We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, otherwise eh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Hotel Plaza, North East, MD 21901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North East
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great staff, otherwise eh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stopped for a night here on a drive up 95 and stayed at 3 hotels in the area over a span of 3 weeks. Easy to get to off highway and super nice staff from the front desk to especially the dining staff. Hotel was a bit dated but clean. I really could not get comfortable- the mattress and bedding were not great and the hvac is that kind that blows air out of an a/c unit- so even if it's blowing hot air, you feel like you are getting a breeze. Breakfast was free and there was a lot of variety but it was not gourmet. I would describe this place as entirely adequate for a quick trip/ place to lay your head but maybe not the kind of place to stay if you are looking for the "treat" of staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Yainey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel from the highway and the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
14
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, staff at the front desk were nice and helpful, internet is free, breakfast is standard, room was clean and spacious.

I had to give it a minus 1 star as one night we did not get housekeeping service for some reason.

There is basically nothing in the surrounding area until you drive into the main street of North East. There there are some interesting local restaurants.

Room Tip: Probably around the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff were outstanding Marcus and Laurie and I just cannot remember the name of all of the staff at work that week , the front desk, and the eating area.We just love the staff. We were three adults and one baby and we just love that we are there for a week.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This property is ideally located if you need an overnight on I 95 on your way to some of the big cities in the Northeast. The room was clean and large. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent for what you expect for free at a Holiday Inn Express. We stayed twice (coming and going from NYC) and we were very pleased. The price was a little high, but we redeemed points so cost was not an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds and sofa bed are great for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As an IHG Platinum member, I stay in a LOT of Holiday Inn Express locations. I have stayed in this location a handful of times, so am somewhat familiar with it. This location has decent rooms, decent bedding, is pretty clean, and the staff is generally friendly. It's not an outstanding location, but isn't bad either. It's what I would call an "okay" Holiday Inn Express hotel.

The breakfast is good enough, and they have one of those pancake machines that cranks out pretty good pancakes.

So far, not too shabby. ... A decent place to stay.

Now for the bad news. ..... There is apparently LITTLE OR NO COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE FRONT DESK AND THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF IN REGARD TO LATE CHECK-OUTS.

As a Platinum member, I often request a late check-out to wrap up some work and other things before check-out. The hotel routinely grants me a late check-out until 1 pm. That's the good part. The bad part is that THEY FAIL TO INFORM HOUSEKEEPING that room #xxx is a late check-out!! Of a half-dozen visits there, more times than not, the housekeeping service knocked on the door shortly after 11 a.m. (the regular check-out time), even though my check-out was at 1 pm. On top of that, the DO NOT DISTURB sign was on the door in every case! On the most recent visit, housekeeping tried coming in while I was showering! Yes, it was after 11 a.m., but I had a 1 pm check-out.

I can understand that some people might forget to take down the Do Not Disturb sign when they check-out, so it could be a vacated room that still has a DND sign on the door, even though the guest has left. Okay, this is where COMMUNICATON WITH THE FRONT DESK comes into play!
HOUSEKEEPING NEEDS TO BE MADE AWARE OF WHICH ROOMS ARE A LATE CHECK-OUT. This way, when they see a Do Not Disturb sign still hung on the door after 11:00 a.m., they'll know why, and they'll know not to knock and not to enter.

And, no, it wasn't a single "whoopsie". It happened 4 or 5 times out of 6 stays there.

Communication between the front desk and housekeeping .... Is this too much to ask?

I would like to hear a response from management as to whether you have a communication policy between the front desk and housekeeping regarding late check-outs. If you do, why is it apparently not followed? And, if you don't have a communication policy with housekeeping regarding late check-outs, will a policy be implemented?

Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the highway if noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Snacks-n-Racks,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the housekeeping service. Rest assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations and to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Right off 95, it was about $120 for the night but we figured for the large, clean room with fridge and complimentary breakfast, it was worth it.
we asked for smoke free room, however the walk from the elevator to our room stunk of cigarettes...happily, our room did not

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here because we had a discount coupon picked up at a rest area. I couldn't believe the rate quoted by the desk clerk which was double the coupon rate considering the condition of the property. But in North East everyone seems to think they are better - see review on Woody' Crab House, They did have a mini-fridge and a microwave, a welcome change to HI Express. But the lukewarm water took almost 10 minutes to reach the tap in our room in the evening. The tap in the bath was ripped off its foundation. The armchair was dirty and the cushion coming out, so not comfortable, The elevator was extremely slow. The breakfast was OK and they did have an automatic pancake machine instead of the waffle machine. The pancakes could rival those of the big chains,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear AZLove_to_travel22,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your stay with us. It is good to know you like our room amenities. However, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced due to the bathroom facility and poor condition of the room furniture. It is also disappointing you found the elevator service less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your valuable comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these enables us to target problem areas and take actions accordingly.

Again, thank you for staying with us and providing us with a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East

Address: 101 Hotel Plaza, North East, MD 21901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD is located on the north end of town only 1/2 mile from Interstate 95. Positioned in the heart of the North Eastern Maryland, our award-winning hotel offers 71 over sized rooms including 22 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, we offer amenities for everyone. Our hotel offers and outdoor heated pool with whirlpool, fitness facility, 24 HR business center, microwaves, refrigerators and the Complimentary Express Start breakfast with hot items. We are an ideal location to hold your seminars, meetings or just an overnight trip to visit our quaint town of North East. The town streets are lined with antique and novelty shoppes. Enjoy golf, hiking or boating nearby. Relax in our beautifully decorated king and queen suites. When your day is complete relax in our Grand Room or prepare for an excellent dining experience in one of the nearby restaurants. Only 2 miles from the North East Historic District, you can enjoy many local eateries such as Woodys Crab House, Steak and Main & many other restaurants. along with museums, galleries and antique shops. Within 10 minutes of the town of Elkton and many chain restaurants. Our friendly, professional staff will welcome you and provide exceptional service during your visit. Let us accommodate you and remember Kids Stay Free. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North East
Holiday Inn North East
North East Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.