We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windsor chairs are very uncomfortable and do not enhance the dining experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Tavern

Manor Tavern
15819 Old York Rd, Monkton, MD 21111-2110
410-771-8155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manor Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Monkton
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Voted Baltimore Magazine's 2013 Best Restaurant 'Worth the Drive,' we are located in the heart of Maryland’s horse country. ‘The Tavern’, as many of our local patrons refer to us, is a favorite gathering place for friends and families to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, superior service and meals that are flavorful from beginning to end. The traditional American inspired kitchen is rooted at a local level to highlight our area growers and purveyors ensuring the freshest produce, meat, fish and chicken are of the highest standard.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Windsor chairs are very uncomfortable and do not enhance the dining experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a horse-country restaurant w/ a pub-like atmosphere, low lighting, stone fireplace, etc. Eclectic menu offerings were delivered to our party of 3 at a late lunch by a pleasant, experienced waitress. Food was okay, but nothing memorable, We ordered Balto. Co. Restaurant Week menu specials. as well as regular menu options. The ice cream/brownie dessert was served in a mason jar, cute, but difficult to eat and the brownie was too hard and dense.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    17
    15
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to spend our 41st wedding anniversary dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

ManorTavern was quaint, relaxing and every part of our dinner was delicious. We were impressed with learning some of the vegetables were grown on site. The waitress was outstanding along with her service. She surprised us with an "anniversary cupcake" with candles. All in all it was a great evening........thank you Manor Tavern.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Still OK under new owner/management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Four of us went here for my husband's birthday. The decor is the same as it was the last time I was here a few years ago, only they have opened a wall into the bar. The cosmopolitan was very good; the strawberry mojito a little like cough medicine. No complaints on the gin and vodka martinis. The calamari was actually FRESH and lightly breaded--very nice. My scallops were good but a little underdone for the way I like them. There was very little in the way of a side dish--a few strips of carrots and onions. Everyone else's sides were plentiful. My husband got the fried chicken special and he was pleased with it. My sister-in-law had the steak and liked it. My brother-in-law had the crab cakes and said they were "good" not great. We also had a bottle of Brut.. The bill was $181 before tip. I think the prices for the entrees are a little high. The food overall was OK but not good enough to justify the prices. Service was adequate and the wait staff did not rush us through dinner (although the restaurant was far from full).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manor Tavern is back in our rotation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have been going to Manor Tavern for years and years because it is minutes away from my Gram's house. The food and service was always inconsistent. The only thing we could count on every time we came was that the host would never remember us despite the dozens of times we were there - he treated us like absolute strangers. So we were so thrilled last night when we were warmly greeted at the door and even had two different hosts check in to see if we were enjoying our meals - along with a great waitress! The food was delicious! Great menu and great specials! We are so excited we can once again add this to our list of restaurants to visit with my grandmother!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

With the new owners taking over this icon in northern Baltimore county they have transformed it back to a must go to local. Service, food, atmosphere, price were exceptional.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Manor Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.