We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Sunset Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Save
You added The Lodges at Sunset Village to your Saves list
23900 Garrett Highway, 171 Cabin Lodge Road, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 mid-week + Dinner
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and very quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved the cabins. They were very clean and very nice. I can't wait to go back next summer. The playground was a great touch. My children loved it. Thank you all so much. Your staff was amazing and very acomadating. I will definitely tell my friends and family about the cabins. I love the woodsy feel of this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

At a "discounted" rate of $321, this was a very poor value. It wasn't. Cob webs were on the shower curtain and the blow dryer... And not just a couple. One check-in they tried to raise the price by $53 for a hot tub I didn't ask for and was not in my confirmation. No amenities to speak of... Accommodation technically had a view of the lake, but only technically. Definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We do apologize for the confusion at check in regarding the hot tub choice made when booking online. We will amend our booking procedures for on-line reservations. I sincerely apologize that our pre-arrival set up inspection did not catch the spider web. We are very proud of our housekeepers and always strive to keep our rooms spotless and well maintained. We do not always succeed in satisfying our high standard; but we are always ready to make provisions, if we receive a call to notify us of an issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodges at Sunset Village and sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to better serve you.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

So I needed to make a quick overnight trip to Deep Creek and initially was going to have family with me (all adults). After researching hotels and other locations, I decided to stick with a Railey Mtn property since I've had great experiencces with them in the past. The Lodges did not disappoint. I stayed in 50L which had a loft area with Queen bed, a lower level with King bed, living room w/sofabed, and kitchenette area. Everything was clean, there was sufficient space and privacy for adults. The back patio had a great view, and the electri fireplace was a nice touch. Looks just like the virtual pics. The only thing that was missing that would have been nice is a DVD player of some sort. Also, there is no tv in the loft bedroom just an FYI. The outside also had grills and fire pits for common use. So if you see it online, like the layout/design, then I would say book it! Especially if you don't need a grand spacious rental property like some of the other homes, but if you are looking for a clean place that can accommodate you, your friends, or family, and is centrally located to everything, as it is right on Garrett hwy, then this is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at The Lodges for one night when we needed to escape the city heat. The property is owned by Railey Mountain Lake Vacations, a local vacation rental company that does a great job with a variety of rentals. It was fantastic, very easy to get to, clean rooms, well appointed with nice bedding and television. There is a cute area to sit outside and the kitchenette was enough to sustain yourself for a weekend if weren't doing too much eating in. We will definitely return to The Lodges!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 50 R Oct 2012. Beautiful , almost new and nicely decorated with all the amenities you need for a short stay (no stove). They say to bring your own paper products and toiletries but our cabin actually had paper products in it. We enjoyed the fire pit, it and the grill were immediately behind our cabin. There are 2 fire pits and 2 gas grills, and 1 electric grill for all the cabins (I think 15 cabins), which was not a problem for us, the other cabins were mostly vacant while we were there during the week. We had a view of the Wisp Ski slope off our deck and the setting is very private and peaceful. We would definitely stay here again. Wireless internet worked well. gas fireplace was beautiful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The lodge we stayed in had modern furnishings with a rustic feel. It has a very cozy and comfortable feel. These lodges are fairly expensive and without a lot of amenities. For the price I feel they should provide soap and more than a half a roll of toilet paper for your stay. They do state this in the reservation form but these items should be provided. The lodges are close together so noise does travel easily. Our neighbors hot tub was right outside our bedroom door so at 1AM we were awakened by the noise. It is located across the street from the lake but it is a good location for getting to everything. Upon checking out you are responsible for taking your trash to the dumpster and washing any dishes you have used.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green4859
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at Lodges at Sunset Village from March 1 to March 4. First and foremost, it was quite a pleasant stay. My family loved the cabin-style lodging so it was an overall a great experience. Only a couple of downsides...one is that the rental office didn't have after-hours front desk service so if you check in late (after 6 p.m.) and ran into any problems, there's no one available to help you. Another downside is that the cabin does not have the capability to cook your own food. It did have a microwave, a panini grill and a toaster but no portable stove. And these are the reasons I'm only giving it a 4-star rating.

Otherwise, everything else was great. We stayed in one of the cabins that had an outside hot tub. We used it one time because it was way too cold to use it a lot but we were glad that it was ready for use and didn't have to turn it on or wait for it to heat up.

Room Tip: If you want a better view of Deep Lake, choose a cabin on the lower row. But if you want a cabin wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Address: 23900 Garrett Highway, 171 Cabin Lodge Road, McHenry, MD 21541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 21 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Sunset Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.