We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I speak from experience...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9704 Beaver Dam Road, Lutherville Timonium, MD 21093   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I speak from experience...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I have lived here for 3 months...not My choice. The 'breakfast' is air muffins and coffee water. Walls are almost transparent. .33 % of the laundry works ( on a good day). No lobby. One good thing: you will never be awakened to the sound of a vacuum cleaner-- in 3 months I've never heard one or see one, and I have proof that one has never been used in my room since I've been in it. Another good thing: the room cleaners will never sneak up on you-- the are trained to shout in the hallways. Tip: park in the back of the lot. Everybody here back their pickup trucks crookedly into the parking spaces.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager28, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The items you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am going to be meeting with staff to review your comments with them. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your feedback.
I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    5
    8
    15
See reviews for
10
2
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel was a nightmare experience. We knew it was a "bare bones" set up, but it was even worse. After we checked in, we noticed there was no hair dryer and the two pillows on the bed were about 1/4" thick. We went to the front desk, and the young man said he was out of pillows and hair dryers. He said the manager had some in his closet, but he (the desk guy) didn't have a key to that, so we would have to wait until the morning. Bad sign when the management doesn't trust the staff with the closet keys! We had a sleepless, terible night. Not only were there no pillows to speak of, but you could hear every noise - the air conditioner went on and off every 3 minutes, there was someone walking in the rooms above us and on either side of us. The next morning we returned to the desk, and sure enough, the manager immediately produced three fluffy, brand new pillows. I was incensed that we had to suffer all the previous night. He then undertook to track down a hairdryer, and did find us one. He said people probably walk off with them. Hello? If they installed them in each room, they couldn't be removed and they'd probably save money. We stayed the second night since we were already unpacked, etc, but I will never ever go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Your comments are valid and I will be addressing them with the management team to ensure this doesn’t happen to any other guests. It is our mission to provide a clean, comfortable room at a great rate for business and leisure travelers.

Between the hotel staff and me, we hope you will give us another opportunity. We look forward to having you join us again or at any of our other brand locations throughout the U.S. and Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lutherville Timonium hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The violent storms that hit the East Coast earlier this month knocked our power out foot 5 days. The over 100 degree temps caused us to take refuge with our dog at the Extended Stay America in Timonium.
The General Manager, Mike, was absolutely phenomenal while dealing with a complete madhouse due to the number of people that were also trying to get rooms and check-in.
Our room was clean, and very adequate for the price. The staff during our stay was very helpful and friendly.
We definitely will return if we ever need to get away again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Baltimore - Timonium. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have been here since middle May so i have seen a lot fo the operations of the place i think it is well kept,cleaness,laundry and knowlege of the areas local eating places,malls points of interest staff is very nice and goes out of their way to help any issue you have.They also putting big money into this place to make it even better.I dont have a bad thing to say about the entire stay here.I would recommend this place highly!! : - ) **** STAR RATE

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

first I must say that the staff was friendly and efficient. All downhill from there. Two rough looking residents hanging around front entrance. Lobby worn and dated and felt weird. Desk closes at 11pm. Hallways narrow and dark. Whole place smells old. Room spacious but worn out and dirty. Stains on furniture, sheets yellowed and did not seem fresh. Pullout sofa mattress was crunchy and slanted. First floor window lock was broken, but a maintenance man did come right away to fix it. Doors and walls thin, you can hear everything. A woman in a nearby room was screaming on the phone about the drug dealers and alcoholics who were living there and the poor condition of her room. Seems like a low rent place for weekly renters. We were looking for a hotel room for three nights. Nothing nice about the place except the desk clerks. She did not seem surprised when we told her we would not be staying and canceled the reservation without a charge or a problem. we did not feel safe or clean there.

Room Tip: There are not any good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally apologize for your experience. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Specifically, standard operating policy is that linens are always replaced with fresh, clean new bedding before a guest checks in. In addition, all rooms are inspected prior to being made available to the public. That having been said, I recognize the issue you have brought to my attention and discussed it with hotel staff and management.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This room is so dirty I can't barely stand to be the room. This room hasn't been cleaned thoroughly in years greasy dust, blood on bathroom walls, ants crawling the room, smells like an ashtray, stains on the floor, furniture has food stains. I had low expectations given its an Extended Stay has limited service but basic cleaning should be priority focus of management. I am calling the front desk to see if I can get out of my room now.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Tony,

I recently received a copy of your review of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Standard cleaning procedures include a thorough cleaning and disinfecting of kitchens and bathrooms. Additionally, prior to making any room available, we inspect it to ensure that our normal procedures have been followed. Given the account you described, there was clearly an unacceptable breakdown in our regular operations, so I have met with my staff to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was not impressed but I didnt expect the world for this class of hotel. I expected old, but everyone can clean! I do not like seeing the previous persons hair around the room and dirty dishes in the cabinet. The Manager is a rude grumpy old man. Avoid this location and pay a few dollars more or stay at the Red Roof Inn down the street that has been updated on the inside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Baltimore - Timonium. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

I am grateful for the opportunity to respond to your concern. I have spoken with my staff and reviewed the importance of being professional and polite with each and every guest, no matter how busy we may be. In addition we apologize for the quality of your room upon check-in. Your experience is not our norm.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium

Address: 9704 Beaver Dam Road, Lutherville Timonium, MD 21093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Lutherville Timonium
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lutherville Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Lutherville Timonium
Lutherville Timonium Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium Lutherville Timonium, MD, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.