We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Sunset Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Save
You added The Lodges at Sunset Village to your Saves list
23900 Garrett Highway, 171 Cabin Lodge Road, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 mid-week + Dinner
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Found this gem by chance, working in the area and didn't want to stay in another hotel. this was the perfect change of pace. Lots of room close to restaurants and shopping. Nicely appointed cabins with friendly staff. I even saw wild turkeys strutting through the property one morning

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your Review! We are glad you referred to us as a "gem" we strive for the best here and hope that you got that! It's a very nice place to live here in Deep Creek and to witness natures best like the turkeys you saw! Come back and visit us again soon!

Thank you
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We purchase this from Groupon for 3 night staying in two Queen Bed Cabin, and with Groupon purchase, you get $50 play card at Smileys. The worse thing that can happen on this trip is getting a speed ticket at 40 MPH at Accident when it is not more than 10 min to the cabin. The speed at Accident town goes from 55mph to 40mph to 25 mph.

Checking in was smooth, LaDonna was really kind and helpful. She gave me a card and said we can call her 24/7 if emergency need comes up. Our Cabin was 49L which our patio is right in front of the grill and firepit, and the playground is right across. VERY convenient!! The Cabin includes pretty much everything from plates, bowls, coffee machine, toaster, blender, knifes, untensils, and BBQ tools (which is pretty neat!) and a full size fridge.

Cabin was a good size for 6 ppl and clean. The only down side is they do not have a swimming pool. Hopefully they will have one soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank You! for your review, we appreciate any feedback. Sorry about the speeding ticket. We are glad that you could enjoy the cabin you stayed in and the smiley 's gift card. Come back and visit Deep Creek again soon.


Thank You!
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of Oz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I can't say enough wonderful comments about LaDonna, Christie and the rest of the front desk staff! They made sure that our whole family was taken care of. We loved our log cabin and had a wonderful time. There was plenty of room for our 4 family members and our dog. Our cabin was very clean and the kitchen had everything that we needed. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Glad to hear that the entire family including your dog could enjoy the cabins! We look forward to having you come back to stay with us. Thank you for the comments on our staff , we take pride in our team here at The Lodges at Sunset Village! Give us a call to book again.

Thank you for taking time to give us a review!

LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Enjoyed the newness of the unit. Comfortable and fashionable furnishings - very lodge-like. Plenty of room for our 4 family members - we had a unit without a loft. Unit was clean. Kitchen was amply supplied. Nice views and location. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. Great for families - but if you or your children are any kind of active or slightly loud, you will be heard through the walls, as was our experience in our attached cabin. Even "normal" conversations were easily heard from the unit next to us. Enjoyed the deck and fire pit in the back. Was a little put out that we had to dispose of our own trash upon departure. Only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Units on upper side of circle have better views and access to common area. If you want quiet, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We appreciate your feedback and I hope that you come back again soon ! I will be happy to help you find the right cabin for you and your family to get the full experience of what the cabins have to offer. We do have cabins that are connecting and that are free standing, but yet close to one another, set up like a hotel experience. We are a four season resort and hope that you can come back again soon.

Thank you!
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The cabin was a perfect size for my family of 5 and two dogs. We did get a single cabin so do not know about noise issue with connecting cabins. The furniture was well made and well kept, the beds noise springs but very comfortable. Love the two tv's in each section of the cabin so we could seperate the kids from each other. The kitchen area is clean and very nice set of plates and glasses for use. The office staff is friendly and very helpful. There is a nice medium size play set for kids and a common area you can roast marshmellows over a fire. There is no view of the Lake but it is a nice view of a field that often had horses on it which was more peaceful then the active lake. It was a short drive to all the local attractions Deep Creek Lake State Park, Wisp Lodge adventure park, Swallow falls and Funland. My boys really loved the "cabin" and wanted to stay there and not go home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We love our location at the lake as well! We are glad that you could enjoy the local amenities that Deep Creek Lake has to offer. Bring the kids back next time to take full advantage of all the family activities to do . We are a four seasons resort and so much to see and do!


Thank you!
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The unit is very nice inside with new, comfortable furnishings. It is in a good location, close to the lake, though you really can't see the lake from any of the units. The only problem is that you can hear everything, even a normal level conversation from the people next door if you are in a duplex. We also happened to be in a unit with a loft setup next door and every step that was made in the loft area could be heard below in ours :( thank goodness our neighbors were only there 2 of the nights we stayed! Overall it was a nice place, but I would not stay again unless I had an individual one.

Room Tip: Try to get an individual unit due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a review , we do appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in how noisy the connecting cabins can be, and we are set up like a hotel due to the cabins do sit close together and some are connecting. We hope that you will call us again in the future and come back and give the cabins another try.

Thank you
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our room was a pleasant surprise and we settled in for what we thought was a four night vacation. Soon it was evident the noise level was as if the walls were paper thin. our first room was attached to another that had the loft of that room extended over were the king bed was in our room. We heard running up and down the stairs and a dog cryed every time the people left. We heard a yound boy singing and playing with a what seemed to be a ball. (this was right over your head if you we in the bed) We asked to be moved the next day and the staff really went out the way to move us. Our second room was fine a litle smaller but at least no loft over our our bed. that night the noise level was fine and we got some sleep. The toilet was running and we had to shut it off and on but didn't want to complain as the staff had helped us so much. Thought we'd mention it when we checked out. The third night a group of several women were staying next door and kept us up till after 2 making noise. You could actually hear talking through the walls. Lucky I had thought to bring a fan and that muffled some of the noise. We had planned to stay for four nights and were so unhappy after the third we checked out. We asked for our money back but the answer was policy wouldn't allow a refund. We left anyway. I think the cabins are very nice, the staff was very nice but if you are looking for quiet don't expect to find it here. Also, the staff should be able to make some kind of refund if the customer was unhappy for any reason.

Room Tip: stay in the single cabins only or at least in the ones without the loft room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We do our best to accommodate guest to make sure that your stay with us is a good experience. We do have a policy for no refunds for early departures and we do apologize that we were unable to help you with that and hope that you will come back again in the future. We do have staff available 24/7 for any guest concerns or maintenance issues that need immediate attention . We do our best to make your stay as comfortable as we can especially when we have a full occupancy for all of our cabins.

Thank You
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Address: 23900 Garrett Highway, 171 Cabin Lodge Road, McHenry, MD 21541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 21 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Sunset Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.