We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DC's Bar and Restaurant

DC's Bar and Restaurant
296 Marsh Hill Rd, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
301-387-4911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in McHenry
Cuisines: American, Italian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Part of Wisp Resort, but accessible to the public.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I and 5 friends (32-52) went for late dinner on Saturday 1st September 2012.
We all had different dishes and all were very good. Food was plenty.

We especially enjoyed the housemade meatloaf, pot roast and 14oz NY strip.

Price was about $35 per person including a bottle of (good) wine and soft drinks, tax and 20% tip.
Service was friendly and attentive. Our waitress was very patient with our many questions (and a mix of French , Serb, Australian and American accents!)

I will definitely go back if in the Deep Creek Lake area again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    9
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast/Brunch Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The breakfast menu at DCs could be featured on Food Network. Every item is fantastic. The Creme Brulee French toast is to die for, even something as simple as oatmeal is a feast for the senses. If you visit the Wisp/Deep Creek area, try the breakfast at DCs, you won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Terrible FOOD and SERVICE & WORTHLESS GM”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had a recent stay at the "Wisp" resort and the DC Restaurant / Lounge the food was terrible and the service worse than Dennys. I ordered wings from the lounge and the manager took my order and I never saw her again. I waited for about 50 minutes for an order of wings and a server finally came around and ask if I have an order of wings because they were setting on the line. I didnt say anything about it at the time. I had guests join me two days later and thought I would try the restaurant, although I was debating to or not. I took three guests to lunch and as I expected I was embarrassed and very upset. The fish was raw inside,the burger was ordered well as industry standard and it was med rare, the ribs were ice cold, and the crab cake was burnt so I ask to speak to the manager. She approached the table in such an unprofessional manner she said out load from eight feet away "talk to me" never presenting herself as the manager or her name with any type of decorum. I explained to her the present situation and about her service two days prior in the lounge, she didnt seem to care one bit. She offered to get us something else and I said thats not going to happen, we are leaving. The worse thing about it is she was the one that cooked it. I sent the general manager a email but he or she never responded. I guess you cant expect to much when it all starts at the top. Yes, im a critic because im a manager of an upscale restaurant for 15 years and I know top notch quality staff and service and I would of expected a much higher level of professionalism from the "Wisp". I need to return to the area for two weeks this fall and I can assure they will not be getting any of my business. I know many people in the Deep Creek Lake area in the hospitality industry and I will be certian they are going to know the situation and response I experienced at the "Wisp". I now understand why the are in bankruptcy. Kerby Hoover

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVale, Maryland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food Is Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The food here is pretty good, especially for being in a resort area. When I was snowboarding my parents came in here to watch the Ravens vs. Patriots game and I found the food was cheaper here than getting something to eat at the snack bar at the Wisp!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Better service required”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stood at hostess stand for a long while, even asked customers (one looked like a Wisp employee) at the bar how to order, if I needed to go somewhere else for service. They said they would get someone for me, waited a lot longer watching servers in the restaurant serving their tables while completely ignoring me at the hostess stand, not even a, We'll be right with you, so I just left. As I was walking down the hall outside the bar, I heard one of the guys at the bar say, You can catch her if you want, she just left, but they never came out, and I figured if it took that long to help me, how long would it be to actually get the food if they weren't even interested in trying to catch me and apologize for the ridiculous wait. The restaurant was not busy, so not sure what's up with their service. We were there for an event and didn't want to leave Wisp, so my husband went in about an hour later and ordered two sandwiches to go -- he's the type that would probably walk in their kitchen and start making his own if they ignored him long enough, so I knew we'd get food. The sandwiches were not great, not horrible. Will make sure I bring food with me if we go back to Wisp.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DC's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.