We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good service if you're a local...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant

The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant
102 Fort Drive, McHenry, MD 21541
301-387-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in McHenry
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service if you're a local...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived at shift change and the day bartender was friendly and accommodating. The evening shift acted as if we were invisible, paying obvious attention to the nightly locals. Despite having to wave down service when we wanted a beer or to order food, we were pleasantly surprised by their wings and other appetizers. Don't know if I'd go back due to the service, but the wings warrant a visit for this area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    30
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“Good Local Crowd and Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stopped by around 3 in the afternoon. Bartendress was personable and helpful. Free poured drinks. Good pub grub served with enough on the plate for two people. Lots of beers on tap. $5 Sam Adams.

Tourists are sparse this time of the year and friendly locals made up the majority of the folks in the place.

Outdoor seating for smokers. There is a night club on the premises but while we were there it was devoid of furnishings and appeared to have not been used for some time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to the wine fest in Deep Creek and stopped at the Black Bear for a late lunch. As soon as you walk in, you smell the fresh popped pop corn. They pop it fresh and you serve yourself and it was yummy. The establishment has a Tavern feel with large bar, fire place, seating in and out. Very gathering friendly. All ages including children with childrens menu. I had the open roast beef sandwich with mash potatoes and gravy, real mash potatoes. My husband had the Prime Rib wrap, very tasty. One member of our group had the Fish and chips and other had the chicken wrap. They have their specials as well. Every thing was very tasty and our waitress was very friendly with a quick smile. What more could you want, I don't know. Lots of TV's , pool table, video games and it looks like a real happening place at night with live intertainment. When we head back up that way again, we plan on stopping in for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to try this place for lunch after meeting the owner. The outside seating was nice but the food was just "so so." They make their own potato chips which is a great idea but they were overcooked and dry. They would not cook my burger medium rare because of health reasons... uhhhh? Oh well. So I ordered the crab cake instead. Pretty boring. Wait staff seemed cranky and unorganized. Just not the way to run a restaurant at least in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie. maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lively and dog-friendly deck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stepped onto the deck of the Black Bear Tavern on a recent Saturday night with our two big Akitas, and we were immediately welcomed by the staff and fellow diners alike. The deck was full (we had to wait a short while) and lively, with a country band duo playing. Lots of fun.

The menu was fairly extensive. Barbequed ribs were delicious. The salmon was fresh and good, but a little overcooked. The dogs had hamburgers (as they always do!). They wolfed them down, and said that these were the best burgers they ever had. To be honest, thought, they say the same thing wherever they go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant also viewed

 
McHenry, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.