We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LakeStar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
LakeStar Lodge
Save
You added LakeStar Lodge to your Saves list
2001 Deep Creek Dr., McHenry, MD 21541 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The recently renovated rooms are very nice. The staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. I have stayed there a total of three times in the past 12 months, and enjoyed my stay every time. I would definitely go there again and in fact have booked for next summer already.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    57
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
117
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms are new, the location couldn't be better the staff is very helpful they go above and beyond .....................................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I just spent three nights at the LakeStar Lodge and I have nothing but positive things to say. At check in, the attendant Holly was warm and attentive, and was able to efficiently get everyone to their rooms (there were several groups arriving at the same time, no easy task!) When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised to find some extra cleaning towels left out with a note "Please feel free to wipe down your bike!" I had mentioned that my wife and I were bringing our motorcycles up, and apparently the staff made note, and took the extra time to put a little something extra in for us. Sure enough there were some rainy days and the towels were a life saver.

We spent evenings out by one of the two fire pits they had going, and there was even a grill for our use so we could grill out one night. Being able to relax and enjoy the beautiful waterfront view was great for us. There are several activities available, and we were able to rent a boat for the day right next door. There are several restaurants and bars within a short walk as well, and several more within a short drive. If you have any questions, the staff is happy to direct you, offer suggestions, and make sure that whatever they can do is done. All the staff was helpful and pleasant, and especially Holly and Seth, who really made us feel welcome and took great care of us.

The lodge itself is in amazing shape, they've clearly invested in some renovations in recent years, and it shows. Rooms are clean, bathrooms seem almost brand new, and even though you can tell everything is fairly new, they manage to maintain a rustic feel that befits a lodge on the lake. Their housekeeping staff was also top notch, and the rooms and common areas were kept immaculate. They'll definitely be seeing us again next year.

Room Tip: They do have a three bedroom suite available, so if you're traveling with friends/family and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now over that past 3 years. The staff is always very helpful and the location is ideal. The perfect place if you are looking for something different than a cookie cutter hotel. The rooms are newly remodeled and there are two fire pits out back with lots of chairs, tables and a grill. In the lobby there is coffee, tea, snacks always available as well as a fridge and stove for anyone that would like to cook. There are many food choices within walking distance as well as activities for adults and kids. In another post someone said they had expected "glasses" instead of "plastic cups".. remember that many people take drinks out on the patio and in the yard so plastic make perfect sense to me with kids running around barefoot. The owner takes a very hands on approach in making sure you are having a good visit. This is a great place to stay and it is great to support locally owned businesses instead of one of the giants that just just treat you like a number!

-Seven

Room Tip: The suite is AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip with our dog(shiba inu) there are a few pet friendly rooms and that was nice. Room with 2 queens pretty tight. Would not want to stay with a larger dog. Expected more for the price. Soft plastic cups instead of glasses! No coffee in room. Coffee in snack room but no breakfast. Friendly staff except for girl at front desk at check in.No welcome, no explanation of facility or recreation activities. Just charged our room at check in and handed us our keys

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, Owner at LakeStar Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We offer several pet-friendly room -- some with double queen beds and others with a king bed -- so larger dogs can be easily accommodated with the proper room choice. We intentionally decided to go with plastic glasses because all of our lower level rooms have direct access to the rear yard and patio, and we've had instances in the past in which guests broke glasses which caused some safety concerns. With respect to the coffee, we found that the coffee drinking experience from the lower quality in-room coffee makers was lacking; so we decided to provide high-end Keurig machines in our lobby kitchen (which opens around 7:30am and is available all day). We also provide breakfast bars and snacks all day. Our apologies if the front desk attendant was less than welcoming. All of our staff go through extensive hospitality training and we will address this issue immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The room have been very recently remodelled with all local contractors and local furnishing. New owners who have taken a lower priced hotel and have increased its its rental costs to attract better clientel. All rooms have direct lake views. All rooms have wood floors, some have fire places, balconies, bathrooms are all new. There are several fire pitsnon the grounds along with plenty of chairs. A very nice patio. Boat rentals are right next door. Our first night was terrible. Apparently there were two couples from lower class renters who could not meet upper class renters standards. These people, all night long where beating on the doors and screaming loudly. Talked to the young man at the check in desk the next morning and he advised that they will be there another night so he moved us to a new room at 1/2 the price and was very apologetic. The staff was great the owners came over and talked to us a bit to ensure we were having a good time.

The only draw back is the fact that there are no curtains over the patio doors. These doors have internal blinds and the sunlight and the porch light really shines through. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake view and Wisp ski resort is directly accross the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a great time at the Lodge at Deep Creek for the first time. Clean environment and the staff was very friendly. Happy to have our dog stay. Great view of the lake and mountains. Keep up the great work!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LakeStar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeStar Lodge

Address: 2001 Deep Creek Dr., McHenry, MD 21541 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LakeStar Lodge is a lakefront hotel with 20 rooms and a 3-bedroom vacation suite, located on the north side of Deep Creek Lake in western Maryland. Every room has a clear view of the lake and mountains, which feature the Wisp resort. Enjoy skiing, snow boarding, and snow tubing in the Winter, as well as 3,900 acres of lake fun -- boating, swimming, fishing, and jet-skiing -- in the Summer. For those who are more adventurous, there are numerous State parks in the area including Swallow Falls and Muddy Creek Falls with trails that run along the water and ascend the various mountains. We welcome you to Deep Creek Lake and the LakeStar Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakestar Hotel Mchenry
Lakestar Motel Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LakeStar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.