We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LakeStar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
LakeStar Lodge
Save
You added LakeStar Lodge to your Saves list
2001 Deep Creek Dr., McHenry, MD 21541 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now over that past 3 years. The staff is always very helpful and the location is ideal. The perfect place if you are looking for something different than a cookie cutter hotel. The rooms are newly remodeled and there are two fire pits out back with lots of chairs, tables and a grill. In the lobby there is coffee, tea, snacks always available as well as a fridge and stove for anyone that would like to cook. There are many food choices within walking distance as well as activities for adults and kids. In another post someone said they had expected "glasses" instead of "plastic cups".. remember that many people take drinks out on the patio and in the yard so plastic make perfect sense to me with kids running around barefoot. The owner takes a very hands on approach in making sure you are having a good visit. This is a great place to stay and it is great to support locally owned businesses instead of one of the giants that just just treat you like a number!

-Seven

Room Tip: The suite is AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    70
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
137
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip with our dog(shiba inu) there are a few pet friendly rooms and that was nice. Room with 2 queens pretty tight. Would not want to stay with a larger dog. Expected more for the price. Soft plastic cups instead of glasses! No coffee in room. Coffee in snack room but no breakfast. Friendly staff except for girl at front desk at check in.No welcome, no explanation of facility or recreation activities. Just charged our room at check in and handed us our keys

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, Owner at LakeStar Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We offer several pet-friendly room -- some with double queen beds and others with a king bed -- so larger dogs can be easily accommodated with the proper room choice. We intentionally decided to go with plastic glasses because all of our lower level rooms have direct access to the rear yard and patio, and we've had instances in the past in which guests broke glasses which caused some safety concerns. With respect to the coffee, we found that the coffee drinking experience from the lower quality in-room coffee makers was lacking; so we decided to provide high-end Keurig machines in our lobby kitchen (which opens around 7:30am and is available all day). We also provide breakfast bars and snacks all day. Our apologies if the front desk attendant was less than welcoming. All of our staff go through extensive hospitality training and we will address this issue immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The room have been very recently remodelled with all local contractors and local furnishing. New owners who have taken a lower priced hotel and have increased its its rental costs to attract better clientel. All rooms have direct lake views. All rooms have wood floors, some have fire places, balconies, bathrooms are all new. There are several fire pitsnon the grounds along with plenty of chairs. A very nice patio. Boat rentals are right next door. Our first night was terrible. Apparently there were two couples from lower class renters who could not meet upper class renters standards. These people, all night long where beating on the doors and screaming loudly. Talked to the young man at the check in desk the next morning and he advised that they will be there another night so he moved us to a new room at 1/2 the price and was very apologetic. The staff was great the owners came over and talked to us a bit to ensure we were having a good time.

The only draw back is the fact that there are no curtains over the patio doors. These doors have internal blinds and the sunlight and the porch light really shines through. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake view and Wisp ski resort is directly accross the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a great time at the Lodge at Deep Creek for the first time. Clean environment and the staff was very friendly. Happy to have our dog stay. Great view of the lake and mountains. Keep up the great work!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Owner Sal, and the entire staff at Lakestar Lodge go WAY over and beyond the call of duty to make sure that our club,, MCV (Motorcycle Club Five), is comfortable and happy!
We've been coming up to Deep Creek Lake and the Lakestar Lodge for 4 years and it just keeps getting better and better...especially with the new ownership of Sal over the last two years.
Charming and well appointed TOTALLY RENOVATED rooms and suites leave us rested for the next days fun adventures at the Lake.
Beautiful and well manicured lawns sloping to the waters edge provide wonderful gathering lounging spots and the new hardscaped patio with fire pit and barbecue are equally as inviting!
I just can't give a high enough endorsement of this wonderful hotel. It has become our home away from home! Wish there were more stars than FIVE!
Carl J. Galler aka "Diesel", V.P. MCV
Realtor - Long & Foster, Reisterstown MD.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here because we had business to tend to in Kingwood. Staff at the front desk was very nice. Room was located on the first floor- tastefully decorated and updated. The only downside of our stay was while sitting out on our divided balcony- we could smell our neighbors smoke and for some reason a couple decided to sit in chairs by our porch and smoke. So we had neighbors who smoked and a couple from somewhere else in the hotel smoking by our room because two chairs were under the tree by our porch. Can't hold the hotel responsible for rude smokers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was my first time to Deep Creek Lake and it was greatly enhanced by staying at the LakeStar Lodge. The room was picture perfect and very clean. The staff was the friendliest and most supportive compared to any place I have ever stayed. Cozy fire pits, and a great place to hang out, sit and watch the lake. I will definitely be staying there again. Highly recommended. Dog friendly too!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LakeStar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeStar Lodge

Address: 2001 Deep Creek Dr., McHenry, MD 21541 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LakeStar Lodge is a lakefront hotel with 20 rooms and a 3-bedroom vacation suite, located on the north side of Deep Creek Lake in western Maryland. Every room has a clear view of the lake and mountains, which feature the Wisp resort. Enjoy skiing, snow boarding, and snow tubing in the Winter, as well as 3,900 acres of lake fun -- boating, swimming, fishing, and jet-skiing -- in the Summer. For those who are more adventurous, there are numerous State parks in the area including Swallow Falls and Muddy Creek Falls with trails that run along the water and ascend the various mountains. We welcome you to Deep Creek Lake and the LakeStar Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakestar Hotel Mchenry
Lakestar Motel Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LakeStar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.