We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hiking in a state park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Falls State Park

Swallow Falls State Park
222 Herrington Lane, Oakland, MD 21550
(301) 387-6938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Oakland
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park that has three waterfalls and many hiking trails.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful hiking in a state park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This park is well maintained with clearly marked hiking paths. The views of the fall colors (when we went) were spectacular with the backdrop of the water and falls. We did the longer 2.5 mile hike, which I'd highly recommend. Since we went at the end of Sept, several dogs were on the trail, on leashes of course.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    50
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I loved the experience of walking to the top of the waterfalls...my friends and i heard of this spot and made a day trip to travel and walk thru the path and the falls

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
451 helpful votes 451 helpful votes
“Best Five Bucks I Ever Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wonderful spot in Garrett County to enjoy the quiet environs of an old growth forest. $5 entry fee per car for out of staters. $3 for Maryland residents.

Stunning rock formations and water falls beneath towering old growth White Pine and Hemlock trees. Very quiet and private spot to spend a few hours or the entire day. This place is on my must-do list whenever I visit Western Maryland. See Tolliver, Swallow and Muddy Falls. It's a winner.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely woods and water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We hiked on several trails in the woods and along the rivers and water falls. The state park is trying to preserve the Hemlock trees with a program to prevent and treat diseases which may be spreading from the south. The trails are clearly marked in a state forest which is historically very old. Great place to visit and get away from the big city. Excellent area of Western Maryland to visit, relax and enjoy nature.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“natures beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very well maintained paths to the various falls. Enjoyed watching the kayakers take to the falls. Very picturesque scenery. alking under the trees along the paths in the fall is wonderful. Take a picture of the colorful umbrella you're under for a different shot

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swallow Falls State Park also viewed

McHenry, Garrett County
 
McHenry, Garrett County
Oakland, Garrett County
 

Been to Swallow Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Falls State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.