We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a snowy afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain State Brewing Co.

Mountain State Brewing Co.
6690 Sang Run Road, McHenry, MD 21541
301-387-3360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in McHenry
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect for a snowy afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The pesto and prosciutto pizza is the best. And the hot apple cider with some kind of "alcohol extra" was perfect with the snow coming down outside. Service is always great - very friendly. Give it a try if you're in the Deep Creek area!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    95
    30
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Mountain State Brewing Co. is one of our favorite places to dine when we go to Deep Creek. Their beer is amazing. Highly recommend the Stout, IPA and porter ales as well as their spiced cider. As far as foods, we cannot get enough of the flatbreads – they are THE BEST we have ever had! Service has always been friendly and if you love the beer, get a growler to take some home to enjoy.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's all good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I visited here once over the summer and had a wrap for lunch which was great. I was looking forward to coming back for pizza, it looked so good! I finally made it back and was not disappointed. The brick oven flatbread pizza was absolutely delicious, as was the salad. I'm very picky when it comes to beer, so I tried their sampler which is 4 short glasses: one light, two ambers and one dark. I'm a big fan of the light ale and the dark beer, wasn't fond of either amber but everyone has their own tastes (other folks seemed to enjoy them). I look forward to trying the wheat on my next trip. The wait staff was very helpful and friendly. The atmpsphere was laid back. We went on a Saturday night and waited just long enough to order and pay for drinks before own table was ready. They also have infused vodkas, and some creative desserts which I'll have to check out another time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Pizza awesome, beer tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We loved the hometown atmosphere and the decor. The pizza was excellent, as was the brew.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, generous servings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Headed to Mountain State while exploring the Deep Creek area. A local friend recommended it for a casual lunch. Delicious flatbreads, burritos, and casual fare. The beer is not brewed onsite, but there is a nice selection as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain State Brewing Co. also viewed

 
McHenry, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to Mountain State Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain State Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.