We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in McHenry
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Wisp in July as part of a wedding party. The hotel, while better than others in the area, is a strange place. We saw multiple rooms, and the layouts are interesting, to say the lease. Our room had a bedroom with a queen bed, and a living room with a Murphy bed. The bed room was interior, with no windows. The small refrigerator was shoved into the hallway wall, next to the bathroom, not in the bedroom or living room. Very strange design. To be fair, the rooms were clean and quiet, and the views can be nice, depending on where your room is and the season.
The hotel's indoor pool is very nice, and much larger than expected. They also offer complimentary use of a beach area which is 2 miles away on Deep Creek Lake.
The activities at the resort in the summer are fun, but expensive. The mountain coaster is great, but one ride will set you back around $15 for two riders on one car. The zip-line courses are also pricey, costing $35 for the smaller children's course, which is not very large at all.

Overall, the Deep Creek area is very nice, but not the most affordable vacation. Rental houses are the norm, and hotels are few in number. The Wisp is not a bad hotel, but not one I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    53
    55
    22
    17
See reviews for
83
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Kind of pricey for a family. Very nice rooms. We did the mountain coaster which was fun, the mountain digglers,and chair lift. We had tickets for the disc golf, but it looked boring. The resort is in a very scenic area. We enjoyed going to the top of the mountain and over to the little cafe for ice cream. We would have liked to zip line or do the dune buggies but we had a group of 8 which it was just to expensive for. The pool was very nice. We will be back with a smaller group for the snow tubing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raven1220
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I brought my mom here for a Mothers Day/Birthday gift. I went through the Sewickley Spa website & received a spa pkg along with a 1 night stay, i added an extra night on. It was very pricey and i thought it was going to be a great resort for the $ i paid. It was not that close to the attractions, the rooms were VERY outdated. Murphy bed & queen bed is considered a 2 br room. It felt dirty inside. The pool has no view its almost like a high school swimming pool & the hot tub is a joke. Don't even bother trying to get into it unless you wake up the minute the pool area opens. We did go on the mountain coaster which was fun. There was nobody in the restaurant or bar when we were there which was awkward, and our food still took a long time. If this place was cheaper it would be worth it... maybe

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

If you are bringing a group to ski and snow tube, I suggest you look somewhere else. We brought 40 people to ski and tube, and they would not give us any discount on the ski people. The numbers were 27 tubing and 13 skiing. This caused us to pay for the additional cost of skiers out of our own pockets. Most ski places will work with you as long as your numbers are high.

When we arrived at the ski resort it took us over an hour in line for one person working the desk at group sales. Unacceptable!!!

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My kids had a blast, they are big snowboarders and were happy with the trails and terrain parks. My husband and I came to hang out and let them board. My main problem with the resort is that the whole thing except fro some rooms in the old building are facing away from the mountain. No views at all! Only the big loud main lodge room has views to the mountain and they are partial and from a basement level. The main lodge room is where all the day pass people are and it was packed and loud and no one seemed to be cleaning tables, lots of stacked garbage. Neither of the 2 bars or the restaurant have views nor do the fitness center or pool . Many lost opportunities to make this a really nice resort. The"nicer" of the 2 bars, DC's, would be a crappy bar anywhere else, granted it was a super busy weekend at Wisp but c'mon, Almost impossible to get a drink, or to to get food without begging and tables piled high with dirty plates and glasses. Again it was super busy but I never saw any management presence helping bartend or bus tables or anywhere for that matter. We ate in DC's restaurant that Eve, it was just ok. Recommend you get in your car and head out to Mountain State Brewery, Brenda's Pizza or Santa Fe Grill. Much cheaper, much better food. The room was ok, clean, housekeeping was responsive when we needed stuff. We had the 1 BR queen with a Murphy bed. It was pretty dark. Other thoughts: Pool is big, hot tub miniature. Spa way overpriced, connecting hallway from hotel to Lodge inadequate, narrow and dirty, lobby crowded all the time with non hotel guests using wifi. It was ok but not worth the almost $200 per night and $300 for 2 days lift tickets and 1 rental. We will head to Snowshoe WV, Wintergreen VA or anywhere but here from now on. Just doesn't cut the mustard.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We spent 4 fun days here over the holiday weekend and definitely plan to return. The staff was accomodating without exception, from the ski school staff to the housekeepers. Our room in the older building (with suites) was not luxurious, but clean and the convenience was unbeatable. Food options were ok and prices were fair, especially for a ski resort. Our kids had fun at the ski school and liked their instructors; we also went tubing which was plenty scary for a 7- and 10-year old! The spa was nice and again very fairly priced. Wisp is a quick 3-hour trip from DC with plenty for a family to do over a long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We traveled with both a younger skier and a teenage snowboarder. We had a great time, the room was clean and staff was friendly! The ski runs were fun for all of us, both skiing and snowboarding! The only thing I wish was a bit different was a better food selection outside of the food court. The room was older but clean! We will defin. visit again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.