We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Bad to say” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Center Drive, North East, MD 21901 (Formerly Crystal Inn North East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in North East
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nothing Bad to say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, pool and hot tub were well kept, and the breakfast was on par for a hotel. There is a store and restaurant (Denny's) next door, easy access to I95. I will come back again when I'm back in the area next month.

Room Tip: Very long hotel, older travelers or the disabled might want a room close to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    19
    5
    13
See reviews for
30
18
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stopped here for one night while traveling north on Interstate 95. The rooms are a little dated with dim lighting but the bed was comfortable. The hotel served a average continental breakfast with eggs and bacon, cereal and pastries. The hotel had a indoor pool and whirlpool which was clean and well maintained. There are two floors but no elevator?? We had a room on the first floor so we heard trucks on the highway at night but other than that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Checked in here on Thursday, April 5, 2012. The room was ready very early and check in was quick and easy. The desk clerk was friendly. We had asked for a first floor room and away from the smoking section. However we did not know that our room would be in the pet section...we had room 120. We did not hear any pet noise. The hotel is older but well maintained and clean.
Our bathroom toilet was not working properly and we called it to their attention and it was fixed; they indicated if it could not be fixed they would change our room.The pool is not heated or at least did not feel heated. The pool/spa area is clean and furnished with tables and chairs. This hotel is what I would call 2+ star based on comfort, cleanliness, and amenities. We had 2 queen beds with sofa sleeper. The double sink vanity outside the tub/toilet area was a nice surprise.The towels are thin but you could feel a nap. We had a fridge and microwave. The free breakfast is just what any other hotel of this class would offer. There is a Denny's Restaurant next door and a convenience store too. We would stay here again. The only complaint we had is the thiness of the walls does allow for hearing everything that goes on above and next door. I do not believe there was an elevator. The pillows were soft and we loved them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a clean hotel, good pool and hot tub, excellent breakfast. The price was right, close to route 95. Close to downtown North East. Friendly Staff. Pet Friendly!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel met my needs for one night. It's a good size and in good shape, and the room was nice, clean and spacious. It's located right off of 95, so it's easy-off and easy-on. As others have noted the entrance is through the truck stop parking lot, but I found it easy enough. And again as others have noted, the smoking and non-smoking rooms seem to be mixed. Being a smoker that didn't bother me at all, but I can see why it would bother others. The one drawback I had with it was the lack of any real restaurants right nearby, unless you count the truck stop Denny's. Several fast food joints though.

Overall judgement: Great for what I needed...no frills and a good price, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My friend and I went to a show near Baltimore which ended fairly late, and we were both too tired to make the drive all the way back to PA. He checked his Choice Hotels account and found that he had enough points for a free night...well, nothing beats free! We arrived around 1:30 am and were checked in quickly and efficiently. The room was very spacious and clean, and the bed was oh so comfortable. Because we arrived so late, we asked for and received a late check-out time, so we were able to sleep in, get up in time for the included breakfast and even head to the pool and hot tub.

The breakfast attendant was extremely attentive! She kept everything filled and as soon as someone walked out she would hurry to clear the tables. There were the usual yogurts, cold cereals, hard boiled eggs and breads, bagels, danish, but also sausage, mini-omelettes and hot biscuits along with that make-your-own-waffle machine.

There were only two things that kept me from giving this 5 stars. I tried to get into the hot tub, but the water seemed extremely hot. The poster on the wall said that the hot tub should be no more than 104 degrees, but I felt like a lobster about to take that last slide. I sat on the edge and managed to get my legs in there for a few minutes but had to get out. There was no thermometer anywhere that I could see to verify the water temperature.

The only other issue I had was the TV. Neither of us could figure out how to make it work. We could turn it on, and that was it. Nothing we did would change the channel. We decided not to bother.

Other than that, the room, as I said, was clean and comfortable, and it is very close to I-95. Afterwards we took a side trip down to Elk Neck and Turkey Point to see the magnificent Chesapeake Bay.

One caution: it's a bit tricky to get into the driveway for the hotel. We went right past it! You must turn into the Flying J convenience area and pass through it to get there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

While there are non-smoking rooms in the hotel, they are intermingled throughout the hallway with the smoking rooms. The hallways smell so much of cigarette smoke that I could hardly leave my room. There was even a slight haze in the hallway from the smoke coming out of the smoking rooms. Walking through the hazy hallways left my eyes burning and my tongue numb from the smoke.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1 Center Drive, North East, MD 21901 (Formerly Crystal Inn North East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 91 room hotel that is located in North East, MD. All rooms are considered to be suites which includes: complimentary deluxe breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave, refrigerator,37" flat screen TV, DVD player, etc. Our hotel has an indoor heated pool/whirlpool that is open each day until 11:00pm in addition to a 24-hour fitness center. The hotel also has a 1500 square foot meeting space great for meetings, classes, & parties of all kinds. We are in close proximity to the Town of North East, Woody's Restaurant, Steak & Main Restaurant, Elk Neck State Park & Lighthouse, Cecil County Dragway, Perryville Outlets as well as Hollywood Casino. We take pride in providing outstanding customer service to each and every guest. We hope to see you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel North East
Comfort Inn And Suites
North East Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.