We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local place with excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune's Seafood Pub

Neptune's Seafood Pub
8800 Chesapeake Ave, North Beach, MD 20714
410-257-7899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Neptune's Seafood Pub serves fresh and delicious dishes that include seafood, steak and vegetarian options. Dinner is served Monday through Thursday from 11 am - 10 pm; Friday and Saturday from 11 am - 11 pm and Sunday from 11 am - 9 pm.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice local place with excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been here several times and the food and service are always great. The appetizers are excellent, I definitely recommend the Crab Tater Tots or the Mussels Thai Style (they must have learned from the Chris' review because they asked us if we wanted bread with the mussels). Atmosphere is friendly for couples or families. The last time we went the place was packed but the service was still quite good. Definitely a nice place to get a good inexpensive meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our group of six shared a few pounds of muscles as a starter and they were awesome!. Unfortunately, by the time the bread we ordered arrived (they thought that we might want bread preplexed the server), we were ready for our main courses. My wife's blacked mahi Mahi and my crab cake were great. The waffle fries were ok, as was the slaw. The burgers that the other two men in our group had were reportedly terrific as were the other two fish dishes the other wives had.
The bar is limited (no real top shelf liquor) and the beer selection is just average.
Our server was slow and somewhat inattentive. It was later in the evening (8:30) when we arrive, so perhaps he was tired.
The food is definately worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimote, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a Chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice local place. Good food, varied menu, below average service. Probably wouldn't make it in a more competitive market.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Cozy seating, near the boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We decided it was time for a date night and headed up to Neptune's with another couple on a Friday night. We were fortunate to get the last table. Neptune's is so much better than a typical pub and it's known for it's small town charm and great food. My husband always orders the mussels and one of our friends raved about the bluefish. I can also tell you that the crab dip was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unquestionably, THE BEST FOOD in North Beach, MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Right from the start: We were on vacation in North Beach for only eight (8) nights, and we inevitably ate at Neptune's on three (3) of those nights! Tell ya something?

This restaurant/bar might not look like much from the outside -- or for that matter when you're inside -- but Neptune's serves up some of the best food I've ever eaten. Mind you, the place isn't dirty, it's just not designed with an upscale image in mind.

As my wife and I love seafood, Neptune's was a little piece of heaven! For starters, the crab chowder is outrageously thick and delicious. Get the 'bowl' and share it with a friend. Then there was the fantastic "Two Pounds of Mussels Over Pasta." You can have this dish served in one of four delectable sauces, but for each of our visits to Neptune's I got this dish with garlic and butter. (Excuse for a moment whilst I clean up my drool.) If you love garlic like I do, this dish is a MUST! Overall, the wait staff was outstanding, particularly Kimmie.

The only negative about Neptune's is that the bartender who was there each time we were there should learn to keep his voice down while verbalizing his "dislikes" and "disdain" for so many ethnic groups and other assorted things.

Otherwise, Neptune's is a place that shouldn't be missed if you're in the North Beach area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune's Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Neptune's Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune's Seafood Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.