. They pulled the loud trash truck right outside our bedroom window..When they used the compacter it sounded like a train was coming through the wall. I spoke to the hired help working on the grounds and was informed management was aware of this situation. I also mentioned the situation to the checkout folks and was told that they didn't have control of when the trash was picked up. My thought is a little inconsiderate of the hotel toward the paying renters....We didn't need to be sucker punched at 0600 in the morning. They really should relocate these dumpster's. My advise is don't stay in the end units of this resort on their trash days. Other than that it was a nice place.

Room Tip: End units with trash units outside the windows are not good on trash days
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We originally planned on staying here over the winter but we had to cancel our trip due to a snow storm. We fully expected to lose our money but the Silver Tree gave us credit for our entire amount and allowed us to reschedule our stay. That was fantastic!

The main building was nicely furnished. There was an upstairs board game room, free dvd rentals and free coffee too. You could walk out the back onto a nice deck area which overlooked the lake.

Our room was well kept. It was very clean and the furniture seemed newer. There was a full size refrigerator, a dishwasher and a microwave...but no stove. A few critiques: the kitchen area could use much better lighting, our room could sleep four people but there were only two chairs around the dining table and our mattress was very, very firm...bordering on uncomfortable.

We look forward to returning to Deep Creek. If we stay less than a week, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I reserved a room (based on the great reviews here) and upon arrival there was an issue with the room that was beyond the control of the staff and management. I asked for a different room but none was available. (There was some equipment that generated noise and heat that made sitting out doors unpleasant, sleeping difficult, and opening the windows not an option) The ladies at the desk were wonderful but there really wasn't anything they could do. At the end of the stay I wrote what I hoped was a respectful letter to the management company explaining the issue but also letting them know the staff was great and based on the staff and location we would be staying at the Silver Tree again and their response bowled us over. We received an understanding note with a complete refund!

The hotel is gorgeous. The well maintained grand deck has nice furnishings and was a very popular hang-out for familiies and friends, the attached pub drew lots of travellers to the music and atmosphere. The interior lodge is also beautiful. We almost wished it was winter so we could have a glass of wine in the lodge near the fireplaces. The attached "Dutche's is excellent with an outstanding Chef- perfect NY strip (blackened w/a little blue cheese crust). We'll be back in the fall.

Room Tip: Avoid room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 anniversary. After 10PM there is NO SECURITY. We were disturbed by a crowd in the hall (10PM – 4PM) and was threatened when we asked them to go into their rooms. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Would recommend this place to ANYONE. Friends have stayed here. I saw the rooms firsthand, before I ever booked one. Exactly what you see on the webiste is what you get. Rooms are nice. Employees are always friendly and courteous. More affordable if you are not alone for a stay here...

Room Tip: No pool or hot tub. Could use both, to make it even more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a family getaway here last summer and while there were good things about the property, I would probably try something else the next time we go to Deep Creek. With 3 boys, we wanted a suite so that we could spread out a bit. Our lake view suite with loft was nice and big. However, in order to maximize the number of lake view rooms, the suites are very long and narrow. There is just one window in each room, which leads to the feeling of being in a long, dark cave. Since these are privately-owned units that are rented out by the hotel, the decor of your room depends on your owners' tastes. Our owners did nothing to brighten the space. There is a beach in front of the hotel, but it is rocky and not really conducive to swimming or even lounging. There is a really nice deck in front of the hotel where you can sit out and look at the lake. However, with no bar or table service, you need to walk next door to the restaurant to grab a drink (and you have to get a drink in a plastic cup if you want to take it back to the hotel deck). We noticed lots of other guests who had brought their own appetizers, wine and glasses. Since we had not planned for this, we were stuck drinking plastic cups of wine on the deck, which was not really the most pleasant way to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suites at Silver Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Silver Tree

Address: 565 Glendale Road, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oakland
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suites at Silver Tree is a luxury lakefront condo-hotel featuring incredible views of Deep Creek Lake, and a convenient central location. Hotel room features include a kitchenette, gas fireplace, sleep sofa and king or queen bed. Some include a loft and/or private balcony with lake views. An expansive deck leads to a level lawn and to the water's edge. A reading loft, marina, game room, sauna and fitness room are all at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suites At Silver Tree Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Silver Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.