We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great all year destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deep Creek Lake

Deep Creek Lake
Oakland, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Oakland
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Motor-boating, Swimming, Water-skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A great spot for water skiing, boating, hiking and swimming.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is a great all year destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are frequent visitors to the lake, you can rent boats or bring your own, visit one of the state parks or take in one of many attractions at Wisp mountain. On our last visit we went white water rafting on the top of the mountain! We have camped in town and rented houses in the winter. Two hours and 45 minutes from the Metro DC area can't be beat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Va
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big, beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The lake is much larger than we thought and there were a ton of people enjoying water sports. Maybe too many boats for my liking. We found the public beach which was lovely, clean and plenty of parking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville,MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Loved the area and the lake was pretty. We only had a few days so did not do any water activities in the lake.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had motel on lake, actually condo would wake up every morning to serenity. Accomodations were beyond my expectations

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake but not much shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you love to eat and shop on your vacation then you don't want to visit Deep Creek Lake - visit her to relax only! There are no big chain restaurants or coffee shops. You'll need to eat at the local restaurants or UNOs, Subway, or McDonalds. Be sure to visit Swallow Falls and Wisp. Wisp has a fun Mountain Coaster and White Water Rafting facility.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Creek Lake also viewed

 
McHenry, Garrett County
Accident, Garrett County
 

Been to Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep Creek Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deep Creek Lake to your Saves list