We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good skiing, utilitarian hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
MD
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good skiing, utilitarian hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in time is 5pm and check out is noon- so a one day stay is pricey per hour. Parking is not exactly convenient- there are about 3 short term 'unloading' spots near the lobby, so you need to hustle to unpack the car and get the luggage to your room- not easy if you have to make than one trip and young kids. The check-in desk was not user friendly. The clerk kept answering the phones and prolonging the process.
The room was very basic and had seen better days. No closet or wardrobe. No mini-bar, No room service. The latter of which would be fine if the dining options were palatable. The one hotel restaurant had a 45 minute wait at 8pm and the cafeteria was picked over and had less of a selection than the average high school cafeteria.
The pool was closed during our entire stay- a great disappointment to my kids.
The location is the key driver- but as a hotel, it cannot stand on its own merits.

Room Tip: Look at surrounding properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    59
    23
    18
See reviews for
91
42
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Think Holiday Inn at the bottom of a ski slope. There is no resort feel to it at all unless you count being able to see a golf course from your window. The basic rooms were drab but clean. Actually too clean, our first room smelled liked an entire bottle of industrial deodorizer had been spilled in it so we asked for new room which they gave us but the second room hadn't actually been cleaned (the bed had been slept in and there was trash on the nightstand). So by the third try they upgraded up to a "luxury suite" which in my opinion was really just a regular room in most nice hotels. The luxury room was much nicer so we were happy to have had all the initial trouble because we really weren't looking forward to staying in the basic rooms. Sort of just had a blah feeling about the whole place. Overall low value because the rooms are overpriced for the actual amenities but I'm sure some people will overlook this for the convenience. If you are a family this is probably a good option, if you are looking for a relaxing, upscale place then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Extremely disappointed. Not my idea of a resort AT ALL. Rooms are very outdated.. Check in is 5pm.. So if u are not dressed.. U gotta get dressed in the parking lot, and hopefully it's not muddy like it was for us. They also said we could get a "Early" check in.. NOT. Also. ALTOUGH it does state on web site u need to reserve snow tubes, which we didn't read which is our fault.. But.. When we made reservations I feel as though they should have made sure we knew that ahead of time. We get there after a three hour ride, with three children that had to change in the parking lot.. ( In the mud ) Walk it seemed a pretty good distance to get to the snow tubing section for them to tell us there were no more tubes for the DAY!!!!!!! Not very happy. Do not think we will go to this resort ( if u wanna call it that ) again.
If you are young, no kids.. This is for u!! But it's not a 5 star by NO MEANS! I would give it maybe a 1. 2 if its not a muddy day. LOL. Just make sure u READ all the details before u book your room!!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the hotel makes a quick ski trip much easier. Each room gets a locker next to the main lift, and it is easy to check in, rent equipment and do some night skiing, and roll out of bed and onto the lift the next morning. Hotel is basic for the price, but convenience trumped value for us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Rocks, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were looking for a ski deal and this hit the mark ! Drove down on a Sunday morning in our ski clothes and hit the slopes. Love the groomed slopes and easy cruising runs. Check-in time is 5 PM but at 3 PM a king bed suite was available so we had a very clean room, table, couch, desk, and mini kitchen area with refrigerator and microwave. The overnight package included your room, ski locker and lift ticket. In the morning there was fresth coffee in the lobby and maids were starting around asking if there was anything we needed. Dinner in the dining room was first class and the lunch choices in the ski lodge were great. We are plannng to do this trip again next year, hope they offer the same deal, go for it !

Room Tip: King bed suite had desk, couch, table comfortable for 4 people, microwave & refrigerator with fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband had to go up and down to the lobby twice to get new room keys when they randomly stopped working, then the dead bolt knob wouldn't work and the bolt was frozen in the locked position. The only way to close the door from the outside was to use the key. Traci came up to evaluate the situation, agreed it needed fixing and referred it to the engineer on duty. She said he checked it, but he said it was our fault because we had the deadbolt on, and he went home. We had to deal with it the rest of our stay. Also one of the keys to the ski locker was poorly cut; it took 4 people to get it into the lock (rm 670.)

My lift ticket fell of my jacket 45 minutes before my ski time was over, and since it took me 20 minutes to get it replaced, I lost ski time. I saw lift tickets on the grounds and slopes at least 8 times in 36 hours. Obviously there is an issue with the fasteners that should be addressed. I recommend you use two fasteners to avoid this problem.

Room was fine, restaurants ok, too. Kids liked pool and arcade.

Room Tip: Slope side is nice if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I went here with low expectations and was SURPRISED! we stayed in a queen suite in the tower. nice room. kids had a ball! now my room keys did stop working every now and again like another reviewer said and the room staff was a little abrasive. this place is a little pricey! For this price I would hope for a little more bells and whistles. skiing and tubing is priced well. all in all had a great time. I normally do not stay in hotels but this was a last minute trip and all the houses around the slopes were rented. so I give a passing grade....if the kids are happy we are happy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.