We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, convienent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“clean, convienent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

While the rates are a bit pricy, we found the hotel and amenities to be exactly what the family wanted. Very convienent to the slopes and lots of things to do- ice skating, rail ride, pool, game room, lazer tag- great for families. they do allow dogs in some rooms - this was the first time we ever took our dog to a hotel. There was a musty, smell to the room- i would think the extra $50 for the dog would have been enough to clean it sufficiently from the last one but- overall very pleased with the whole weekend. The food court had lots of options- expensive but not surprised by that. The restaurant food was average. I did not think the parking for the hotel was far at all. we had no problem with the room key or early check in.

Room Tip: skip the floor with the dogs unless you are bringing one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldavey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Clifton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The mid week package was a tremendous value for our family of 6. It included lift tickets & lodging for a very reasonable price. The rooms were nice and the access to the mountain facilities was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing mountain is nice, but lake view is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpurvis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked in very late on a Wednesday evening with not much going on. The front desk attendant was rude, not attentive and not very helpful, but that was the last we saw of her. Althogh the room is somewhat dated looking with dim lighting and poor color scheme, the room was extremely clean and located on the second floor near he elevator with a view of the slopes. A plus was the beds and pilows were confortable. I travel extensively and used the extra sheet to cover the blanket and comforter. Not that it was visibly dirty, just a precaution as they aren't changed daily. The room amenities included a 32 inch flat screen TV and a mini fridge and decent wifi free of charge.

A nice touch is they provide you with a ski locker free of charge near the entrance to the chair lift.

The food in both the lodge and DC's bar was decent and very inexpensive when compared to other ski resorts. There are some fun places to go after skiing for apps, dinner and drinks!

Overall, our experience was great, everyone but the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will certainly return another time.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the building facing the slopes, its closer to the restaurants, indoor pool and skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

they checked us in at noon (the place was pretty bare on this Monday morning). everyone was very very friendly with only one exception. Conditions were unskiiable one day, but the hotel, restaurant, food court, bar, pool, gym were all open regular hours. free storage lockers to hotel guests too

For the price i got exactly what i expect and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in time is 5pm and check out is noon- so a one day stay is pricey per hour. Parking is not exactly convenient- there are about 3 short term 'unloading' spots near the lobby, so you need to hustle to unpack the car and get the luggage to your room- not easy if you have to make than one trip and young kids. The check-in desk was not user friendly. The clerk kept answering the phones and prolonging the process.
The room was very basic and had seen better days. No closet or wardrobe. No mini-bar, No room service. The latter of which would be fine if the dining options were palatable. The one hotel restaurant had a 45 minute wait at 8pm and the cafeteria was picked over and had less of a selection than the average high school cafeteria.
The pool was closed during our entire stay- a great disappointment to my kids.
The location is the key driver- but as a hotel, it cannot stand on its own merits.

Room Tip: Look at surrounding properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McHenry hotels

Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Think Holiday Inn at the bottom of a ski slope. There is no resort feel to it at all unless you count being able to see a golf course from your window. The basic rooms were drab but clean. Actually too clean, our first room smelled liked an entire bottle of industrial deodorizer had been spilled in it so we asked for new room which they gave us but the second room hadn't actually been cleaned (the bed had been slept in and there was trash on the nightstand). So by the third try they upgraded up to a "luxury suite" which in my opinion was really just a regular room in most nice hotels. The luxury room was much nicer so we were happy to have had all the initial trouble because we really weren't looking forward to staying in the basic rooms. Sort of just had a blah feeling about the whole place. Overall low value because the rooms are overpriced for the actual amenities but I'm sure some people will overlook this for the convenience. If you are a family this is probably a good option, if you are looking for a relaxing, upscale place then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Extremely disappointed. Not my idea of a resort AT ALL. Rooms are very outdated.. Check in is 5pm.. So if u are not dressed.. U gotta get dressed in the parking lot, and hopefully it's not muddy like it was for us. They also said we could get a "Early" check in.. NOT. Also. ALTOUGH it does state on web site u need to reserve snow tubes, which we didn't read which is our fault.. But.. When we made reservations I feel as though they should have made sure we knew that ahead of time. We get there after a three hour ride, with three children that had to change in the parking lot.. ( In the mud ) Walk it seemed a pretty good distance to get to the snow tubing section for them to tell us there were no more tubes for the DAY!!!!!!! Not very happy. Do not think we will go to this resort ( if u wanna call it that ) again.
If you are young, no kids.. This is for u!! But it's not a 5 star by NO MEANS! I would give it maybe a 1. 2 if its not a muddy day. LOL. Just make sure u READ all the details before u book your room!!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAVENSFANFORLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing