We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Pointe is the point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Pointe Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Pointe Inn
Save
You added Lake Pointe Inn to your Saves list
174 Lake Pointe Drive, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 McHenry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clifton, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lake Pointe is the point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The point is, these folks run a fine B&B! It's often said that it's the little things that count. While that's not entirely true, when the little things are done in addition to all of the big things, that's when it's true. The big things, for starters, are the inn (i.e., common areas inside and out) and grounds, the rooms, the staff and the service. All of it was first class! It's a beautiful historic place on the water directly across from the Wisp ski resort. I'll get to that in a minute. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with a number of places for guests to get together (e.g., spacious front porch), or be alone (e.g., little hide aways). There are just as many palces to congretate or vegitate on the inside. The rooms are very well appointed with comfortable beds and additional furniture. We stayed in two rooms over four nights, the week of 7/9/12. Our first choice, the Savage Room, is the best the inn had to offer and it was probably the second best room we've ever stayed in. Believe me, that's saying something. It was spacious with a deck, jacuzzi, fire place, HDTV w/DVD player, fold out sofa, side chairs, writing table, etc. It was not available the first two nights so we stayed in the Browning Room. It didn't have all of the amenities of the Savage Room but it was not far behind. In both cases, we have great views of the lake. The staff and service were excellent. The cook and serving staff spoliled you at breakfast with something different and delicious every morning. I could go on and on about the big things but, you get the picture. The small things almost too many to mention. The well stocked fridges on each floor; the home made cookies and marshmellows for snacking, the wine hour, the boat rides at night, access to the kitchen if you need a glass of milk for those late night cookies, nigh time chocolates (i.e., different every night), the library of reading material and DVDs, canoes and kayaks, etc. All in all, it was just about as good as it gets! A word about Deep Creek Lake area! I've been there 4 times over 20 years. Two of those times have been in the last two years. I love DCL because there are so many things to do. I'm not a skier but my daughter is and we're planning on becoming seasonal visitors to DCL. This time, my wife and I went without kids. It's less than 3 hours from D.C. and there's plenty to do all 4 seasons. Recently, they added a number of mountain related activities including a legitimate white water course, a mountain side roller coaster, a tree top zip line course, and more. The parks in and around DCL are outstanding and there's plenty of recreation. Plenty! For young and young at heart. Last but not least, it was not crowded at all. Two thumbs up for LPI and DCL!!

Room Tip: Read other reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
129
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff were very kind, polite and helpful. This was the first time at the Lake Pointe Inn and will not be my last. What a relaxing place set by Deep Creek Lake. I will definitely return here again. All kinds of things to do like biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, and a daily pontoon boat ride in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lake Pointe Inn from July 2-4 for our mini-honeymoon. With all the B&B choices in the Deep Creek Lake area, we are thrilled that we chose Lake Pointe Inn! We loved every minute of our stay. It felt much more luxurious than your typical B&B.

The Inn is located in a little community, but once you are on the property, it feels very secluded. The lake views are amazing! There are gardens and a lovely fire pit, as well as little nooks all around the property for when you want some alone time. The inside is lovely as well; with beautiful dining and living areas. They offer homemade snacks, coffee, beer, wine, and non-alcoholic beverages anytime for all the guests. They also have an extensive and up-to-date DVD and reading library. The staff provide wine and hors d'ourves each evening, followed by a relaxing boat ride, available when the weather is cooperating. It is just lovely!

My husband and I stayed in the Friend room on the second floor. The room is gorgeous! It has a cute reading nook with great lake views, a comfy bed, and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and large double-head shower. At night, you could hear the occasional person walking around, but that is to be expected at any B&B, and most hotels. We really had no issue with noise.

As for the breakfasts, they were amazing! The first morning we had a delicious egg scramble with mushrooms and peppers, along with sausage and an amazing blueberry muffin. The second morning was our favorite. We had phenomenal walnut pancakes with a delicious glaze-like syrup. I don't care for walnuts and I ate every bite! Coffee and freshly-squeezed juices are available with breakfast.

If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing, friendly, upscale B&B in the Deep Creek area, I highly recommend Lake Pointe Inn!

Room Tip: We loved the Friend room on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

On May 11, 2012 we revisited the Lake Pointe Inn for the second time. Our first visit was cut short due to my upset stomach (we think it was food poisoning – NOT from the visit to the Inn) so I was excited to be able to spend a weekend. We left early on Friday on our Harley and stopped in Cumberland at the Western Maryland Scenic Railway to take the trip on the train to Frostburg and back. After our train adventure, we continued on to the Inn. We were happy that the original room we stayed in was available that weekend, because we loved it the first time (Glotfelty Suite), a big room with Art & Crafts décor with views of the lake and the slopes at Wisp Ski Resort – plus a whirlpool tub. The Inn has complementary beverages (including wine and beer) in the fridge, afternoon treats and beverages and a wonderful breakfast each morning which was delish! On Saturday we took the beautiful trek to Falling Waters and Kentuck Knob in Pennsylvania. When we got back we were surprised that the complementary boat ride on the lake was on – so we grabbed a drink and along with the other guests, had the first ride of the season. It was a lovely sunset ride as the Captain talked about the Lake’s history and answered any question we had. When we checked out Sunday, because we were returning guests – they gave us a gift box of soaps. We had such a wonderful time meeting the Inn’s other guests and spending time by the fire pit. Thanks to the Lake Pointe Inn for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke,va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Keith and I are Innkeepers in Roanoke, Va. We were looking for a relaxing and beautiful spot to get away from our hectic lifestyle. We searched "Select Registry" locations that were within a day's driving distance from us. What a pleasant surprise it was to find this beautiful property located in the mountains by a pristine lake!! Ed Spak the Innkeeper is superb! He is so personable, couteous and knowledgeable. He and his staff members made it a very memorable stay. We actually stayed 2 extra nights than originally booked! The Buffalo Marsh room had a lovely view of the lake from our bed and was quite comfortable. The Savage Suite was equally wonderful with it's expansive view of the lake we enjoyed while relaxing on the couch. As Innkeepers we would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for complete relaxation. Be sure to take the boat cruise offered every evening and Frank Lloyd Wright's Falling Waters and Kentuck Knob just a nice one hour drive away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Delaware, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I went to Lake Pointe Inn for our honeymoon in January 2012. We were there for a whole week, and wish we could have stayed longer! They took care of every little detail. We loved the 2-course breakfasts each morning, especially the blueberry dutch baby. We ate lots of fresh chocolate chip cookies with milk (they invite you in their kitchen whenever you need anything, even at midnight) and made s'mores by the fire.

We stayed in the Sang Run Room and were happy with our choice. The room has a large steam shower, sitting area with a TV, comfy bed, jacuzzi tub and a gas fireplace that's perfectly situated so you can enjoy it from the bed or the tub. The room is on the third floor and is kind of off to the side, so it seems more private than the others.

We had a hot stone massage while we were there. The massage room is actually across the hall from the room we stayed in, so all I had to do after my massage was put on my robe, walk across the hall and fall in bed to take a nap. It was amazing!

While we were there, we walked through Swallow Falls state park, took a glass blowing studio tour at Simon Pearce, went snow tubing and rented snow mobiles at Wisp (across the street), went out to dinner at great restaurants (you HAVE to go to Mountain State Brewing Company), went shopping, drove around the mountains... we never had to drive more than 20 minutes to get anywhere.

I would highly recommend this B&B, especially for a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Lake Pointe Inn. We prefer B&B's that are listed in the select registry book, and this one did not fail to impress. We wanted to relax and do nothing for a few days. This inn provided just the getaway we needed. We paddled around in a canoe for one of the afternoons, and really enjoyed the lake and mountain views. I especially liked watching the fog roll off of the lake in the morning as the sun came up. The delicious coffee, chocolate chips, wine, and many other things will stay in our memory and most likely will demand a return trip to sample more.

If you like breakfast as much as I do, you could go here just for the breakfast. Yes, it is that good.

If you like to hear your spouse say 'ooh, they have this' or 'ooh, they have that', take them here. You will definitely score points....

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a room with a jacuzzi tub. They are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pointe Inn

Address: 174 Lake Pointe Drive, McHenry, MD 21541
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pointe Inn of McHenry, Maryland offers all the comforts of a fine bed and breakfast at Deep Creek Lake. Explore the lake's 65-mile shoreline in the Lake Pointe Community. Relax at the outdoor fire pit and wrap-around porch as you enjoy the view any time of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Pointe Hotel Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Pointe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.