We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made ice cream and dairy products” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Mountain Creamery

South Mountain Creamery
8305 Bolivar Road, Middletown, MD 21769
(301) 371-8565
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Home made ice cream and dairy products”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sometimes I just can't believe that South Mountain Creamery is in my home town. I have friends who drive hours literally for some of the best home made ice cream in the Metro DC area. Many people in the area may be familiar with the Creamery's home delivery service. I see their trucks on the I-70 and 270 highways as I go into work and the growing number of trucks that I see indicates that more and more people have come to know how great South Mountain Creamery is ... from milk, cream, yogurt drinks, cheese, etc. For those with young children, I highly recommend taking a visit to see the dairy farm in operation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“If you're in the area, do yourself a favor and go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you're near South Mountain Creamery, go visit! Go at 4 in the afternoon and help them feed the calves. Then when you're finished, refresh yourself with a fresh milk or ice cream treat. Additionally, pickup some cheese for a picnic later on.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“love the local farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

this creamery makes some of the best homemade ice cream...great place to take the children to see the calfs and cows

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fall Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a great event with live music, great farm fresh food, fun for the family and an interesting tour of the milking facility and the philosophy of the farm. Great event for people of all ages. We'll go back year after year!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home Delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have many friends who live in Frederick and have their milk and dairy products delivered to their doorstep! Very cool. However, the milk is overpriced, especially if you drink a lot of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Mountain Creamery also viewed

 

Been to South Mountain Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Mountain Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.