We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to get a night's sleep at "Animal House".” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Silver Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suites at Silver Tree
Save
You added Suites at Silver Tree to your Saves list
565 Glendale Road, Oakland, MD 21550   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's hard to get a night's sleep at "Animal House".”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The construction of the rooms is not what you would expect to find in a normal hotel or motel. There is no soundproofing in the floors or walls. It is constructed more like adjoining bedrooms in your home, where you can hear a TV in the next room, or people shouting. My stay was very unpleasant because the people in the next room were partying at 11:00 PM, and I could hear every word, and every other word was a swear word, loudly. It was impossible to go to sleep.

This hotel is also not like a regular hotel or motel in that the front desk goes off duty at 10:00 PM. So if you have a problem like the one I experienced there is nobody to help you out. The hotel makes it clear in advance that they are not on duty after 10:00, but that does not excuse it. I walked out of the hotel after the first night -- I cut my weekend vacation short. It was like living in the movie "Animal House" with a bunch of frat boys next door, swearing continually and probably drunk.

The room itself was highly overpriced for what it was. There was a mini-kitchen with a sink, refrigerator, dish washer, toaster, and coffee maker, but no stove-top. Strange. And it was also strange that it was not lighted. The "kitchen" corner of the room was too dark to use. The bathroom was very small. Even without considering the lack of soundproofing and management, the hotel was a poor value at the price.

The room had one of the last bulky CRT TVs in existence. It was probably an old 21 inch TV. It was installed on a swivel platform that came out from the wall at a height of about six feet. It would swivel only about ten degrees, so you could only watch it from the sofa, not the bed. And it didn’t tilt down so you had to look up to see it. Very strange. There was no place to store the DVD player, so it was propped up on top of the curved top of the TV, with connecting cables falling down to the jacks in on the front of the TV. Move the cables in exactly the right way, and you can avoid them being visible on the TV screen. But if the DVD slips off the TV in the process of making this adjustment it falls behind the TV, and you need to get on a chair and work for about 20 minutes to recover the DVD player from the inaccessible space behind the TV.

You can probably get a better and more comfortable room at Motel 6.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
32
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent 4 days 3 nights at Deep Creek Lake for the first time to celebrate a family milestone with 22 family members. We booked the Suites at Silver tree for all of the families and there was a good variety of room types to fit everyone's needs, it was a good location, and each room had kitchen facilities (except no oven).
We were thrilled with the location, right on the lake. There is a beautiful lobby and huge deck with lots of areas for all of us to sit and talk, eat, and enjoy the view. There is also a boat rental directly in front of the hotel, which was convenient. There is a nice reading loft with board games to use if you want. There is coffee provided free of charge, however only for 2 hours in the morning. It would be nice to have this provided throughout the day and evening.
There is an exercise room, however it was very disappointing. It was in the basement, dark, no windows, no t.v. or music, only 3 rather dated machines (recumbent bike, treadmill, elliptical) and a universal gym that was hard to figure out. There is no way to control the air conditioning in the room and no fans, so after a few minutes, it gets very hot. It kind of felt like a dungeon room!
We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor of the "A" building, it was a 1 bedroom with loft. The room is a living room/kitchen open area with a seperate bedroom. The room was in good repair and clean and seemed spacious. There was 1 bathroom which was spacious, clean, plenty of counter space, bright, with a good forceful hot shower.
The kitchen was well appointed with dishes, glasses, cutlery, etc. There is a microwave, full size fridge (some units have small mini fridges, ask if you want a full fridge), dishwasher, coffeemaker, and toaster. There is no oven/stove/burner, so you can't really cook, just reheat. The kitchen was also clean and fairly spacious. There is a small kitchen table however only 2 kitchen chairs, which makes no sense in a room that sleeps 6 people.
There is a spiral staircase that leads up to the loft which is pretty but in the middle of the unit. You have to maneuver your way around it to get to the living room area or balcony, and need to be careful not to whack your head when going by, especially if you sleep on the sleeper sofa in the living room.
The loft was huge, very spacious, with a huge closet (no hangers!). It was hot up there with no air conditioning. There are 2 fans provided, but it doesn't help much. There is no bathroom up there. There is no tv up there either, it is a huge space that is half empty. We did not use it because it was too hot, so it was a waste of money to rent that room. We complained to the front desk and all that was offered was another fan. We were told that the lofts in the "B" building had air conditioning, so they are obviously aware of the problem. I'm not sure why they do not add air conditioners to the "A" building lofts. Request a loft suite in the "B" building if that's what you need.
The bedroom was spacious with a king sized bed a large closet (5 hangers) and very comfortable. There was a dresser and air conditioning unit, which made it comfortable. Again no t.v. Also, there is no full length mirror!!! We had to keep going over to the bathroom and try to use the bathroom mirror when we got dressed. Only a small round mirror in the bedroom, that is hung up bit too high, so you can't really see yourself unless you're tall!
There is daily maid service, however all they do is leave extra towels and empty the trash. No change of linens, no vacuuming, no dusting. For an extra fee (?$25) you can have a full cleaning. In a room that costs over $200 a night, we expected full daily cleaning. That was disappointing.
There is also a large coat closet again with no hangers. there is a nice fireplace in the living room, however we did not use it since it was summertime.
The one television is in the living room area, and it is situated above the fireplace, rather high up.
I would recommend staying here for the location, view, and wonderful deck area. The rooms are lacking and the front desk rather not concerned with good customer service.

Room Tip: Loft room in the "B" building are equipped with air conditioners. Lakeside room is worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We love DCL and have stayed at Silvertree a number of times. The beds are terrible; the sofa bed in each unit in which we stayed was old, bumpy and uncomfortable, even for small kids. We brought blow up beds to place atop the beds.The loft is hot and that has not improved since we last stayed there 3 years ago. The staff are wonderful, the views are terrific, and the brunch on Sunday, while pricey, is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Last week we spent five days at Silver Tree with our two boys (3.5 and 1 yo). We booked the 1 bedroom suite with a lakeview. The view of the lake was impressive and the 1st floor balcony with chairs and stairs out to the deck was very nice. We spent a lot of time on the balcony and deck. It was nice they have a dock where we could keep our boat while we were there.

The accomodations were just "ok". In no way would I call this "luxury" hotel. The furniture was old and the sofa was very tired and new need of new cushions. The bathroom was standard. I thought the space was a bit small for a 1 bedroom with a family of four (with small children). I also thought the service was a bit spotty. For example, most days we were out of our room by 1030-1100 and not one day did we come back to find our bed made even though we had the service sign out. Not a huge deal, but a basic expectation in my book.

Also, this might not apply to everyone, but a major problem for me was the fact that there are literally no ramps, paved or gravel paths. So for a place where most of the enjoyment is outside, it made it difficult at best for a mother with a stroller to get anywhere. There is no path (paved or otherwise) down to the lakefront "beach" area which means it would be completely inaccessible to someone in a wheelchair or walker, and difficult at best with a stroller. There are stairs everywhere, no ramps. I found this very frustrating, especially when trying to carry all our gear down to our boat.

So all and all I was a little disappointed in this place and thought there should be something more upscale in DCL. The view was definitely nice. I think next time we will just pay more and find a rental.

Room Tip: The units in the main building with the lobby has better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We visited as an early December girls get-away for the first time. I considered the Wisp and some others in the area but i'm glad I selected Suites at Silver Tree. I highly recommend it and look forward to staying there again!
The public spaces are spacious yet cozy! Love the warm feeling you get upon entering the lobby with the fireplaces, soft music, christmas decorations and lush leather seating.
The back wrap-around desk overlooking the lake is breathtaking even in the winter.
The staff were friendly and down-to-earth.
The size of our studio was just right! Love the full fridge and the complimentary toiletries are to die for. LOVE LOVE the fireplace. The bed was very hard! I literally sat on it and it didn't move! Like a box-spring! Will bring my feather topper next time:). My friend said the sofa bed felt better! LOL. The other thing that was disappointing was the small TV! The TV was up so high in a "nook" that if you wanted to change a DVD you'd have to use a chair. The room was way too nice and modern for the 28" or so TV that was displayed. That stuck out like a sore thumb...UPGRADE due!
I loved the balcony too.
The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because of the hard bed and tiny TV! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My family of 4 (2 boys aged 9 and 12) decided to talk a short trip to Deep Creek Lake area just to relax a little. We booked a room with a lake view. Check in was swift and staff very friendly. The lobby areas (both lower and main levels) are beautifully decorated with the dark wood furniture and very cozy atmosphere. We all loved the fireplace and the great hugh chimney, with nice music in the background. The room had a separate bedroom with a great king sized bed. The living area had a sofa bed and a fire place, a small kitchenette (no hot plate cooking, only a microwave oven) with all required utensils including a fridge. Above the fireplace was a very old TV (not the flat screen type) and on top of the TV I believe was a DVD player. It was sufficient for the 4 of us but unfortunately the room was very dark, even with the balcony curtains opened and all the lights switched on. The main complain was the sofa bed. Even for my 2 children, the spring/mattress of the sofa bed was so "used" that they kept complaining when they lay down, they could feel the metal bar!! We had to layer the mattress with blankets to provide some comfort. And yes, love the morning coffee service provided. Overall a nice place but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: A lake view room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Beautiful lobby which is open and three levels tall. Fireplaces (3) in the lobby make it cozy. The staff is friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the deck and watching the lake. Totally quiet for sleeping. Terrific stay! I hated to check out.

Room Tip: Loved the one bedroom loft suite. Spend the extra money for a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Silver Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Silver Tree

Address: 565 Glendale Road, Oakland, MD 21550
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oakland
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suites at Silver Tree is a luxury lakefront condo-hotel featuring incredible views of Deep Creek Lake, and a convenient central location. Hotel room features include a kitchenette, gas fireplace, sleep sofa and king or queen bed. Some include a loft and/or private balcony with lake views. An expansive deck leads to a level lawn and to the water's edge. A reading loft, marina, game room, sauna and fitness room are all at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suites At Silver Tree Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Silver Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.