We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Turtle Inn

Save Saved
You added Yellow Turtle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yellow Turtle Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   111 S Springdale Avenue, New Windsor, MD 21776   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 New Windsor B&B and Inns
Baytown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beware! This was the worst place that I have ever stayed. The yard and house was very cluttered and dirty. When we drove up we thought for sure this was NOT the correct address. The pictures are deceiving. In actuality, the paint is pealing off the house, the interior is cluttered, and the beds we slept in were old and lumpy. Breakfast is not much better. Muffins and donuts and a crockpot full of mysterious, mushy food. The only nice things to say about this B&B is that the owner is friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The pictures on the site are from 20 years ago, be careful. What you see is not what you get. Rooms are dirty, lawn is over grown. At best this deserves a rating of a 1. Don't book online, see it before you pay, because you will definitely lose your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I attended my sisters wedding here recently and felt compelled to respond to some of the negative reviews on this site. As another reviewer noted this is a 200 year old farmhouse. For an inn and B&B it is exactly what you would expect. Joan is a gracious host and the included breakfast is quite filling.
As far as the rooms, I can offer you some advice. The Bishops Suite is much darker than the rest of the rooms, good for those looking to sleep in as you can adjust the heavy curtains to sleep as late as you want. There were stink bugs (they don't bite) on the sills, but again, its a farmhouse. The room was a little cluttered with knickknacks, but had a jacuzzi. Depends on your tastes, but you could either love this room or hate it. The Joys Whisper suite next door was light and airy, very clean, and perfect for a couple travelling alone. The Queens Suite was the largest of the bunch with the powder room having a daybed; helpful if you are travelling with children and value your alone time. Sweet Serenity and Angels Melody are connected by a hall and have 2 bathrooms between them. The rooms can be combined or separate and would be good for a family that wanted separate bedrooms. Angels Melody has only 1 bed, Serenity has 2. Please note that old houses can get drafty and chilly, they do have space heaters available on request. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've had some really great stays at B&B's....This wasn't one of them. The Inn looks nothing like the pictures. We almost missed it because the sign was overgrown with weeds. The walkways had weeds, sticks, loose pavers and a sagging front porch. The house was hot & stuffy, NO A/C on a very hot humid day. Our room had one of the beds in the bathroom making privacy impossible. There was no place to plug in a phone charger. Extension cords ran everywhere and were overloaded. Broken dusty items cluttered our room. No hand soap, bath salts or shampoo/conditioner. Dead bugs on the window sill. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had a serene, restful stay at the Yellow Turtle after a death in my family. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet retreat. In response to one of the negative reviews, I can only say that it is an old, historic home, not an impersonal, sterile hotel. It was built almost 200 years ago, so travellers must expect some quirks. If the annoyed customer had taken the time to read the notice in the bath, she would have known that there is indeed shampoo, but in bar form. The Inn looks much better in person than in the photos. I loved it, and you will too!

Room Tip: The Queen Sweet has a delightful jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just a quick thank you to Joan for going the extra mile to make our stay at Yellow Turtle very enjoyable. I was traveling with my son to a lacrosse tournament and we found Yellow Turtle online WIth no idea what to expect, we were delighted with the service and beautiful surroundings. On top of an amazing offer by Joan to do a load of laundry for my son, I was treated to the best homemade pancakes and homemade syrup I have ever had. Yellow turtle is a relaxing, laid back treat off the beaten path and well worth the trip.

Lax Dad

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the Yellow Turtle Inn in earyl May 2012. There were extension cords on the deck and in the room; there were cobwebs all over the space and as I was Lying in bed, I noticed them with all these dead bugs trapped in the cob webs.
In the bathroom there were bath salts, but no shampoo and conditioner.
I spoke to the Inn Keeper about the bugs and cob webs. She said that entire section of the country had a problem with "stink bugs" and even if they cleaned every day, they couldn't get rid of them and she was the sole proprietor of the property and there was only so much she could do. There were many nick-nacks everywhere and dust on most of them...not so good for my allergies.
The Inn Keeper did a nice job with breakfast and was willing to provide what ever I requested at any time; I didn't take advantage of this.

Room Tip: can't even recommend this Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yellow Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Turtle Inn

Address: 111 S Springdale Avenue, New Windsor, MD 21776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > New Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow Turtle Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully nestled in rolling tree filled hills overlooking 100 acres of farmland, the Yellow Turtle Inn Bed and Brunch invites you to share time with loved ones or just relax in her serene environment. Each room is decorated with it's own personality as if you are in the middle of a play. All rooms have private baths. Two suites have whirlpools.Brunch is served at 10AM so that you may sleep in. Earlier refrig breakfast available for early starters. We offer couples massages, private dinners, champaign and balloons, roses, personal birthday chocolate birthday cake and teddy bears.We host weddings ceremonies and receptions as well as parties and showers.Long term stays are available as well.YELLOW TURTLE INN BED AND BRUNCH, NEW WINDSOR, MARYLAND Next door to Westminster and McDaniel CollegeON THE CIVIL WAR TRAIL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Yellow Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.