We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jearbryo's Hookers Seafood & Grill - CLOSED

Jearbryo's Hookers Seafood & Grill
145 Bumble Bee Rd, McHenry, MD 21541
3013877667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Description: Jearbryo's serves fresh, flavorful Seafood and Grill dishes prepared from the finest ingredients. We make everything by hand in our restaurant every day from our delicious soups to our salad dressings and desserts. We are proud of the time and effort that goes into preparing each of our dishes at Jearbryo's Hookers Seafood&Grill and look forward to serving you.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Doesn't look that nice from the outside, but it's actually pretty nice inside - with a cozy gas fireplace. The food was great, portions were large (except my stuffed rockfish special, which was a little small - but everything else was huge), the beer special was $1 for a great microbrew. It's not a terribly fancy place, but the food is very good. It's almost like the food is nicer than the place itself, which is better than the opposite. The atmosphere is quiet and cozy because there's no bar and it's very small inside. Check it out, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virgina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worked for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we were attracted by the restaurant.com coupon and the group ate there on the night of our arrival for a ski weekend. The memu selections were varied enough to cover all our tastes, the kids were happy with the usual kids menu stuff, and the staff was really good to us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful off the main road eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went here because we had bought a restaurant.com coupon. Usually you can not use the coupons with any other deal, but they had a deal for 2 dinners for 19.99 including 2 sides and a dessert. We had to spend $35 to use our coupon so we bought the 2 dinners and bought another meal which they prepared for us to go. The waitress, Laura, was very friendly, even giving us tips on local hiking trails. The food was delicious. We both got the Mediterranean chicken and chose the Seafood lasagna for takeout. Maryland Crab chowder (one of our sides) was very good also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Also known as "Hookers" due to the fishing theme, this is a nice restaurant a little off the lake. Unlike many other places right on the lake, this is the place frequented by locals and visitors in the know. You can find fancier places on the lake but they don't offer the quality or the value.

Hookers offers a wide variety of fresh fish, seafood and more traditional dishes at reasonable prices. The dishes are well prepared and the portions are good sized. They also have an extensive list of sandwiches.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Hill, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quiet little place with really good steaks.
Service was very good.
Excellent food & flavor.
Also good value for your money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jearbryo's Hookers Seafood & Grill also viewed

 
McHenry, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jearbryo's Hookers Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.