We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home! Don't pass it by!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Turtle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yellow Turtle Inn to your Saves list
Yellow Turtle Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   111 S Springdale Avenue, New Windsor, MD 21776   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 New Windsor B&B and Inns
Baltimore
1 review
“Wonderful home! Don't pass it by!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Short weekend stay, wish I could have stayed longer. Marvelous brunch served at 10am, continental breakfast earlier. Inn is full of charm, interesting features throughout. Extremely comfortable bed, although it looked like it would be too soft. Free internet connection, but you had to move around to find the strongest signal. Do give this place a try!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I love to travel to small towns and always stay at a B & B. We recently visited the Yellow Turtle Inn and made ourselves a wonderful memory. The home was at least 200 years old and you can feel it's history, It was like going back in time with the comforts of today.

We stayed in Queen's Sweet, it was a huge room decorated tastefully. My husband had roses waiting for me in the room and a bottle of champagne, he's such a romantic. It was actually 2 rooms and had a huge whirlpool tub that was full of baloons!! Our host, Joan, was very accomodating, she even brought dinner to our room. The breakfast was really good and the room we had it in was inviting and entertaining. We shared it with another couple and it felt like having brunch with long-time friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beware! This was the worst place that I have ever stayed. The yard and house was very cluttered and dirty. When we drove up we thought for sure this was NOT the correct address. The pictures are deceiving. In actuality, the paint is pealing off the house, the interior is cluttered, and the beds we slept in were old and lumpy. Breakfast is not much better. Muffins and donuts and a crockpot full of mysterious, mushy food. The only nice things to say about this B&B is that the owner is friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The pictures on the site are from 20 years ago, be careful. What you see is not what you get. Rooms are dirty, lawn is over grown. At best this deserves a rating of a 1. Don't book online, see it before you pay, because you will definitely lose your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I attended my sisters wedding here recently and felt compelled to respond to some of the negative reviews on this site. As another reviewer noted this is a 200 year old farmhouse. For an inn and B&B it is exactly what you would expect. Joan is a gracious host and the included breakfast is quite filling.
As far as the rooms, I can offer you some advice. The Bishops Suite is much darker than the rest of the rooms, good for those looking to sleep in as you can adjust the heavy curtains to sleep as late as you want. There were stink bugs (they don't bite) on the sills, but again, its a farmhouse. The room was a little cluttered with knickknacks, but had a jacuzzi. Depends on your tastes, but you could either love this room or hate it. The Joys Whisper suite next door was light and airy, very clean, and perfect for a couple travelling alone. The Queens Suite was the largest of the bunch with the powder room having a daybed; helpful if you are travelling with children and value your alone time. Sweet Serenity and Angels Melody are connected by a hall and have 2 bathrooms between them. The rooms can be combined or separate and would be good for a family that wanted separate bedrooms. Angels Melody has only 1 bed, Serenity has 2. Please note that old houses can get drafty and chilly, they do have space heaters available on request. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've had some really great stays at B&B's....This wasn't one of them. The Inn looks nothing like the pictures. We almost missed it because the sign was overgrown with weeds. The walkways had weeds, sticks, loose pavers and a sagging front porch. The house was hot & stuffy, NO A/C on a very hot humid day. Our room had one of the beds in the bathroom making privacy impossible. There was no place to plug in a phone charger. Extension cords ran everywhere and were overloaded. Broken dusty items cluttered our room. No hand soap, bath salts or shampoo/conditioner. Dead bugs on the window sill. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had a serene, restful stay at the Yellow Turtle after a death in my family. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet retreat. In response to one of the negative reviews, I can only say that it is an old, historic home, not an impersonal, sterile hotel. It was built almost 200 years ago, so travellers must expect some quirks. If the annoyed customer had taken the time to read the notice in the bath, she would have known that there is indeed shampoo, but in bar form. The Inn looks much better in person than in the photos. I loved it, and you will too!

Room Tip: The Queen Sweet has a delightful jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellow Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Turtle Inn

Address: 111 S Springdale Avenue, New Windsor, MD 21776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > New Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow Turtle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully nestled in rolling tree filled hills overlooking 100 acres of farmland, the Yellow Turtle Inn Bed and Brunch invites you to share time with loved ones or just relax in her serene environment. Each room is decorated with it's own personality as if you are in the middle of a play. All rooms have private baths. Two suites have whirlpools.Brunch is served at 10AM so that you may sleep in. Earlier refrig breakfast available for early starters. We offer couples massages, private dinners, champaign and balloons, roses, personal birthday chocolate birthday cake and teddy bears.We host weddings ceremonies and receptions as well as parties and showers.Long term stays are available as well.YELLOW TURTLE INN BED AND BRUNCH, NEW WINDSOR, MARYLAND Next door to Westminster and McDaniel CollegeON THE CIVIL WAR TRAIL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Yellow Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.