We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, convienent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“clean, convienent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

While the rates are a bit pricy, we found the hotel and amenities to be exactly what the family wanted. Very convienent to the slopes and lots of things to do- ice skating, rail ride, pool, game room, lazer tag- great for families. they do allow dogs in some rooms - this was the first time we ever took our dog to a hotel. There was a musty, smell to the room- i would think the extra $50 for the dog would have been enough to clean it sufficiently from the last one but- overall very pleased with the whole weekend. The food court had lots of options- expensive but not surprised by that. The restaurant food was average. I did not think the parking for the hotel was far at all. we had no problem with the room key or early check in.

Room Tip: skip the floor with the dogs unless you are bringing one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    62
    24
    20
See reviews for
93
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The mid week package was a tremendous value for our family of 6. It included lift tickets & lodging for a very reasonable price. The rooms were nice and the access to the mountain facilities was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing mountain is nice, but lake view is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked in very late on a Wednesday evening with not much going on. The front desk attendant was rude, not attentive and not very helpful, but that was the last we saw of her. Althogh the room is somewhat dated looking with dim lighting and poor color scheme, the room was extremely clean and located on the second floor near he elevator with a view of the slopes. A plus was the beds and pilows were confortable. I travel extensively and used the extra sheet to cover the blanket and comforter. Not that it was visibly dirty, just a precaution as they aren't changed daily. The room amenities included a 32 inch flat screen TV and a mini fridge and decent wifi free of charge.

A nice touch is they provide you with a ski locker free of charge near the entrance to the chair lift.

The food in both the lodge and DC's bar was decent and very inexpensive when compared to other ski resorts. There are some fun places to go after skiing for apps, dinner and drinks!

Overall, our experience was great, everyone but the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will certainly return another time.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the building facing the slopes, its closer to the restaurants, indoor pool and skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

they checked us in at noon (the place was pretty bare on this Monday morning). everyone was very very friendly with only one exception. Conditions were unskiiable one day, but the hotel, restaurant, food court, bar, pool, gym were all open regular hours. free storage lockers to hotel guests too

For the price i got exactly what i expect and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in time is 5pm and check out is noon- so a one day stay is pricey per hour. Parking is not exactly convenient- there are about 3 short term 'unloading' spots near the lobby, so you need to hustle to unpack the car and get the luggage to your room- not easy if you have to make than one trip and young kids. The check-in desk was not user friendly. The clerk kept answering the phones and prolonging the process.
The room was very basic and had seen better days. No closet or wardrobe. No mini-bar, No room service. The latter of which would be fine if the dining options were palatable. The one hotel restaurant had a 45 minute wait at 8pm and the cafeteria was picked over and had less of a selection than the average high school cafeteria.
The pool was closed during our entire stay- a great disappointment to my kids.
The location is the key driver- but as a hotel, it cannot stand on its own merits.

Room Tip: Look at surrounding properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Think Holiday Inn at the bottom of a ski slope. There is no resort feel to it at all unless you count being able to see a golf course from your window. The basic rooms were drab but clean. Actually too clean, our first room smelled liked an entire bottle of industrial deodorizer had been spilled in it so we asked for new room which they gave us but the second room hadn't actually been cleaned (the bed had been slept in and there was trash on the nightstand). So by the third try they upgraded up to a "luxury suite" which in my opinion was really just a regular room in most nice hotels. The luxury room was much nicer so we were happy to have had all the initial trouble because we really weren't looking forward to staying in the basic rooms. Sort of just had a blah feeling about the whole place. Overall low value because the rooms are overpriced for the actual amenities but I'm sure some people will overlook this for the convenience. If you are a family this is probably a good option, if you are looking for a relaxing, upscale place then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Extremely disappointed. Not my idea of a resort AT ALL. Rooms are very outdated.. Check in is 5pm.. So if u are not dressed.. U gotta get dressed in the parking lot, and hopefully it's not muddy like it was for us. They also said we could get a "Early" check in.. NOT. Also. ALTOUGH it does state on web site u need to reserve snow tubes, which we didn't read which is our fault.. But.. When we made reservations I feel as though they should have made sure we knew that ahead of time. We get there after a three hour ride, with three children that had to change in the parking lot.. ( In the mud ) Walk it seemed a pretty good distance to get to the snow tubing section for them to tell us there were no more tubes for the DAY!!!!!!! Not very happy. Do not think we will go to this resort ( if u wanna call it that ) again.
If you are young, no kids.. This is for u!! But it's not a 5 star by NO MEANS! I would give it maybe a 1. 2 if its not a muddy day. LOL. Just make sure u READ all the details before u book your room!!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.