We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay near wisp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LakeStar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
LakeStar Lodge
Save
You added LakeStar Lodge to your Saves list
2001 Deep Creek Dr., McHenry, MD 21541 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
1 review
“A great place to stay near wisp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We went up for a midweek trip to ski at wisp. The staff from booking through check out was polite and helpful. They gave us some great local tips. The rooms were very clean although a little small. We stayed in a room with a fireplace which was nice after a day outside. Our only really complaint was that the heater was loud and would turn on and off all night which for the light sleeper in our group kept waking him up. Also the room had free wifi which worked very well. Although it was too cold to go out on our balcony the views were great we could see Wisp and the lake from our room. All in all we would definitely stay again and I would highly recommend it for anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    64
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
126
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the perfect spot for a quick weekend trip! We come to the lake for vacation and usually rent a home, this was the perfect spot for the weekend. The rooms are simple, clean and I love the new furniture, and so nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave. Very nicely renovated! This is the perfect location in McHenry with a great view of the lake and slopes. A perfect small inn with very accommodating staff, just what I would expect for the price!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The main office staff were very friendly and had complimentary coffee, hot chocolate, and tea available throughout the day for guests. The exterior of the lodge wasn't the most inviting, but the rooms were really lovely. Our rustic room was cozy and had a fireplace (which included a complimentary Duraflame log) - a nice shelter from the cold outdoors. The views of the lake and mountain were amazing. The Wifi wasn't great, but you'll most likely be spending most of your time outdoors anyway. This is a great place to stay if you are in the Deep Creek area and much more reasonably priced than Wisp Resort accommodation. It's conveniently located near Wisp, restaurants, a movie theater, and Swallow Falls (among other attractions).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We only stayed for one night, but it was water front, with a beautiful view of a frozen lake. The room was super clean and smelled nice and the staff was great. Free coffee and tea and hot chocolate in the lobby was a nice little perk, too. The biggest plus is that it is inexpensive, but right in the middle of all of the lake activities, restaurants and bars. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lodge was very comfy and quaint. My husband and I went for one night. The views of the mountain and lake were very pretty. The room was a little on the smaller side but worked out just fine. The staff leave a dura flame log in the room so you can use the fireplace. I would definitely recommend this lodge.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed with our dog in one of the pet friendly rooms with a balcony and steps to the lake; perfect for us. Rooms are small but well set up and clean. Beds were good with crisp white linen. Not even a 5 min drive from the ski slope. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a quaint two story hotel. Rooms are very clean, staff is very nice. If you are looking for a place to get a good night's sleep and to get a good shower/bath so that you can take in the attractions in Deep Creek and surrounding area this is the place to book. Prices are fair and affordable.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LakeStar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeStar Lodge

Address: 2001 Deep Creek Dr., McHenry, MD 21541 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LakeStar Lodge is a lakefront hotel with 20 rooms and a 3-bedroom vacation suite, located on the north side of Deep Creek Lake in western Maryland. Every room has a clear view of the lake and mountains, which feature the Wisp resort. Enjoy skiing, snow boarding, and snow tubing in the Winter, as well as 3,900 acres of lake fun -- boating, swimming, fishing, and jet-skiing -- in the Summer. For those who are more adventurous, there are numerous State parks in the area including Swallow Falls and Muddy Creek Falls with trails that run along the water and ascend the various mountains. We welcome you to Deep Creek Lake and the LakeStar Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakestar Hotel Mchenry
Lakestar Motel Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LakeStar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.